Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 41
  1. #21
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Quote Originally Posted by Menthol View Post
    Is the card fully seated, is your case not allowing the card to seat fully (test system outside of case similar to how the store tested)
    what power supply? is it single rail? multi rail? if multi rail make sure there is nothing else that uses the same voltage rail as the video card

    I have no issue on my X Hero, any bios with 1080 in slot 1 &X16
    Yeah, i might have to try that again. I have EVGA 850 P2 power supply.

    I had a 1080 before and had no issues with it at all. It's the Ti that's giving me grief not just on Maximus X Hero, but on the 4-year old z87-k platform as well.
    Last edited by .fess; 11-24-2017 at 04:07 PM.

  2. #22
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    SOLVED! After all said and done, turns out the issue was with the motherboard itself. After exchanging the mobo for an idnetical one, the problem went away and GPU runs at pci-e 3.0 x 16 with everything plugged in, including two M.2 drives.

    Thank you everyone for your help.

  3. #23
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    I have still the same problem. Tested several GPUs and all shows x8 on this board (All are working at x16 with an GA-Z97x-Gaming 7 from Gigabyte). CPU is an Intel Core i7 7820x. I have updated the BIOS from 0503 to the (at this time) actual version 0802. I have then sent the board to ASUS and they send it back after a month without solving my problem. I have also reassembled my components but the GPU is still at x8. They didn't replaced the board but updated it to version 1004. They even took the original box away and all the additional equipment was stuffed in the same package as the mainboard when it arrived here. That was unexpected and I still want the original box back. ASUS didn't answered my questions since then, taking the original box and just sending my board back without any explanation.

    Thanks for your help.
    Last edited by F-ZERO; 01-10-2018 at 09:29 AM.

  4. #24
    ASUS HQ Service Rep Array Bill@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    433

    Quote Originally Posted by F-ZERO View Post
    I have still the same problem. Tested several GPUs and all shows x8 on this board (All are working at x16 with an GA-Z97x-Gaming 7 from Gigabyte). CPU is an Intel Core i7 7820x. I have updated the BIOS from 0503 to the (at this time) actual version 0802. I have then sent the board to ASUS and they send it back after a month without solving my problem. I have also reassembled my components but the GPU is still at x8. They didn't replaced the board but updated it to version 1004. They even took the original box away and all the additional equipment was stuffed in the same package as the mainboard when it arrived here. That was unexpected and I still want the original box back. ASUS didn't answered my questions since then, taking the original box and just sending my board back without any explanation.

    Thanks for your help.
    Hello
    Can you please send me a PM with any of the following details that you do have available?

    Product S/N:
    Case ID#:
    RMA#:

    Also please pass me your contact details:
    Full name:
    Phone#:
    Email:

    I'll pass your case to related personnel and department for further investigation
    Thank you

  5. #25
    ROG Junior Member Array Wheity PC Specs
    Wheity PC Specs
    MotherboardZ170-Deluxe
    Processori7-6700K
    Memory (part number)16GB 2400Mhz (2 x 8)
    Graphics Card #1GTX980
    Sound CardXonar Xense
    Storage #1Intel U.2 300GB
    Storage #2Crucial 750GB SDD
    CPU CoolerNoctua
    CaseLian Li Benchtable
    Power Supply700W be quiet
    Headset Senheiser 350 bundle from soundcard

    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    @f-Zero

    Any hints, why you don't fill out an Support Formular or call Asus Germany, while you post here in a non german Forum?

    Please call our line or fill out on our page the Support Formular. If You have this RMA Number: RMA#: 352944022 This ist not an Asus RMA number.

    Give us also the hint, to which mail addy you have written to our rma. Maybe You have send in your device over your dealer and not over us.

    The right rma address is: op_rma@asus.com
    Last edited by Wheity; 01-18-2018 at 11:12 AM.

  6. #26
    ROG Member Array paulmarc PC Specs
    paulmarc PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X399 Zenith Extreme
    ProcessorAMD ThreadRipper 1950X
    Memory (part number)128GB DDR4
    Graphics Card #1nVidia GTX 1080 Ti
    Graphics Card #2nVidia GTX 1080 Ti
    MonitorLG 24" Gaming Monitor
    Storage #12x M.2 NVMe 480GB
    Storage #22x 4TB HDD
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62
    CaseCougar Panzer Max
    Power SupplyCougar 1050W Gold
    Keyboard Cougar 700K
    Mouse Logitech G700s
    Headset Logitech G930
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    OS Linux
    paulmarc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Post Reseating the GPU worked for me

    Granted, it's a different motherboard, but nearly the same family:

    Quote Originally Posted by NeoandGeo View Post
    try reseating the GPU.
    This made it work for me...

  7. #27
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array bass junkie xl PC Specs
    bass junkie xl PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rog X Hero Z-370 ( Wifi ) bios -2102
    Processori7-8700k @ 5.1 @ 1.34v @ manual vcore , De Lid + rockit cool copper ihs
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB 16 GB 3000 Mhz cl-14 @ 4000 Mhz cl-17-19-19-39 @1.4v 1.21v vccio/vcssa
    Graphics Card #1Msi Gtx 1080 TI FE @ 1911 mhz @ 0.975v Curve - Driver 431.36
    Sound CardMotherboard Realtec , Driver 87.46
    MonitorAsus PG279Q , 27 inch 165 HZ , 1440p G-Sync
    Storage #1Intel 600P , 512gb m.2 nvme ssd
    Storage #2Kingston Hyper X furry 240gb ssd
    CPU CoolerThermalright true black 120 + 2 x 120mm push pull ( pump died rma )
    CaseThermaltake View 71 full Glass
    Power SupplyThermaltake Grand 750w RGB Platnuim
    Keyboard Logictec G510s
    Mouse Logictec G700s Wireless
    Headset Razer Kraken 7.1 chroma
    Mouse Pad Asus Sheeth Large
    Headset/Speakers Logitech z-5300 THX 5.1
    OS Windows 10-1809 x64 Pro
    bass junkie xl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    243

    had this same pci x 8 x issue on my asus rog x hero z 370 it didnt do it when i first got it but then the bios under gpu post didnt even show the gpu was installed and inside windows only gave my 8x under load ... resetting didnt do anything .

    then i thought maybee its the pcix riser cable i am using on my vertical 1080 ti in my thermal take view 71 glass case is acting up .

    replaced riser cable for the vertical gpu and no issue now

  8. #28
    ROG Enthusiast Array schweigert PC Specs
    schweigert PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair Hero VII Wifi
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 2 1700x
    Graphics Card #1AMD RX 480
    schweigert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    31

    Currently having the same problem with an Asus Crosshair VII and RX480 - plugging the card directly into the board (or using an extension cable) still only getting 8x - as the only pcie card pugged in (into the 16x/8x slot)

    as for throttling the card when not in use, it does go down to pcie 8x - 1.1 - but then jumps up to pcie 8x 3.0 when under load.

  9. #29
    ROG Member Array dyni00 PC Specs
    dyni00 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Z370-F
    Processori7 8700k
    Memory (part number)2x16 AX4U3000316G16-SRZ
    Graphics Card #1PALIT 1080
    Sound Cardcreative SB-Z
    Monitor2x asus VE248HR
    Storage #1goodRam iridium PRO 240 MLC
    Storage #24x seagate 2TB +1x toshiba 2TB
    CPU Coolernoctua nh-u12p
    Casechieftec 1b-b-b-b (whvr)
    Power SupplybeQuiet 750W Power Zone
    Mouse logitech G602
    Headset creative Aurvana platinium BT
    Headset/Speakers creative T4
    OS win10 64bit
    dyni00's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    i have this same problem ASUS Z370 GAMING-F and palit gtx 1080 gamerock premium ed.

    i have x8 pcie on graphic card and no other devices on pcie. wtf? new bios on mobo (1406 ) but previous (1002 ) not works at x16 too

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20180926_095943.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	387.3 KB 
ID:	75994

  10. #30
    ROG Member Array bojerka PC Specs
    bojerka PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Acer Aspire V3-531G Black
    MotherboardASUS ROG Strix Z370-F Gaming
    ProcessorINTEL Core i7-8700K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 32GB DDR4 3200MHz 14-14-14-34
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC2 Hydro Copper GAMING
    Monitor32" ASUS ROG STRIX XG32VQ 144Hz
    Storage #1WD Red 10TB
    Storage #21TB 860 Pro SSD / 1TB M.2 NVMe Samsung Pro
    CPU CoolerCuplex Kryos NEXT Silver + AquaComputer custom loop
    CaseEVGA DG-87
    Power SupplyENERMAX Revolution 85+
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Elite Yellow Switches
    Mouse Razer Mamba Elite
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus 2013 Large Speed
    OS Windows 10 64bit
    Network RouterHuawei HG8245H

    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    I had same problem with ASUS Z87-DELUXE after deliding CPU (4790K). My GPU then running only on x8. Any GPU run on that mobo only x8.
    I checked CPU socket if I damaged some pins but all looks OK. I check too PCIe slot but too looks clean and no damage.
    Now this mobo with this CPU have my friend (GTX 1080 installed some GIGABYTE) and too runnig only on x8. Idle or full load still x8.

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •