Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Bought an asus rog swift pg278qr 27" monitor. Using with amd 295x2, stuck at 24Hz

    Recently bought an asus rog swift pg279qr monitor which I'm using with an amd 295x2 video card connected through a dp to mini dp (because the 295x2 doesn't have any regular dp ports for whatever reason).

    I'm stuck at 24Hz however.

    Creating a custom resolution in the control panel does nothing , and also setting it to 144Hz is not possible (says the monitor doesn't support that setting). I've also tried 60Hz and 75Hz and while I can save the profiles I can't apply the changes.

    Halp.

  2. #2
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,854

    Have you installed the drivers for the monitor?
    Whats the clock set at on the OSD menu for the monitor?

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    Have you installed the drivers for the monitor?
    Whats the clock set at on the OSD menu for the monitor?
    Excuse my ignorance, but what drivers? I thought the monitor was UPnP? The only software I got with the monitor was the on cd, but the only drivers on there are nvidia.

    The OSD Timeout is 30.

    The AMD drivers I have are fairly up to date. (waiting for the 1080 ti to come in the mail).

    just the reference, http://www.canadacomputers.com/produ...item_id=103395

    Edit: apparently the pg279 has whql drivers, but not the pg278? Doesn't seem to make sense.

    https://www.asus.com/us/Monitors/ROG...Desk_Download/
    Last edited by H3lix; 11-28-2017 at 04:49 AM.

  4. #4
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,854

    I have a PG279 and a PG348, they both have whql drivers. Ran without as UPNP but I always install drivers anyhow, cant remember not having a monitor without them.

    Does the OSD not have any settings for the clock? If that is not set correctly it will cause problems.
    Guessing your card doesnt have HDMI either, that defaults at 60Hz

    Cable shouldnt matter between mini or full. I sometime plug my G752VY laptop up and it works just fine.

    Im guessing at this point its in the monitor settings.

    Issue should be gone with 1080Ti, Im running two in SLI at 100Hz which is max for the P^348 but they also run 144Hz just fine on the PG279.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array CODE MAXIMUS PC Specs
    CODE MAXIMUS PC Specs
    MotherboardMAXIMUS IX CODE • BIOS 1009
    Processor7700K • 4.5GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX • CMK16GX4M2B3600C18 ver4.31 • 3866MHz • 15-15-15-36-2CR
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX 1080Ti OC
    Sound CardOnboard • SupremeFX S1220
    MonitorASUS ROG SWIFT PG279Q
    Storage #1Intel Optane 900P 480GB
    CPU Cooler2016 EKWB Supremacy EVO • Acetal + Nickel • Straight Distilled Water
    CaseCORSAIR AIR 540
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 850W P2
    Keyboard HyperX FPS Alloy TKL
    Mouse SteelSeries SENSEI 310
    Headset Coolermaster Masterpulse
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries QCK Limited
    Headset/Speakers 100W BLACKWEB ZULU 2.1 • Soundbar + 8" Sub • TOSLINK
    OS WIN 10 64bit
    Network RouterNETGEAR X4S • Gigabit fiber optic connection
    Accessory #1 3X Corsair Magnetic Levitation 140mm PWM case fans
    Accessory #2 2X Corsair Magnetic Levitation 120mm PWM radiator fans
    Accessory #3 APC XS 1000 • Backup
    CODE MAXIMUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    42
    Posts
    123

    Scroll down to max v-sync rate at max resolution. 24, so it sounds like no matter whatever the maximum resolution is it will max out at 24Hz WITH V-SYNC that is, Once you get your nvidia card your going to be in heaven!

    https://www.cnet.com/products/msi-r9...x2-8-gb/specs/

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    I have a PG279 and a PG348, they both have whql drivers. Ran without as UPNP but I always install drivers anyhow, cant remember not having a monitor without them.

    Does the OSD not have any settings for the clock? If that is not set correctly it will cause problems.
    Guessing your card doesnt have HDMI either, that defaults at 60Hz

    Cable shouldnt matter between mini or full. I sometime plug my G752VY laptop up and it works just fine.

    Im guessing at this point its in the monitor settings.

    Issue should be gone with 1080Ti, Im running two in SLI at 100Hz which is max for the P^348 but they also run 144Hz just fine on the PG279.
    It gives me an option to increase or decrease OSD.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Quote Originally Posted by CODE MAXIMUS View Post
    Scroll down to max v-sync rate at max resolution. 24, so it sounds like no matter whatever the maximum resolution is it will max out at 24Hz WITH V-SYNC that is, Once you get your nvidia card your going to be in heaven!

    https://www.cnet.com/products/msi-r9...x2-8-gb/specs/
    Vsync on or off I get 24Hz. Just sitting at the desktop screen I'm getting 24Hz I'll tinker with it some more tho. I'm coming to the conclusion that it might be the card and not the monitor, although the 1080 ti will be the deciding factor.

    It's really odd, because the 295x2 is by no means a bad card.
    Last edited by H3lix; 11-28-2017 at 05:46 AM.

  8. #8
    Administrator Array MasterC@ROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    121
    Posts
    1,851

    Do you have another monitor to test the 295X2 on? What were you using before?

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Quote Originally Posted by MasterC@ASUS View Post
    Do you have another monitor to test the 295X2 on? What were you using before?
    It works fine on my overlord tempest and my plain jane asus V278 monitor; that monitor is running at a refresh rate of 60Hz and I'm running it parallel with the rog.

    Using the DP-to-mini gives me 1440p@24Hz, and using an HDMI-to-MiniDP locked me at 1080p@60Hz. Not sure what the deal is here.

    The PG278QR is running in "Racing Mode".

    Windows identifies the monitor as a Generic UPnP Monitor, since there are no whql for this model version I'm not sure what to do besides wait and see what happens with the 1080 ti.

    Might try disabling crossfire, although I doubt that will do anything.
    Last edited by H3lix; 11-28-2017 at 07:28 AM.

  10. #10
    Administrator Array MasterC@ROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    121
    Posts
    1,851

    Quote Originally Posted by H3lix View Post
    It works fine on my overlord tempest and my plain jane asus V278 monitor; that monitor is running at a refresh rate of 60Hz and I'm running it parallel with the rog.

    Using the DP-to-mini gives me 1440p@24Hz, and using an HDMI-to-MiniDP locked me at 1080p@60Hz. Not sure what the deal is here.

    The PG278QR is running in "Racing Mode".

    Windows identifies the monitor as a Generic UPnP Monitor, since there are no whql for this model version I'm not sure what to do besides wait and see what happens with the 1080 ti.

    Might try disabling crossfire, although I doubt that will do anything.
    Just in case, can you try a different cable? There are cables which can't handle 2K@144Hz/165Hz. Quite often, the wrong cable is the problem. Your DVI port for example needs a dual-link cable if you want anything higher than 1080p@60Hz.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •