Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 41

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Angry PCI-E runs at x8 instead of x16

    Hello,

    I've recently updated BIOS to 0802 and GPU seems to have started running at "native x8 link speed." It used to always run PCI-E 3.0 @ x16, but now BIOS, GPU-Z and CPU-Z all show that it runs PCI-E 3.0 @ x8. Running GPU-Z render test or UNIGINE benchmarks doesn't help. It still shows PCI 3.0 @ x8. Clearing CMOS, reseating vid card didn't help. Running BIOS at optimized defaults didn't help. I'm running out of options here. Do you think I "broke" the mobo or vid card somehow or is it the BIOS issue. I hope it's the latter one. PC is only a month old and I had no issues with it until the recent BIOS update from 0505 to 0802. Here are my specs:

    BIOS: 0802
    OC'ed? No.
    Motherboard: Asus ROG MAXIMUS X HERO (WI-FI AC)
    CPU: Intel Core i7-8700K
    AIO: Corsair H100i v2
    RAM: Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB (2 x 16GB) DDR4-3200
    SSD: Samsung 850 EVO-Series 500GB 2.5"
    NVMe (Boot): Samsung 960 PRO 512GB M.2-2280
    NVMe (Games): Samsung 960 EVO 1TB M.2-2280
    Graphics Card: Asus GeForce GTX 1080 Ti 11GB STRIX GAMING
    PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA P2 850W

    Thank you for your help!
    Last edited by .fess; 11-20-2017 at 04:14 PM. Reason: add'l info

  2. #2
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,805

    Firstly can you confirm if the GPU is in PCIe x16/x8_1 (the top 16x length slot on the board)?

    Is there anything in If PCIe_x8_2? If this slot is occupied, PCIe x16/x8_1will revert to 8x mode.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array Starscream PC Specs
    Starscream PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Hero X Wifi
    Processor8700K
    Memory (part number)Trident RGB 3200 CL 14
    Graphics Card #1Strix 1070 OC
    Storage #1960 Pro NVMe
    CPU CoolerDeepcool Captain 240 RGB
    CaseThermaltake P3
    Power SupplySeasonic 750 Gold

    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    33

    Are you by chance using a pcie riser cable like the one included with the Thermaltake Core P series cases?

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Quote Originally Posted by Starscream View Post
    Are you by chance using a pcie riser cable like the one included with the Thermaltake Core P series cases?
    No riser cables. The card is plugged straight into top PCI-E x16 slot with 2x8pin cables coming out of it.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    When I had this issue on a Maximus IX Hero it was due to a single motherboard pin slightly out of place, moved it back and everything was fine after that. Did you happen to remount your CPU or maybe bumped the case causing an issue with the GPU->PCI-E contact? Check the CPU socket and try reseating the GPU. Also did a screen ever pop up notifying you about a new CPU being installed? If a pin gets bent or something similar causing PCI-E lanes to be halved the Mobo would think a new CPU was installed.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Quote Originally Posted by NeoandGeo View Post
    When I had this issue on a Maximus IX Hero it was due to a single motherboard pin slightly out of place, moved it back and everything was fine after that. Did you happen to remount your CPU or maybe bumped the case causing an issue with the GPU->PCI-E contact? Check the CPU socket and try reseating the GPU. Also did a screen ever pop up notifying you about a new CPU being installed? If a pin gets bent or something similar causing PCI-E lanes to be halved the Mobo would think a new CPU was installed.
    Nope, never remounted the CPU since it wasn't really giving me any issues. Never had the screen pop up on me unless it was the first POST screen after I had built a PC.

    I reseated the GPU and it still shows x8 in BIOS. I switched GPU to a lower PCI-E slot with the same result.

    I removed one of the M.2 drives and it still shows x8 in BIOS.

    Then I completely removed the video card, pressed the Clear CMOS button, connected DP cable to motherboard DP port, loaded into BIOS, Loaded optimized defaults, reflashed BIOS, and turned PC off. Installed 1080 ti, launched into BIOS and it still showed x8 link speed (((

    I then installed GTX 760 that was laying around and for some reason the speed downgraded to PCI-E x1. WTF!? I removed it, installed on my older Z87K motherboard and it boots no problem with PCI-E 3.0 @ x16 in GPU-Z. I'm trying to think that it's either a BIOS issue or the mobo PCI-E slot failed somehow. I know for sure it was running at x16, but all of a sudden after going from 0505 to 0802 it just defauled to x8. Bizarre. I literally never touched anything inside the PC since I built it and everything was fine until recently.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone View Post
    Firstly can you confirm if the GPU is in PCIe x16/x8_1 (the top 16x length slot on the board)?

    Is there anything in If PCIe_x8_2? If this slot is occupied, PCIe x16/x8_1will revert to 8x mode.
    Confirmed, the GPU is in the top PCIe x16/x8_1. There's nothing in PCIe_x8_2 and I've never used this slot to date.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,547

    Is the card fully seated, is your case not allowing the card to seat fully (test system outside of case similar to how the store tested)
    what power supply? is it single rail? multi rail? if multi rail make sure there is nothing else that uses the same voltage rail as the video card

    I have no issue on my X Hero, any bios with 1080 in slot 1 &X16

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Quote Originally Posted by Menthol View Post
    Is the card fully seated, is your case not allowing the card to seat fully (test system outside of case similar to how the store tested)
    what power supply? is it single rail? multi rail? if multi rail make sure there is nothing else that uses the same voltage rail as the video card

    I have no issue on my X Hero, any bios with 1080 in slot 1 &X16
    Yeah, i might have to try that again. I have EVGA 850 P2 power supply.

    I had a 1080 before and had no issues with it at all. It's the Ti that's giving me grief not just on Maximus X Hero, but on the 4-year old z87-k platform as well.
    Last edited by .fess; 11-24-2017 at 04:07 PM.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    SOLVED! After all said and done, turns out the issue was with the motherboard itself. After exchanging the mobo for an idnetical one, the problem went away and GPU runs at pci-e 3.0 x 16 with everything plugged in, including two M.2 drives.

    Thank you everyone for your help.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •