Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 68

Thread: Maximus Hero X

  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array no1yak PC Specs
    no1yak PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Hero X I Wi-Fi/ Hero IX
    Processori9 9900KF/ i7 7700K both @ 4.9Ghz
    Memory (part number)Gskill F4-3200C16D / Corsair 2400 LPX
    Graphics Card #1Evga GTX 1070 SC ACX3 / Evga 1060 SC
    Sound CardEssence One DAC Muses edition
    MonitorEizo CG275W/ Dell U2719D
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO Plus NVMe / 950 Pro
    Storage #2Samsung EVO 950 Pro M.2 + 850 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair 150i pro/Noctua NHu-14S
    CaseCorsair 500D/ Corsair 450D
    Power SupplyEvga 650 P2 /Corsair HX750
    Keyboard Cherry MX6
    Mouse Corsair M65
    Headset/Speakers Corsair SP2500 + Senn HD650 + HD 600
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 1909

    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    127

    Maximus Hero X

    Can someone tell me if the above MB (non Wi-Fi) has a VRM sensor, only nothing shows up in HWinfo under Asus EC.
    Last edited by no1yak; 11-29-2017 at 09:17 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array no1yak PC Specs
    no1yak PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Hero X I Wi-Fi/ Hero IX
    Processori9 9900KF/ i7 7700K both @ 4.9Ghz
    Memory (part number)Gskill F4-3200C16D / Corsair 2400 LPX
    Graphics Card #1Evga GTX 1070 SC ACX3 / Evga 1060 SC
    Sound CardEssence One DAC Muses edition
    MonitorEizo CG275W/ Dell U2719D
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO Plus NVMe / 950 Pro
    Storage #2Samsung EVO 950 Pro M.2 + 850 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair 150i pro/Noctua NHu-14S
    CaseCorsair 500D/ Corsair 450D
    Power SupplyEvga 650 P2 /Corsair HX750
    Keyboard Cherry MX6
    Mouse Corsair M65
    Headset/Speakers Corsair SP2500 + Senn HD650 + HD 600
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 1909

    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    127

    So I take it that no one knows the answer to my question, or can't be bothered to answer.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,548

    I don't see any VRM temp reading in AIDA64 either on my M10H Wifi, so if there is a sensor it cannot be read at this time, I don't know about the non Wifi model.
    I don't know if it has anything to do with the Wifi/BT module, similar to CPU-Z not reading vcore correctly

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array no1yak PC Specs
    no1yak PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Hero X I Wi-Fi/ Hero IX
    Processori9 9900KF/ i7 7700K both @ 4.9Ghz
    Memory (part number)Gskill F4-3200C16D / Corsair 2400 LPX
    Graphics Card #1Evga GTX 1070 SC ACX3 / Evga 1060 SC
    Sound CardEssence One DAC Muses edition
    MonitorEizo CG275W/ Dell U2719D
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO Plus NVMe / 950 Pro
    Storage #2Samsung EVO 950 Pro M.2 + 850 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair 150i pro/Noctua NHu-14S
    CaseCorsair 500D/ Corsair 450D
    Power SupplyEvga 650 P2 /Corsair HX750
    Keyboard Cherry MX6
    Mouse Corsair M65
    Headset/Speakers Corsair SP2500 + Senn HD650 + HD 600
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 1909

    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    127

    Thank you for your reply. It's my feeling that there isn't a sensor but I thought I would ask.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array SherardG PC Specs
    SherardG PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS ROG G752 & ASUS ROG G55VW
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus X Hero
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i7-8700K
    Memory (part number)32 GB [G.Skill TZRGB] F4-3200C32Q-8GTZR x 4
    Graphics Card #1ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    MonitorASUS ROG PG248Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 PRO MZ-V6P512 (512 GB)
    Storage #2WD2003FZEX
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62
    CaseNZXT Noctis 450 ROG
    Power SupplySeasonic PRIME 80+ Ti 750 SSR-750TD
    Keyboard Logitech G413 Carbon
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
    Headset Razer Kraken Pro V2 Black
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    OS Windows 10 10.0.16299
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC88U
    SherardG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    101

    I am also interested to know my VRM temps. I wouldn't like to think that it ships out without a sensor, considering that the board targets the enthusiast market. Could anyone from the ASUS Team provide some information? Thanks!

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array P-Dub PC Specs
    P-Dub PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus X Hero
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)CMU16GX4M2C3000C15R
    Graphics Card #1MSI 980 Gaming 4g
    MonitorBenQ XL2720T
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 512gb NVMe SSD
    Storage #2Adata SP550 240gb SSD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Hyper 612 ver.2
    CaseFractal Meshify C
    Power SupplySeasonic FOCUS Plus Series SSR-650FX 650W 80+ Gold ATX12V & EPS12V Full Modular
    Keyboard Logitech G710+
    Mouse Logitech G Pro
    Headset Roccat Kave XTD 5.1, Turtle Beach x41
    Headset/Speakers Logitech z640 5.1 Speakers
    OS Win10 Pro

    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    There is definitely a sensor on the non-Wifi Max X hero. When I first installed HWiNFO64 (v5.60-3280) it asked if I wanted to enable an embedded controller because of compatibility reasons with other monitoring software. I clicked yes.

    Under ASUS EC it shows VRM, PCH, CPU Vcc Sustain/Standby (VCCST_A), CPU PLL, VCCMP, and CPU_OPT fan. My temps are showing 47 current, 23 minimum and 62 maximum for VRM.

    Hope this helps.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,548

    It does not show on the Wifi model, also CPU-Z reads half vcore. I would think there is a VRM sensor just unreadable on the Wifi for some reason.
    That said with a little airflow over the VRM you will have no issue, I don't have any VRM heat issue with no direct airflow, just what the exhaust fans above the board. I did set a 40mm fan on top of my Vid card cooling the M.2 heatsink which lowered 960 pro temps almost 10c.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array SherardG PC Specs
    SherardG PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS ROG G752 & ASUS ROG G55VW
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus X Hero
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i7-8700K
    Memory (part number)32 GB [G.Skill TZRGB] F4-3200C32Q-8GTZR x 4
    Graphics Card #1ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    MonitorASUS ROG PG248Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 PRO MZ-V6P512 (512 GB)
    Storage #2WD2003FZEX
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62
    CaseNZXT Noctis 450 ROG
    Power SupplySeasonic PRIME 80+ Ti 750 SSR-750TD
    Keyboard Logitech G413 Carbon
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
    Headset Razer Kraken Pro V2 Black
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    OS Windows 10 10.0.16299
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC88U
    SherardG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    101

    Quote Originally Posted by P-Dub View Post
    There is definitely a sensor on the non-Wifi Max X hero. When I first installed HWiNFO64 (v5.60-3280) it asked if I wanted to enable an embedded controller because of compatibility reasons with other monitoring software. I clicked yes.

    Under ASUS EC it shows VRM, PCH, CPU Vcc Sustain/Standby (VCCST_A), CPU PLL, VCCMP, and CPU_OPT fan. My temps are showing 47 current, 23 minimum and 62 maximum for VRM.

    Hope this helps.
    Hello, Thanks for this information. I disabled the ASUS EC due to possible issues with memory (I'm not sure if you could break your SPDs because of it) but since your post, I've enabled it yet do not see any information for VRM temperatures, plus the fact that they are reporting two different values:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	VRM1.JPG 
Views:	9 
Size:	63.0 KB 
ID:	69401

    and

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	VRM2.JPG 
Views:	370 
Size:	20.1 KB 
ID:	69403

    Maybe you could point me in the right direction? I am currently using HWiNFO v5.60-3280

    Quote Originally Posted by Menthol View Post
    It does not show on the Wifi model, also CPU-Z reads half vcore. I would think there is a VRM sensor just unreadable on the Wifi for some reason.
    That said with a little airflow over the VRM you will have no issue, I don't have any VRM heat issue with no direct airflow, just what the exhaust fans above the board. I did set a 40mm fan on top of my Vid card cooling the M.2 heatsink which lowered 960 pro temps almost 10c.
    I was here thinking to get the Wi-Fi model as well. Seems that not all boards are made the same in this case. As for the VRMs, I was looking to make use of the fan holder but couldn't get the fans, and based on the way my system is set up, I don't think I could mount it anyway as the top fans would be in the way of the mounting bracket:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	_DSC1201.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	473.9 KB 
ID:	69404

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array no1yak PC Specs
    no1yak PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Hero X I Wi-Fi/ Hero IX
    Processori9 9900KF/ i7 7700K both @ 4.9Ghz
    Memory (part number)Gskill F4-3200C16D / Corsair 2400 LPX
    Graphics Card #1Evga GTX 1070 SC ACX3 / Evga 1060 SC
    Sound CardEssence One DAC Muses edition
    MonitorEizo CG275W/ Dell U2719D
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO Plus NVMe / 950 Pro
    Storage #2Samsung EVO 950 Pro M.2 + 850 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair 150i pro/Noctua NHu-14S
    CaseCorsair 500D/ Corsair 450D
    Power SupplyEvga 650 P2 /Corsair HX750
    Keyboard Cherry MX6
    Mouse Corsair M65
    Headset/Speakers Corsair SP2500 + Senn HD650 + HD 600
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 1909

    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    127

    Well, VRM is not showing up in HWInfo64 on either the Hero X or my Hero IX.



    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.PNG 
Views:	366 
Size:	5.5 KB 
ID:	69405

    Edit:- Checked for VRM sensor in the bios under monitor- not there. Tried bios 0505, not there. It appears that some boards have and some don't.
    Someone on the Aida forum was asking why the VRM was not shown when in the bios the VRM sensor is.
    Last edited by no1yak; 12-05-2017 at 03:02 PM.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array SherardG PC Specs
    SherardG PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS ROG G752 & ASUS ROG G55VW
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus X Hero
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i7-8700K
    Memory (part number)32 GB [G.Skill TZRGB] F4-3200C32Q-8GTZR x 4
    Graphics Card #1ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    MonitorASUS ROG PG248Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 PRO MZ-V6P512 (512 GB)
    Storage #2WD2003FZEX
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62
    CaseNZXT Noctis 450 ROG
    Power SupplySeasonic PRIME 80+ Ti 750 SSR-750TD
    Keyboard Logitech G413 Carbon
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
    Headset Razer Kraken Pro V2 Black
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    OS Windows 10 10.0.16299
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC88U
    SherardG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    101

    Quote Originally Posted by no1yak View Post
    Well, VRM is not showing up in HWInfo64 on either the Hero X or my Hero IX.



    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.PNG 
Views:	366 
Size:	5.5 KB 
ID:	69405

    Edit:- Checked for VRM sensor in the bios under monitor- not there. Tried bios 0505, not there. It appears that some boards have and some don't.
    Someone on the Aida forum was asking why the VRM was not shown when in the bios the VRM sensor is.
    That shouldn't be the case. Most reviews are able to get VRM temps measured without an IR Scanner, so I'm guessing, that's software based. I am using the same board as P-Dub (non-Wifi) so I'm not sure why my temps aren't getting read. On Monitor, I only have PCH, GPU, CPU, and Mainboard temps. This shouldn't be the case since according to the ASUS showcase, there is indeed a thermal sensor located in the VRM area.

Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •