Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array kawasakizx10rr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    74

    connect two asus router's together, both in Access Point mode

    Hi i have just bought two asus routers for a private job, the customers get very poor wifi signal throughout their house so i disabled the wifi on the Sky router and connected a AC3200 in access point mode, and this works perfectly but still does not reach all the rooms down stairs so i bought a second router a 1200+,
    now my question comes into play, can i just simply connect the second asus router to the first and again set it to access point mode. or do i have to set the first to router mode, then the second in access point mode. I need all ethernet ports and wifi to work on both so repeater mode is a no go.

    Any how has any one tried this yet ? before i drive to the job and play around. i know that setting the first router to access point will be fine, but i just want to see my options. Please dont hold back to an extent as i have a CCNA 1 and 2 certification though i work in code so my networking skills are degrading due to lack of use.
    Last edited by kawasakizx10rr; 11-29-2017 at 01:12 PM.
    Rampage iv Extreme bios 1404 + EK acetal nickel full block ~ i7 3930k @ 46x + Koolance cpu-380i nickel block ~ G skill ripjaw Z 32Gb 1600 ~ AMD R9 290x + EK acetal nickel full block ~ Corsair neutron gtx 240 ~ Corsair force 3 serise 120 ~ Seagate baracoda 500 ~ Asus Xonar Xense ~ Novatech 1000w gold series ~ Koolance HX-CU1020V radiator ~ EK DCP 4.0 Pump ~ EK acetal spin reservoir ~ Thermaltake chaser mk-1 ~ Windows 7 pro ~ Corsair K95 RGB www.3dmark.com/sd/2198995

  2. #2
    Administrator Array MasterC@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    96
    Posts
    1,492

    It's a pity you didn't get AiMesh compatible routers. Set up and management would've been much simpler.
    https://www.asus.com/AiMesh/

    A good stable setup to try is as you suspected -> first in router mode (AC3200) and second in access point mode.
    The features on the RT-AC3200 should be more comprehensive, and it provides AiProtection for all connected devices.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array Shanester PC Specs
    Shanester PC Specs
    MotherboardROG MAXIMUS EXTREME / ROG RAMPAGE VI EXTREME OMEGA
    Processori9-9900K / i9-7900X
    Shanester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    50

    ETA for AiMesh for GT-AC5300?

    Just wondering if there was an ETA on the AiMesh for The ASUS ROG Rapture GT-AC5300?

    Thank you for your time.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array stefan063 PC Specs
    stefan063 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)EUROCOM X6W
    MotherboardIntel Z170
    Processori7-6700K
    Memory (part number)32GB
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA GTX980
    Graphics Card #2None
    Graphics Card #3None
    Graphics Card #4None
    Sound CardRealtek
    Monitor17" LG
    Storage #1256GB Samsung EVO 960 NvME
    Storage #2256GB Samsung EVO 960 NvME
    CPU CoolerStock
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset Logitech G933
    Mouse Pad Logitech
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterASUS GT-AC5300

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    95

    Quote Originally Posted by Shanester View Post
    Just wondering if there was an ETA on the AiMesh for The ASUS ROG Rapture GT-AC5300?

    Thank you for your time.
    Just wanna let you know...Since we have best ASUS router (GT-AC5300) we are going to get it last.

  5. #5
    Administrator Array MasterC@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    96
    Posts
    1,492

    It's coming guys. Don't worry, you have not been forgotten.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array Shanester PC Specs
    Shanester PC Specs
    MotherboardROG MAXIMUS EXTREME / ROG RAMPAGE VI EXTREME OMEGA
    Processori9-9900K / i9-7900X
    Shanester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    50

    Any update on when this will be available?

  7. #7
    Administrator Array MasterC@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    96
    Posts
    1,492

    Quote Originally Posted by Shanester View Post
    Any update on when this will be available?
    It's here!

    Please try the latest firmware (3.0.0.4.384_20308) which features AiMesh, KRACK vulnerability is also fixed:
    http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/wir...221.1511925089

    If you encounter any issues, please report them in the thread below. Thanks!
    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...-and-KRACK-Fix

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •