Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 41
  1. #11
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    So I returned the video card and got another one and it still shows x8 I have no idea what’s wrong anymore. Am I just unlucky or do all Strix 1080 ti run at x8? Like I said I installed the card into my old z87k computer with latest BIOS and it also showed x8 on that computer as well.*

  2. #12
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by Benson33 View Post
    *on the Asus website, to the support of the asus 1080 Ti, you have two different Bios, the original one and another silent mode with the integrated tool to flash the card, try to flash the bios of the graphics card to see if that can correct the problem.

    Other thing, *did you make a clear Cmos after reflashing the bios of the motherboard and load seeting default ?
    Hi
    I know this is basic but when GPU is idle and in low power mode the slot speed can be reported as x8
    try a program to kick the gpu into gear such as furmark or something you can watch the pci changing from x8 to x16

    good luck

  3. #13
    New ROGer Array Hopeywolf PC Specs
    Hopeywolf PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG MAXIMUS X HERO (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i7-8700K CPU
    Memory (part number)CMK32GX4M2B3000C15
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Z
    MonitorROG PG278QR + XB271HU
    Storage #1Samsung 960 PRO 2TB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Evo 1TB x 2
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100 V2
    CaseCorsair X570
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000 T2
    Hopeywolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    I had this issue and i did not understand what was wrong, and seeing your post confirmed the problem for me. I then saw somewhere that the 2nd 16x slot will cause the first 16x slot to go 8x if there is ANYTHING on that. I had a soundcard on mine and I moved it to the last one, which if I understand is controlled by the chipset. I confirmed that it showed up as 16X 3.0 on gpuz after.

  4. #14
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Quote Originally Posted by vaiacondios View Post
    Hi
    I know this is basic but when GPU is idle and in low power mode the slot speed can be reported as x8
    try a program to kick the gpu into gear such as furmark or something you can watch the pci changing from x8 to x16

    good luck
    When the GPU is idle it alternates between 1.1 x8 and 3.0 x8, but never to 3.0 x16. BIOS, GPU-Z and CPU-Z, all three show the card running PCI-E 3.0 x8.
    I ran furmark, unigine heaven, superposition for hours and monitored with gpu-z and hwinfo64 and it was locked at 3.0 x8 non-stop.

  5. #15
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Quote Originally Posted by Hopeywolf View Post
    I had this issue and i did not understand what was wrong, and seeing your post confirmed the problem for me. I then saw somewhere that the 2nd 16x slot will cause the first 16x slot to go 8x if there is ANYTHING on that. I had a soundcard on mine and I moved it to the last one, which if I understand is controlled by the chipset. I confirmed that it showed up as 16X 3.0 on gpuz after.
    Yeah, that's would i do as well, but I have nothing on any of the pci-e slots and it still shows x8. I know for sure that ther'es something wrong with this card because I tested it on two PCs, Maximus X Hero 0802 bios and Z87-K with latest bios as well. The Z87-K pc runs with Asus gtx 760, wifi network card and a sound card all plugged in into pci-e slots. Abosultely no issues. GTX 760 is running at pci-e 3.0 @ x16. THe moment i plug the 1080 ti into it, bam, runs at x8 as well.

    So yeah, two different 1080 TI's on two different computers, all run at 3.0 x8 and gtx 760 running at 3.0 x16 on both. I wish it was the other way around.
    Last edited by .fess; 11-23-2017 at 05:37 AM.

  6. #16
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by .fess View Post
    Yeah, that's would i do as well, but I have nothing on any of the pci-e slots and it still shows x8. I know for sure that ther'es something wrong with this card because I tested it on two PCs, Maximus X Hero 0802 bios and Z87-K with latest bios as well. The Z87-K pc runs with Asus gtx 760, wifi network card and a sound card all plugged in into pci-e slots. Abosultely no issues. GTX 760 is running at pci-e 3.0 @ x16. THe moment i plug the 1080 ti into it, bam, runs at x8 as well.

    So yeah, two different 1080 TI's on two different computers, all run at 3.0 x8 and gtx 760 running at 3.0 x16 on both. I wish it was the other way around.
    if there's any consolation, I have an issue too where I cant get pcie slot 3 to recognise my intel pcie 4x card. I tried 2 mobos. Hero and last year code. I ended up putting into second slot therefore dropping my 1080ti to 8x. Theres no bottlenecking due to slot speed.

  7. #17
    ROG Member Array Benson33 PC Specs
    Benson33 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus IX Code
    ProcessorIntel i7 7700K
    Memory (part number)16G Corsair vengeance LPX 3000 Mhz
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 1080 Ti OC
    MonitorAcer Predator XB271 HUA
    Storage #1SSD Crucial M2 1To
    Storage #2HDD WD 4To
    CPU CoolerDeepcol Captain 240LX P/P Bequiet silent wings 3 PWM
    CasePhanteks Enthoo TG
    Power SupplyEVGA 750 G2
    OS Windows 10 CU
    Benson33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by .fess View Post
    When the GPU is idle it alternates between 1.1 x8 and 3.0 x8, but never to 3.0 x16. BIOS, GPU-Z and CPU-Z, all three show the card running PCI-E 3.0 x8.
    I ran furmark, unigine heaven, superposition for hours and monitored with gpu-z and hwinfo64 and it was locked at 3.0 x8 non-stop.
    Are your 6 + 2 pin PCI E power cables properly connected to the VGA ports of your EVGA power supply? VGA1 and VGA2? try on VGA 3 and 4. I have a friend who had the same worries and by swapping his cables he found the PCI E X16.

  8. #18
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Quote Originally Posted by Benson33 View Post
    Are your 6 + 2 pin PCI E power cables properly connected to the VGA ports of your EVGA power supply? VGA1 and VGA2? try on VGA 3 and 4. I have a friend who had the same worries and by swapping his cables he found the PCI E X16.
    I'm pretty sure they are connected properly. Both lights glow white on the video card itself. Would they still glow white if one of the ports from the pci-e 6+2 wasn't working?

    Update: I tried VGA1 and VGA2 and still showed x8. VGA3 and VGA4 yields the same results.
    Last edited by .fess; 11-24-2017 at 05:49 AM.

  9. #19
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    UPDATE #2: So i went to the store where I bought the card to test it out on their system and it worked no problem, it showed x16 and I saw it with my own eyes when they launched GPU-Z. So if the card runs properly on their computer I think I only have one conclusion - there is something wrong with the BIOS version. Let's recap:

    1080 TI runs at 8x speed on Maximus X Hero with 0802 bios.
    1080 TI runs at 8x speed on Z87-K with latest bios.
    1080 TI runs at 16x speed on store's test system (not sure what mobo and bios they had).

    GTX 760 runs at 16x speed on Maximus X Hero with 0802 bios.
    GTX 760 runs at 16x speed on Z87-K with latest bios.

    I guess I have to wait for the new BIOS revision, or may be there's something wrong with my motherboard.

    Anyone else has this issue with their Strix 1080 Ti OC on Maximus X Hero?
    Last edited by .fess; 11-24-2017 at 04:14 AM.

  10. #20
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,547

    Is the card fully seated, is your case not allowing the card to seat fully (test system outside of case similar to how the store tested)
    what power supply? is it single rail? multi rail? if multi rail make sure there is nothing else that uses the same voltage rail as the video card

    I have no issue on my X Hero, any bios with 1080 in slot 1 &X16

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •