Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array Nicholas Steel PC Specs
    Nicholas Steel PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS P6T
    ProcessorIntel i7 920 @ 3.50GHZ
    Memory (part number)24GB DDR3 1500MHZ
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia Geforce 760 4GB
    Sound CardIntegrated/Monitor
    MonitorASUS PG258Q
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH D-14
    CaseFractal Design Define R5
    Power SupplyCorsair AX760
    Keyboard DELL SK8110/Logitech Orion 610
    Mouse ASUS Gladius
    Headset Sennheiser HD215
    OS Windows 10 Pro FCU x64

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    PG258Q can't go above 200Hz

    I am using the Display Port Cable provided with the monitor and I am assuming it is 1920x1080 @ 240Hz capable (Surely they wouldn't include a cable that is unfit for the monitors primary feature?). Windows and Nvidia Control Panel can not increase the refresh rate above 200Hz. Is my video card unable to drive the display at 240Hz?

    Windows 10 x64 Pro FCU
    Nvidia Geforce 760 4GB (388.31 driver)
    Tried many gaming modes and stuff in the display OSD without success.

    The manual says that for 240Hz, only the following GPUs are supported: GeForce GTX 745(OEM), GeForce GTX 750, GeForce GTX 750Ti, GeForce GTX 780, GeForce GTX 780Ti, GeForce GTX TITAN, GeForce GTX TITAN Black, GeForce GTX TITAN Z, GeForce GTX 960, GeForce GTX 970, GeForce GTX 980, GeForce GTX 980Ti, GeForce GTX TITAN X, GeForce GTX 1060, GeForce GTX 1070, GeForce GTX 1080. For other GPUs, please contact the manufactures to see if they are compatible.

    Why would the Geforce 760 and 770 be singled out??!?
    Last edited by Nicholas Steel; 11-22-2017 at 09:06 AM.
    Computer specifications:
    Windows 10 Pro|Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.6GHZ|ASUS P6T Motherboard|24GB DDR3 1500MHZ RAM|Integrated Audio|Gigabyte Geforce 760 4GB|Corsair AX760 Platinum Power Supply|Fractal Define Design R5 Computer Case|Samsung P2350 Monitor

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    This is almost always a cable issue. Reversing the direction of the cable my fix it, instead of buy a new cable.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array juks94 PC Specs
    juks94 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximum ranger vii
    ProcessorIntel i7 4790K
    Memory (part number)2x CMZ8GX32A1600C9
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    Sound CardSennheiser
    MonitorAsus ROG PG258Q
    CaseCorsair 750D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX760i
    Keyboard Corsair K70 cherry mx
    Mouse Steelseries sensei
    Headset Sennheiser PC363D
    Mouse Pad Steelseries QcK Heavy
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Hi there, having the exact same issue.

    Had windows 7 780ti sli, then windows 10 then rog strix 1080 ti oc and still occuring.

    Really disappointed from Asus here.. Contacted support who told me to choose displayport 1.4 in menu but it doesn't even exist..

    I bought a supposed high quality 1.4 dp cable that i'm waiting.. until there I just can go on 144hz.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array Nicholas Steel PC Specs
    Nicholas Steel PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS P6T
    ProcessorIntel i7 920 @ 3.50GHZ
    Memory (part number)24GB DDR3 1500MHZ
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia Geforce 760 4GB
    Sound CardIntegrated/Monitor
    MonitorASUS PG258Q
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH D-14
    CaseFractal Design Define R5
    Power SupplyCorsair AX760
    Keyboard DELL SK8110/Logitech Orion 610
    Mouse ASUS Gladius
    Headset Sennheiser HD215
    OS Windows 10 Pro FCU x64

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Quote Originally Posted by juks94 View Post
    Hi there, having the exact same issue.

    Had windows 7 780ti sli, then windows 10 then rog strix 1080 ti oc and still occuring.

    Really disappointed from Asus here.. Contacted support who told me to choose displayport 1.4 in menu but it doesn't even exist..

    I bought a supposed high quality 1.4 dp cable that i'm waiting.. until there I just can go on 144hz.
    1) I assume your video card does support Display Port v1.4 (it'd be silly if it didn't considering how high-end and recent it is).

    2) You did connect the display to the video card via the included Display Port cable right? You didn't use the HDMI cable by mistake? You didn't connect the monitor to the integrated video device (if your CPU includes one)?

    3) Did you do a clean re-install of the display drivers since changing video cards? Run the latest Nvidia Driver Installer (or whatever version you want to use) and do a "Custom (Advanced)" install and then tick the bottom box on the next screen to perform a Clean install. You will lose any modifications you've made to application specific profiles and other changes you've made in the Nvidia Control Panel.
    Computer specifications:
    Windows 10 Pro|Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.6GHZ|ASUS P6T Motherboard|24GB DDR3 1500MHZ RAM|Integrated Audio|Gigabyte Geforce 760 4GB|Corsair AX760 Platinum Power Supply|Fractal Define Design R5 Computer Case|Samsung P2350 Monitor

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •