Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Addressable LEDs ?

    Hey, i'm currently planning my new PC, and of course it's 2017, so RGBify all the things !

    If i understand it correctly, i can use any WS1812B LEDs, the 3A are easy to avoid by soldering a custom +5v/ground cable for my modular PSU, but i read somewhere that Aura currently only supports 60 LEDs... is that true ? And if thats the case, is someone here already working on that problem ?
    And the other thing is, with a PSU cable it's easy to power a few meters of strip, but thats pretty useless if i can only apply a single effect on the whole strip.
    Wouldn't it be cool to split up the strip in different zones with different effects ?
    Is there a way to implement something like that trough the SDK ?

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array PsY4Meuh PC Specs
    PsY4Meuh PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Strix X299-E
    Processori7-7820x
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C16Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Asus STRIX GTX1080TI O11G
    Graphics Card #2Asus STRIX GTX1080TI O11G
    MonitorAsus PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Evo 500Go
    Storage #222To NAS
    CPU CoolerAlphacool custom loop 4x120
    CaseThermaltake Core P5
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset Logitech G933
    Mouse Pad Corsair Vengeance MM600
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-5500
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Hey AMKriegerKarl,

    AkaNe@Asus will confirm this, but actually, the AURA software allows only 60 LEDs, and the SDK don't allow access to addressable strip at all.

    Here are the tests i made with a 1m 144 leds addressable strip in the AURA Software :
    - We can't enter more than 60 leds in the 'settings' tab
    - 'Static', 'Breathing' and 'Color cycle' effects lights up 120 leds
    - All other effects lights up only 60 leds

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by PsY4Meuh View Post
    Hey AMKriegerKarl,

    AkaNe@Asus will confirm this, but actually, the AURA software allows only 60 LEDs, and the SDK don't allow access to addressable strip at all.
    - All other effects lights up only 60 leds
    Oh... hm. Well, that's a bummer. Is it just not implemented yet, or will addressable LEDs always be a thing that users can't modify ?

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array AkaNe0 PC Specs
    AkaNe0 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X Formula
    Processori7-8700K
    Memory (part number)G.skill Trident-Z RGB
    Graphics Card #1Strix GTX 1080 Ti
    CaseOpenBenchtable
    Power SupplySeasonic PRIME Platinum 1000W
    Keyboard ROG Claymore
    Mouse ROG Pugio
    AkaNe0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    19
    Posts
    566

    Quote Originally Posted by PsY4Meuh View Post
    Hey AMKriegerKarl,

    AkaNe@Asus will confirm this, but actually, the AURA software allows only 60 LEDs, and the SDK don't allow access to addressable strip at all.

    Here are the tests i made with a 1m 144 leds addressable strip in the AURA Software :
    - We can't enter more than 60 leds in the 'settings' tab
    - 'Static', 'Breathing' and 'Color cycle' effects lights up 120 leds
    - All other effects lights up only 60 leds
    From now in the AURA software, only up to 60 LEDs can be controlled. I already added a request to see if we can get this limitation removed.

    I understand more and more people are using longer cable strips with more addressable LED.
    And don't forget, Keep pushing it !

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by AkaNe@Asus View Post
    From now in the AURA software, only up to 60 LEDs can be controlled. I already added a request to see if we can get this limitation removed.

    I understand more and more people are using longer cable strips with more addressable LED.
    And SDK support + maybe the option to split a strip into differnet zones ?

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    172

    Quote Originally Posted by KriegerKarl View Post
    And SDK support + maybe the option to split a strip into differnet zones ?
    You can tweak this via lastprofile.Xml.
    Check a tag with led counts and change it. I highly suggest not to go crazy (120 should be fine).
    Then stop and restart lightingservice.

    I didn't try this myself as i don't have an adressable headers mobo but i read this on nzxt subreddit where a guy could make nzxt aer fan work with Aura and also tweaked the number of leds on its strips.

    Sent from my XT1562 using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by namoi View Post
    You can tweak this via lastprofile.Xml.
    Check a tag with led counts and change it. I highly suggest not to go crazy (120 should be fine).
    Then stop and restart lightingservice.

    I didn't try this myself as i don't have an adressable headers mobo but i read this on nzxt subreddit where a guy could make nzxt aer fan work with Aura and also tweaked the number of leds on its strips.

    Sent from my XT1562 using Tapatalk
    Oh wow, that sounds awesome !
    I'll try to find that original post. Thx for the hint.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    fyi, this guy posted an awesome video on youtube on how to use up to 128 LEDs, power them directly from the PSU, and how to connect them in parallel
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ub-EWTsMPkg

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •