Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5
Results 41 to 49 of 49
  1. #41
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Gigabyte GTX 1070 G1 at x4 and PCIe NVMe 3.0_x4 in M.2_1 slot

    Question... Just noticed my Gigabyte GTX 1070 G1 PCIe_x16 adapter is only running at x4 on PCIex16_1 slot One! I have only one drive installed which is a PCIe_x4 NVMe 3.0 stick in slot M.2_1. According to everything I've read, including the manual, M.2_1 should NOT affect PCIex16_1. Since it's my boot drive, I can't (not do I want to!) pull the NVMe drive to see if the video adapter jumps to it's default x16 mode. Both the BIOS and GPU-Z report the current x4 bandwidth. BIOS doesn't even list the PCIex16_1 to adjust settings. The other 2 slots are present, w/optional settings. It's an 8/16 core Ryzen 7 2700x so I can't see the CPU lanes as a limiting factor?

    I found an "Intel i5" post that suggested it could be the sound circuitry built into the GTX adapter "and" Motherboard hogging up lanes, but found no help on the Ryzen 7. This is a new build and my first Ryzen so I'm learning as I go. Any thoughts?


    AMD Ryzen 7 2700x
    Asus ROG STRIX x470-F
    16gb G.Skill TridentZ RGB (2x8)
    Gigabyte 1070 GTX G1 Gaming 8gb
    Intel 660p M.2 nVME 3.0 1024GB
    Corsair tx850w PSU

    https://www.newegg.com/intel-660p-se...82E16820167462

    https://www.gigabyte.com/us/Graphics...-8GD-rev-10#kf

  2. #42
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    I've noticed while mucking around in BIOS last few days that my PCIE16x_1 primary slot with my rtx 2080 is on x8 speed.
    At the time I only had two m.2 in the slots and no other devices connected to the mobo (other than cpu of course).
    Is this normal behavior or I should see x16 for the slot?
    Tuf Z370-pro gaming motherboard.

  3. #43
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6


  4. #44
    ROG Member Array BB_Deluxe PC Specs
    BB_Deluxe PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus X99 Deluxe II
    ProcessorI7-6850k ( 3.6 to 3.8 boost range )
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C16Q2-128GTZKW
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 3090 FTW3 24gb
    MonitorAsus PB278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 1tb ( m.2 slot )
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 2TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseCooler Master Trooper v2
    Power SupplyCorsair HX 1000i
    Keyboard Logitech G710+
    Mouse Contour wireless - M
    OS Windows 10 Professional 64-bit
    Accessory #1 Sony BluRay Writer

    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    I realize this thread isn't for my mobo but appreciate the troubleshooting advice given and I'm happy some of you figured out a solution. Unfortunately, this issue is still affecting my X99 Deluxe ii motherboard with a new 3090 card. I tried to reduce bandwidth for all other PCI-E slots as well as use every auto combination method available and still no dice on PCI-E_1. It maxes out at x8. I have to use slot 3 for x16 speed.

    My details were posted here ( 1070 now a 3090 ): https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...-CPU-x8-native

  5. #45
    » partyhat owner Array nonspin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Even though it's a bit late, let me point out one little detail.. The difference between 8x and 16x is not noticeable. It certainly isn't "TWICE AS"-something.
    Secondly .. and this is an experience thing .. and you can try it youself:
    If you tighten the screw(s) (gpu) just a little bit too much, it'll change to 4x .. 8x .. 2x .. like a lottery.

  6. #46
    ROG Enthusiast Array Wangeyed PC Specs
    Wangeyed PC Specs
    MotherboardROG STRIX Z390-F
    Processori5 9600K
    Graphics Card #11080 ti

    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    54

    Quote Originally Posted by nonspin View Post
    Even though it's a bit late, let me point out one little detail.. The difference between 8x and 16x is not noticeable. It certainly isn't "TWICE AS"-something.
    Secondly .. and this is an experience thing .. and you can try it youself:
    If you tighten the screw(s) (gpu) just a little bit too much, it'll change to 4x .. 8x .. 2x .. like a lottery.
    how tight your gpu is screwed in does not effect anything, i fixed this by removing the bios bat, clearing cmos jumpers didnt work.

  7. #47
    ROG Enthusiast Array Stormwind81 PC Specs
    Stormwind81 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG X299 XE
    Processori9-7900
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengance 3200 4x8
    Graphics Card #1tba
    Storage #1Samsung EVO 960 1TB (M2)
    CPU CoolerEKWB Professional Kit
    CaseThermaltake View 71
    Power SupplyEVGA P2 Supersonic 750

    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    So this thread is a mess like no other.
    I have an Rog Strix X299-E and having the same issue with a new 3080Ti.
    It only shows x8 when it should 16x.
    I have installed it via an riser cable that even supports PCIe x4.0 and my vendor is now asking me to send the cable back cause they dont have any idea either.

    People reported they
    a) put card in a different slot (reseating)
    b) reseted bios
    c) changed whole Motherboard

    I am still not sure but at home I will try to reseat my GPU too.
    In the bios it only shows x8 no matter what I try.
    And I have 2 NVMe SSDs installed but why should they matter?

  8. #48
    ROG Enthusiast Array Stormwind81 PC Specs
    Stormwind81 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG X299 XE
    Processori9-7900
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengance 3200 4x8
    Graphics Card #1tba
    Storage #1Samsung EVO 960 1TB (M2)
    CPU CoolerEKWB Professional Kit
    CaseThermaltake View 71
    Power SupplyEVGA P2 Supersonic 750

    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    Update:
    I put my GPU from slot1 to slot2 of my PCIex16 and now it is showing x16 again.
    Dont ask me why but it worked.

  9. #49
    ROG Enthusiast Array thunderrd PC Specs
    thunderrd PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XI Formula Z390
    ProcessorIntel i-9 9900K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator 16x4 CMT32GX4M2C3200C16
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Windforce GTX980
    Sound CardCreative Soundblaster-Z
    Storage #1Corsair MP-510 M.2 + 6 others
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i Pro, + Custom loop for Formula waterblock
    CaseThermaltake Armor+
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860i
    Keyboard Logitech G19s
    Mouse Logitech G502 Hero
    Headset Logitech G231 Prodigy
    OS Windows 10 Professional, Gentoo Linux
    Network RouterMikrotik CCR-1016-12G
    thunderrd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    34

    Quote Originally Posted by Stormwind81 View Post
    Update:
    I put my GPU from slot1 to slot2 of my PCIex16 and now it is showing x16 again.
    Dont ask me why but it worked.
    Now you should try placing it back in slot 1, and see if it works there now.

    I have found, almost without exception, that this issue is a result of poor/incomplete physical contact in the PCIex slots. Using a good-quality contact cleaner on both the GPU insertion tab and in the slot itself, I have nearly always been able to solve the problem [especially when I know that the card worked at x16 previously.]

    Look for any warpage on the insertion tab itself, or any dirt/corrosion on the contact areas of the card and the slot. Sometimes it takes a little perseverance, and reseating the card in/out several times. On heavy GPUs, look for sagging of the card after insertion, and if it sags try using a small support to wedge the sagging section of the card up. I have seen this solve the problem, and have concluded that when the card sags, it loses contact in the slot.

    I don't claim that this will solve the problem every time, but I've see it on at least 20 different computers and in every case but one I solved the issue this way.
    Last edited by thunderrd; 10-06-2022 at 07:34 AM.

Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •