Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 33
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array sefiremre PC Specs
    sefiremre PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS G751JY DH-71
    MotherboardASUS Z87-PLUS
    ProcessorIntel i7 4770K
    Memory (part number)Gskill 4x4Gb Ripjaws Ddr3 1600Mhz Cl9 1.5V
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX780 DCU II
    Graphics Card #2ASUS GTX 580 DCU II
    Sound CardSOUND BLASTER Zx
    MonitorBENQ XL 2420T
    Storage #1SAMSUNG EVO840 500 GB
    Storage #2SAMSUNG EVO850 500 GB
    CPU CoolerCOOLER MASTER SEIDON 120XL
    CaseCOOLER MASTER HAF942 BT
    Power SupplyCORSAIR CX MODULER 750
    Keyboard CORSAIR K70 MECHANICAL
    Mouse ASUS CLAW - LOGITECH G502
    Headset ASUS STRIX DSP
    Mouse Pad LOGITECH G240
    Headset/Speakers EDIFIER S730
    Network RouterASUS N12LX

    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    X299 Ram Problem Trident Z 2x8 3600 Mhz 16-16-16-36 1.35 Module

    Hello everyone , I have really bad fps drops and i tryed to many things today when i check the Motherboard
    Intel Core X-Series processor (6-core or above) DRAM QVL

    I didnt see my ram kit there my ram kit excatly name

    GSKILL F4-3600C16D-16GTZR G.SKILL Trident Z RGB DDR4-3600Mhz C16 16GB (2x8GB) DUAL (16-16-16-36) 1.35V RAM

    this are the list ;
    http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mb/...928.1502747688

    this is important because when i XMP mode my pc is frozen randomly but when i do extreme tuning its 3200 mhz working very well ,

    if this MB not be compatible with my ram kits i will change my rams.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Sprayingmango PC Specs
    Sprayingmango PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Late 2017 MacBook Pro 15"
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme X299
    Processori9 7900X
    Memory (part number)G-Skill Trident Z RGB 3600 32GB
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 2080Ti XC Ultra
    Graphics Card #2EVGA 2080Ti XC Ultra
    MonitorTriple Asus PG27UQ G-Sync
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo 2TB NVME
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Evo 1TB NVME
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i Pro RGB
    CaseCorsair 1000D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G Pro Lightspeed
    Headset No...just no. Sennheiser HD650s w/ Schitt Stack
    Mouse Pad Logitech PowerPlay
    Headset/Speakers Denon 7.2 Atmos w/ Polk Signature Series
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterAsus Rog Rapture GT-5300

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    178

    Wait...what motherboard are you trying to use this memory on? You are trying to run dual channel memory on an X299 board which wants Quad Channel? I think the Rampage VI Apex is the only board that uses Dual channel for X299, I could be wrong.

    When I chose my Quad channel G.Skill Trident Z RGB kit I specifically chose a kit on the Asus DRAM QVL list, I am using F4-3600C16 G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB kit. Works perfectly.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array sefiremre PC Specs
    sefiremre PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS G751JY DH-71
    MotherboardASUS Z87-PLUS
    ProcessorIntel i7 4770K
    Memory (part number)Gskill 4x4Gb Ripjaws Ddr3 1600Mhz Cl9 1.5V
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX780 DCU II
    Graphics Card #2ASUS GTX 580 DCU II
    Sound CardSOUND BLASTER Zx
    MonitorBENQ XL 2420T
    Storage #1SAMSUNG EVO840 500 GB
    Storage #2SAMSUNG EVO850 500 GB
    CPU CoolerCOOLER MASTER SEIDON 120XL
    CaseCOOLER MASTER HAF942 BT
    Power SupplyCORSAIR CX MODULER 750
    Keyboard CORSAIR K70 MECHANICAL
    Mouse ASUS CLAW - LOGITECH G502
    Headset ASUS STRIX DSP
    Mouse Pad LOGITECH G240
    Headset/Speakers EDIFIER S730
    Network RouterASUS N12LX

    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    My Motherboards is X299 E-Gaming Strix ~ So I have to change my kit ? when i bought this kit i didn't know anything about dual or quad channel kit i just bought this kit

    GSKILL F4-3600C16D-16GTZR G.SKILL Trident Z RGB DDR4-3600Mhz C16 16GB (2x8GB) DUAL (16-16-16-36) 1.35V RAM

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Sprayingmango PC Specs
    Sprayingmango PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Late 2017 MacBook Pro 15"
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme X299
    Processori9 7900X
    Memory (part number)G-Skill Trident Z RGB 3600 32GB
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 2080Ti XC Ultra
    Graphics Card #2EVGA 2080Ti XC Ultra
    MonitorTriple Asus PG27UQ G-Sync
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo 2TB NVME
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Evo 1TB NVME
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i Pro RGB
    CaseCorsair 1000D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G Pro Lightspeed
    Headset No...just no. Sennheiser HD650s w/ Schitt Stack
    Mouse Pad Logitech PowerPlay
    Headset/Speakers Denon 7.2 Atmos w/ Polk Signature Series
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterAsus Rog Rapture GT-5300

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    178

    Quote Originally Posted by sefiremre View Post
    My Motherboards is X299 E-Gaming Strix ~ So I have to change my kit ? when i bought this kit i didn't know anything about dual or quad channel kit i just bought this kit

    GSKILL F4-3600C16D-16GTZR G.SKILL Trident Z RGB DDR4-3600Mhz C16 16GB (2x8GB) DUAL (16-16-16-36) 1.35V RAM
    Yes, you need a different set of ram. You need a Quad channel memory kit, 4 sticks from the same kit that has been tested / verified together. Stick to the Asus DRAM QVL list.

    You are trying to use the wrong kit, a dual channel kit. Also, don't think you can just get another dual channel kit and use the 4 of them together, that does NOT always work. Sometimes...it might. But more often than not it will not work due to intricacies in memory timing. You want a verified Quad channel kit with 4 sticks of ram.

  5. #5
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,805

    As above, return the memory kit to place of purchase, and get a memory kit present on the motherboard QVL. By running only two DIMM you're not utilising all the memory channels available to you on this platform. However, you may still need to tune the memory regardless.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array gupsterg PC Specs
    gupsterg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Ranger
    Processori5 4690K
    Memory (part number)HyperX Savage 2400MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 Fury X (1145/545 Custom ROM)
    MonitorAsus MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2HGST 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalRight Archon SB-E X2
    CaseSilverstone Temjin 06
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850
    Headset/Speakers HyperX Cloud
    OS Win 7 Pro x64 / Win 10 Pro x64
    gupsterg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    102
    Posts
    982

    Quote Originally Posted by sefiremre View Post
    Hello everyone , I have really bad fps drops and i tryed to many things today when i check the Motherboard
    Intel Core X-Series processor (6-core or above) DRAM QVL

    I didnt see my ram kit there my ram kit excatly name

    GSKILL F4-3600C16D-16GTZR G.SKILL Trident Z RGB DDR4-3600Mhz C16 16GB (2x8GB) DUAL (16-16-16-36) 1.35V RAM

    this are the list ;
    http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mb/...928.1502747688

    this is important because when i XMP mode my pc is frozen randomly but when i do extreme tuning its 3200 mhz working very well ,

    if this MB not be compatible with my ram kits i will change my rams.
    I wouldn't read too much into QVL. That RAM kit has Samsung B die RAM IC, this is ideal RAM IC for OC purposes.

    Looking at the manual the platform supports single, dual and quad channel. So yes you are missing out on some performance but it also depends on you usage case as to if you will note it.

    My opinion it's probably early platform teething issues which are hindering your usage.
    Intel Defector AMD Rebel

    TR 1950X - Custom WC - Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha - G.Skill Trident Z 3400MHz C14 QC - RX VEGA 64
    R5 3600 - Custom WC - Asus Crosshair VII Hero Wifi - G.Skill Ripjaws V 3800MHz C16 - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic

    24/7 OC: i5 4690K @ 4.9GHz CPU@1.255v 4.4GHz Cache@1.10v - Archon SB-E X2 - Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    Sapphire Fury X (1145/545 ~17.7K GS 3DM FS)

  7. #7
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,805

    Quote Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post
    I wouldn't read too much into QVL. That RAM kit has Samsung B die RAM IC, this is ideal RAM IC for OC purposes.

    Looking at the manual the platform supports single, dual and quad channel. So yes you are missing out on some performance but it also depends on you usage case as to if you will note it.

    My opinion it's probably early platform teething issues which are hindering your usage.
    The QVL is precisely for users like the above. Memory vendors bin memory kits on the platform they're qualified for to ensure adequate guardband. If using a memory kit not qualified for the platform you're using, you can expect to have to tune things manually, as the OP is finding out. This approach is not for everyone.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array sefiremre PC Specs
    sefiremre PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS G751JY DH-71
    MotherboardASUS Z87-PLUS
    ProcessorIntel i7 4770K
    Memory (part number)Gskill 4x4Gb Ripjaws Ddr3 1600Mhz Cl9 1.5V
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX780 DCU II
    Graphics Card #2ASUS GTX 580 DCU II
    Sound CardSOUND BLASTER Zx
    MonitorBENQ XL 2420T
    Storage #1SAMSUNG EVO840 500 GB
    Storage #2SAMSUNG EVO850 500 GB
    CPU CoolerCOOLER MASTER SEIDON 120XL
    CaseCOOLER MASTER HAF942 BT
    Power SupplyCORSAIR CX MODULER 750
    Keyboard CORSAIR K70 MECHANICAL
    Mouse ASUS CLAW - LOGITECH G502
    Headset ASUS STRIX DSP
    Mouse Pad LOGITECH G240
    Headset/Speakers EDIFIER S730
    Network RouterASUS N12LX

    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    Thanks for advice guys , excatly i have to change my ram kit ? as i understand

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array gupsterg PC Specs
    gupsterg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Ranger
    Processori5 4690K
    Memory (part number)HyperX Savage 2400MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 Fury X (1145/545 Custom ROM)
    MonitorAsus MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2HGST 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalRight Archon SB-E X2
    CaseSilverstone Temjin 06
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850
    Headset/Speakers HyperX Cloud
    OS Win 7 Pro x64 / Win 10 Pro x64
    gupsterg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    102
    Posts
    982

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone View Post
    The QVL is precisely for users like the above. Memory vendors bin memory kits on the platform they're qualified for to ensure adequate guardband. If using a memory kit not qualified for the platform you're using, you can expect to have to tune things manually, as the OP is finding out. This approach is not for everyone.
    The QVL is pretty much testing a RAM IC on a dimm. Many RAM manufacturers will change the RAM IC and or sell same kit with differing RAM IC. Then what happens regarding consulting QVL?

    What happens when CPU sample IMC does not support the MHz that user is after as they went for higher speed QVL RAM?

    All I see here is perhaps the CPU is not capable of supporting 3600MHz C16 and or UEFI is lacking in development/"plug'n'play" aspect.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	QVL.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	382.0 KB 
ID:	71583

    User has:-

    GSKILL F4-3600C16D-16GTZR

    This will be in CPU-Z as F4-3600C16-8GTZR.

    If user purchased any of the highlighted kits above it would also be F4-3600C16-8GTZR and as we can see on QVL 2, 4 and 8 dimms have been tested.

    And we have:-

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	G.Skill QVL.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	317.5 KB 
ID:	71584

    G.Skill have on their QVL the board user is using.

    Quote Originally Posted by sefiremre View Post
    Thanks for advice guys , excatly i have to change my ram kit ? as i understand
    Get one on ASUS QVL, then when it doesn't reach rated speed you can gain help .
    Last edited by gupsterg; 02-14-2018 at 10:14 AM.
    Intel Defector AMD Rebel

    TR 1950X - Custom WC - Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha - G.Skill Trident Z 3400MHz C14 QC - RX VEGA 64
    R5 3600 - Custom WC - Asus Crosshair VII Hero Wifi - G.Skill Ripjaws V 3800MHz C16 - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic

    24/7 OC: i5 4690K @ 4.9GHz CPU@1.255v 4.4GHz Cache@1.10v - Archon SB-E X2 - Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    Sapphire Fury X (1145/545 ~17.7K GS 3DM FS)

  10. #10
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,805

    Quote Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post
    The QVL is pretty much testing a RAM IC on a dimm. Many RAM manufacturers will change the RAM IC and or sell same kit with differing RAM IC. Then what happens regarding consulting QVL?

    What happens when CPU sample IMC does not support the MHz that user is after as they went for higher speed QVL RAM?
    The memory vendor QVL shows what platform and in this instance also what CPU type the memory kit is qualified for. With GSKILL, the memory kits are tested by hand on a given platform to ensure there is sufficient guardband in place. If different IC are used for the same part number then the vendor should ensure that all memory kits with that part number are qualified, but this goes without saying and is somewhat pedantic.

    As no CPU is identical, this is not by any means foolproof but ensures the best possible chance of plug and play. Using a memory kit that's been qualified for a Kabylake 4 core CPU is not the best way of doing this. You of all people should appreciate this given the vast differences between the IMC present on Zen and Intel counterparts.



    Quote Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post

    G.Skill have on their QVL the board user is using.

    The GSKILL QVL states Kabylake CPU



    Quote Originally Posted by sefiremre View Post
    Thanks for advice guys , excatly i have to change my ram kit ? as i understand

    I would opt for a quad channel kit from GSKILL from within the QVL, yes.
    Last edited by Silent Scone@ASUS; 02-14-2018 at 10:42 AM.

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •