Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    72

    VRM temperature rampage iv

    is there a way to check, monitor vrm temperature? i have a fan over them but i want to see the temps, also what are the max and safe temps?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array UltraNEO* PC Specs
    UltraNEO* PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell XPS 13
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel i7-6850k
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL F4-3600C17Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Titan X (Pascal)
    Graphics Card #2Titan X (Pascal)
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q (x3)
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 1TB NVMe
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 1Tb (x4)
    CPU CoolerCustom Watercooled
    CaseCaseLabs SMA8
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Keyboard Paradise Custom
    Mouse Logitech G903
    Mouse Pad Logitech G840 XL
    Headset/Speakers ART SLA2 Linear Amp with JBL Control 5
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterPF Sense
    Accessory #1 Logitech Brio 4k
    Accessory #2 Logitech PowerPlay Game Pad
    UltraNEO*'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    48
    Posts
    601

    People should really search the forums first..

    http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...g-R4E-VRM-Temp
    ASUS ROG RVIE Omega | i9-9980xe | Dominator Platinum 128GB 3333 MHz | EVGA RTX 2080 Ti SLI | Samsung 970 Pro 1TB NVMe (x3)
    WD Black 4TB x2 | WD Black 6TB | Corsair AX1200i | CaseLabs SMA8 | Custom Water Cooling | HWLabs Black Ice Nemesis GTX 560
    XSPC RX 480 v3 | XSPC D5 Vario x2 | EK Blocks | EK-RES X3 400 | BitsPower Fittings | GentleTypoon 1850 x12 | Corsair SP140 x8 | Lamptron CM615

    Twitch.tv/MsNikita | Twitter.com/MsNikitaTV | Instagram.com/MsNikitaTV | Reddit.com/r/MsNikitaTV

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Sadly not.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    Asus boards never had a VRM temp sensor since previous generations.
    Something that's important especially for OCers. Or is it the VRM temp is too high on stock & afraid to show to users?

    @ ASUS, why u no VRM sensor??!!
    i7 3960X + 3930K | WC | 2x Asus RIVE | 2x RipjawsZ 2400C9 4X4GB + RipjawsX 2200C7 2X2GB + RipjawsX 2133C8 4X2GB + DomGT 2kC7 3X2GB + PID 2kC6 3X2GB | 3x GTX580 SLI WC | 2x Crucial M4 128GB raid0 + 2x CaviarBlack 1TB | AX1200 | Z-5500 + Xonar D2X | 3008WFP | Inverted LD PC V8
    WC: 2-loop | EK HF + 2x MCP655V EK-TOP + 2x EK 250 X2 Adv + 3x Quad 480 Rads | 3x EK FC580GTX+ | 16x GT 1850

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    86

    Quote Originally Posted by owikh8464 View Post
    Asus boards never had a VRM temp sensor since previous generations.
    Something that's important especially for OCers. Or is it the VRM temp is too high on stock & afraid to show to users?

    @ ASUS, why u no VRM sensor??!!
    The sensor is surely because they could not otherwise self-limited, so to read this I think is a choice.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array DangerClose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    107

    Where would be a safe spot to put a temp probe on the VRM?

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    It all depends just how far you want to go with your screwdriver I guess. Remove the heat sink first. And then the best place would be on the side of a VRM located in the middle of the cluster - of course then place the heat sink back.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array DangerClose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    107

    Quote Originally Posted by HiVizMan View Post
    It all depends just how far you want to go with your screwdriver I guess. Remove the heat sink first. And then the best place would be on the side of a VRM located in the middle of the cluster - of course then place the heat sink back.
    Thank you HiViz! I will do this later. I didn't want to put it in a spot that could potentially damage the VRMs or cause a "hot spot" you know? The probe itself could damage something so I wanted to find the best (and safest) spot.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Yeah no problem mate much better to be safe than sorry after. You never want the probe onto or between the heat source and the sink that is tasked to manage the heat. That is why I say on the side or between.

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    56

    If I have my top VRM's water cooled, it's OK if I do not monitor temp of bottom VRM's during heavy OC of my 3930K? Water temperature will not exceed 30-35 degrees С.

    I can put a thermal pad between backplate and my case to draw off heat from it. Or it will be overkill?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •