Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Exclamation ZENITH EXTREME won’t start with 4 sticks of RAM :(

    Hi everyone, I am about to tell you my miserable story *

    At first, I wanted an AMD THREADRIPPER system.
    So i bought:
    - AMD THREADRIPPER 1950X
    - ASUS ZENITH EXTREME
    - ASUS Strix 1080Ti OC
    - G.SKILL TridentZ (F4-3600C17Q-32GTZR)
    And the rest of computer stuff...*

    Once i got everything, I built the PC. And when I tried to start the system, it kept starting then immediately crashes....
    So I tried removing two sticks of RAM (2X8GB), and eventually I got the system started
    But i ran into another problems:
    The RENDER in Premiere Pro was slower than a walking turtle��
    The system was not stable, it crashes when it’s under load. (sometime crashes while gaming)*
    I had problems OverClocking both CPU & RAM.
    And of course i can’t put 4 sticks of RAM

    So i contacted ASUS and they said I am facing these issues because the RAM is not on the List of supported RAM (QLV)
    So i boght new RAMs that were on the list (F4-3200C16Q-32GTZR), once i got them i inserted them and... nothing worked��
    *
    I had the same problem, The system starts then immediately crashes.
    I contacted ASUS and they haven’t responded since 5 days.

    So if you have a solution or happened to face the same problem, please let me know❤️
    I haven’t been able to use my PC now for almost 2 months��*



    THE END


    *UPDATE:
    I managed to start the system with 4 RAMs by inserting them all in the right side of the CPU, although it crashed 3 times before the system started. Also when i tried to render in Premiere (which was slooow) the system crashed.

    *UPDATE 18/12/2017
    I didn’t get any answer from ASUS CS till now, so i contacted Amazon (where i bought the components from) and they accepted to return the MotherBoard & CPU.
    So i’m waiting for the new items. *

    *LAST UPDATE
    I received the CPU & MB, plugged them in, and 4 sticks of RAM worked perfectly.
    But i only was able to OC to 3200mhz maximum !!
    Last edited by moathsonbol; 01-28-2018 at 07:49 PM. Reason: UPDATE

  2. #2
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    I had the same problem, the system wouldn't boot with RAM placed in some sockets. I RMAed it and the new one is working fine.

  3. #3
    ZONITIUM Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    Quote Originally Posted by moathsonbol View Post
    Hi everyone, I am about to tell you my miserable story *

    At first, I wanted an AMD THREADRIPPER system.
    So i bought:
    - AMD THREADRIPPER 1950X
    - ASUS ZENITH EXTREME
    - ASUS Strix 1080Ti OC
    - G.SKILL TridentZ (F4-3600C17Q-32GTZR)
    And the rest of computer stuff...*

    Once i got everything, I built the PC. And when I tried to start the system, it kept starting then immediately crashes....
    So I tried removing two sticks of RAM (2X8GB), and eventually I got the system started
    But i ran into another problems:
    The RENDER in Premiere Pro was slower than a walking turtle��
    The system was not stable, it crashes when it’s under load. (sometime crashes while gaming)*
    I had problems OverClocking both CPU & RAM.
    And of course i can’t put 4 sticks of RAM

    So i contacted ASUS and they said I am facing these issues because the RAM is not on the List of supported RAM (QLV)
    So i boght new RAMs that were on the list (F4-3200C16Q-32GTZR), once i got them i inserted them and... nothing worked��
    *
    I had the same problem, The system starts then immediately crashes.
    I contacted ASUS and they haven’t responded since 5 days.

    So if you have a solution or happened to face the same problem, please let me know❤️
    I haven’t been able to use my PC now for almost 2 months��*



    THE END


    *UPDATE:
    I managed to start the system with 4 RAMs by inserting them all in the right side of the CPU, although it crashed 3 times before the system started. Also when i tried to render in Premiere (which was slooow) the system crashed.
    I am having the same exact issue. I also have the same exact ram you have from Gskill F4-3200C16Q-32GTZR and I cant run them in A1,B1, C1 and D1 configuration. The system boots with two sticks easily. I like you have not tried any thing in windows yet.

    Note I am able to run all four sticks once I put them all on one side ie C1,C2,D1,D2 so try that and run a game and see if it is stable. Also you can try the other side.

    I have the 701 bios. What bios are you using? What temps are you getting with the 1950x and what cooler are you using. The crashes could be linked to high CPU temps related to the 1950x which is a known issue. (I have the same CPU btw).

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array dusty459's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    42

    Quote Originally Posted by jiMMyoNewAy View Post
    I am having the same exact issue. I also have the same exact ram you have from Gskill F4-3200C16Q-32GTZR and I cant run them in A1,B1, C1 and D1 configuration. The system boots with two sticks easily. I like you have not tried any thing in windows yet.

    Note I am able to run all four sticks once I put them all on one side ie C1,C2,D1,D2 so try that and run a game and see if it is stable. Also you can try the other side.

    I have the 701 bios. What bios are you using? What temps are you getting with the 1950x and what cooler are you using. The crashes could be linked to high CPU temps related to the 1950x which is a known issue. (I have the same CPU btw).
    I'm in the Same Boat My post is above yours with Same issue but with Corsair Vengeance Bios 801 when I place them in the Lighter Sockets and try start pc it Just stops and starts like its going to blow up

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    3200mhz ballastic quad channel works after new bios

    I had no problems - but I didn't try turning the system on until I had "EZFlash"'ed the BIOS first:
    0. Turn the pc off, but keep power running to the motherboard (keep power supply on)
    1. Download the latest bios zip
    2. Open the zip, copy the file out into a thumb drive (doesn't have to be the included one)
    3. Rename the bios file to "ZE.cap"
    4. plug the USB into the "BIOS" labeled usb port on the MOBO
    5. hold the BIOS sync button until it blinks blue (kinda hard to do this and see the light with a finger - try a chopstick or something)
    6. wait until it stops blinking
    7. start your pc & when prompted hold DEL to enter BIOS settings

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by jiMMyoNewAy View Post
    I am having the same exact issue. I also have the same exact ram you have from Gskill F4-3200C16Q-32GTZR and I cant run them in A1,B1, C1 and D1 configuration. The system boots with two sticks easily. I like you have not tried any thing in windows yet.

    Note I am able to run all four sticks once I put them all on one side ie C1,C2,D1,D2 so try that and run a game and see if it is stable. Also you can try the other side.

    I have the 701 bios. What bios are you using? What temps are you getting with the 1950x and what cooler are you using. The crashes could be linked to high CPU temps related to the 1950x which is a known issue. (I have the same CPU btw).


    Thanks for your reply*jiMMyoNewAy.

    Yes i tried to run the 4 sticks in the same side and it worked, but was sooo unstable.
    And when i tried to render on Premiere, the system crashed.**

    I had BIOS-0801 beta and i didn’t have any problems with temps.
    The max temp i got during game/render was 60 degrees.*

  7. #7
    ZONITIUM Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    Quote Originally Posted by moathsonbol View Post
    Thanks for your reply*jiMMyoNewAy.

    Yes i tried to run the 4 sticks in the same side and it worked, but was sooo unstable.
    And when i tried to render on Premiere, the system crashed.**

    I had BIOS-0801 beta and i didn’t have any problems with temps.
    The max temp i got during game/render was 60 degrees.*
    I think there is a general problem with this board and memory compatibility. So many people are reporting the same issue across forums. I hope asus is looking into the matter as this is quite serious and painstaking.
    I do not know what to tell you as a solution other than talking to tech support so that they can figure out the solution. It may have to be RMAed as some people have found stability with new boards.

    BTW I had called in ASUS Tech Support and the first agent determined that there is some issue and gave me a case number and assured that a specialist will call me back within 48 hours. It has been a week and I got no call back.

    If someone from ASUS reads this " what is going on???".
    Last edited by jiMMyoNewAy; 12-13-2017 at 05:45 PM.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array Ragn0r PC Specs
    Ragn0r PC Specs
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME X399
    ProcessorAMD THREADRIPPER 1950X
    Memory (part number)Ballistix Elite (64gb)
    Graphics Card #1Aorus Geforce GTX 1080 Ti WATERFORCE WB Extreme Edition 11G
    Monitor3x Lenovo LI2223S (5760x1080)
    CPU CoolerRAYSTORM NEO
    CaseThermaltake tower 900
    Power SupplyEVGA 1600 P2
    Keyboard LOGITECH G19S
    Mouse LOGITECH G502
    Mouse Pad Logitech
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO
    Network RouterZYTEL PK 5001 Z
    Ragn0r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Zenith Extreme Return Material Authorization $29 USPS

    Received the Zenith Extreme from B&H Photo Video and before I open the box I could hear a screw rattling around (it was a very tiny screw.)
    The board was missing the three standoffs for the NVME SSDs mounting my two Toshiba 960 EVO M.2 1tb to the DDR4 DIMM .2 card and one for the WD 512GB NVME to the board under the Plate on the mobo. Could not post with the Threadripper 1950x and 8x 8GB (64GB) Ballistix Elite RAM (they are on the Qualified Vendor List). So with suggestions from the World Wide Web I finally got through the Post by using just 4x 8GB (32GB) RAM sticks and was able to flash the 0801 BIOS before the Processor reached the temperature threshold and shut off. I finally removed the Threadripper and noticed that the cpu pins were misaligned and using magnification found several pins that were bent backwards. How can those pins get bent backwards when correctly/carefully installing the CPU?
    If I ever install another CPU on a motherboard again I will use the $100 worth of magnification equipment before I accept the board from any vendor.
    So ASUS will not replace this $600 board and I have to spend my money to send it in for repair; because they are not responsible for damage beyond their door. This assumes that their quality control is above reproach. I hope that they will repair/replace the board and include the three NVME mounting standoffs so I can get on with building this Tower 900 dual custom water loop Gaming/Workstation. The Graphics Processing Unit is the Aorus Geforce GTX 1080Ti Waterforce WB Extreme Edition.
    Conclusion: Use magnification and inspect the CPU pins before accepting any motherboard. I suspect the pins being out of alignment, some were even bent backwards, also caused the overheat issue.
    Last edited by Ragn0r; 12-13-2017 at 11:14 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •