Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Silver Wolf PC Specs
    Silver Wolf PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VII Formula
    ProcessorIntel I7 4790K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator GT 2133 16gb
    Graphics Card #1GTX 980 Poseidon
    Monitor3 x Benq 24"
    Storage #1512gb SSD
    Storage #22x 4tb SSHD Raid0 2x2tb WD Black
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H110
    CaseBitfenix Colossus
    Power SupplySeasonic XP-760 Platinum 760W V2
    Keyboard Logitech G510
    Mouse Razer Naga 2015
    Headset Razer Seiran
    Mouse Pad Razer Vespula
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-5500
    OS Windows 7 Ultimate x64
    Accessory #1 Asus Blu Ray Writer Optical Drive
    Silver Wolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    238

    New Computer No Display

    Hey All,

    Put my new beast together tonight but I have a problem, nothing is displaying on any of the screens.

    Everything inside the case lights up and the fans on the GFX Card start spinning when it turns on then stop shortly after and nothing will display on any of the three screens.

    The first screen is connected through DVI, the Second HDMI and the third is using a Display Port to DVI cable.

    My specs are as follows
    I7 7820X
    Asus Rampage 6 Apex
    Corsair Dominator Platinum 32gb
    Asus Strix 1070ti
    All brand new today.

    I have connected the extra power to the GFX card although there is only one connector not two like on my old 980 Poseidon. The computer is turning on, there is just nothing displaying on the screens

  2. #2
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    300
    Posts
    7,449

    When a system isn't working start by removing everything you don't absolutely need. So remove all but one stick of memory, disconnect all storage, use a single display, etc. If you still have your Poseidon I'd also try swapping that in.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Silver Wolf PC Specs
    Silver Wolf PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VII Formula
    ProcessorIntel I7 4790K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator GT 2133 16gb
    Graphics Card #1GTX 980 Poseidon
    Monitor3 x Benq 24"
    Storage #1512gb SSD
    Storage #22x 4tb SSHD Raid0 2x2tb WD Black
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H110
    CaseBitfenix Colossus
    Power SupplySeasonic XP-760 Platinum 760W V2
    Keyboard Logitech G510
    Mouse Razer Naga 2015
    Headset Razer Seiran
    Mouse Pad Razer Vespula
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-5500
    OS Windows 7 Ultimate x64
    Accessory #1 Asus Blu Ray Writer Optical Drive
    Silver Wolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    238

    Went down to a single stick of ram and same problem.

    Took out my 1070ti and plugged in the poseidon and the same thing, computer boots but nothing is displayed on the screen.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Silver Wolf PC Specs
    Silver Wolf PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VII Formula
    ProcessorIntel I7 4790K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator GT 2133 16gb
    Graphics Card #1GTX 980 Poseidon
    Monitor3 x Benq 24"
    Storage #1512gb SSD
    Storage #22x 4tb SSHD Raid0 2x2tb WD Black
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H110
    CaseBitfenix Colossus
    Power SupplySeasonic XP-760 Platinum 760W V2
    Keyboard Logitech G510
    Mouse Razer Naga 2015
    Headset Razer Seiran
    Mouse Pad Razer Vespula
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-5500
    OS Windows 7 Ultimate x64
    Accessory #1 Asus Blu Ray Writer Optical Drive
    Silver Wolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    238

    Good news, I resolved the issue, it appears my motherboard may have a faulty PCI E socket. I moved the card down to the next slot and it worked fine.

    Too bad I have to go to work now so I can't play with it

  5. #5
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    300
    Posts
    7,449

    Glad to hear progress, sorry to hear it might be a defective board.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Silver Wolf PC Specs
    Silver Wolf PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VII Formula
    ProcessorIntel I7 4790K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator GT 2133 16gb
    Graphics Card #1GTX 980 Poseidon
    Monitor3 x Benq 24"
    Storage #1512gb SSD
    Storage #22x 4tb SSHD Raid0 2x2tb WD Black
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H110
    CaseBitfenix Colossus
    Power SupplySeasonic XP-760 Platinum 760W V2
    Keyboard Logitech G510
    Mouse Razer Naga 2015
    Headset Razer Seiran
    Mouse Pad Razer Vespula
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-5500
    OS Windows 7 Ultimate x64
    Accessory #1 Asus Blu Ray Writer Optical Drive
    Silver Wolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    238

    That's ok, it's brand new so I'll just send it back to the vendor (The perks of working for the reseller ) just means I'll be without it for a couple days

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Silver Wolf PC Specs
    Silver Wolf PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VII Formula
    ProcessorIntel I7 4790K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator GT 2133 16gb
    Graphics Card #1GTX 980 Poseidon
    Monitor3 x Benq 24"
    Storage #1512gb SSD
    Storage #22x 4tb SSHD Raid0 2x2tb WD Black
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H110
    CaseBitfenix Colossus
    Power SupplySeasonic XP-760 Platinum 760W V2
    Keyboard Logitech G510
    Mouse Razer Naga 2015
    Headset Razer Seiran
    Mouse Pad Razer Vespula
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-5500
    OS Windows 7 Ultimate x64
    Accessory #1 Asus Blu Ray Writer Optical Drive
    Silver Wolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    238

    So I've come home from work and done some inspection into my problem, turns out the motherboard has a rather large hestsink towards the back of the PCI E slots which is stopping the GFX Card from fitting in completely due to a slight bulge at one end of the heatsink moving the card down one PCI slot avoided this bulge and resolve the issue

  8. #8
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Quote Originally Posted by Silver Wolf View Post
    So I've come home from work and done some inspection into my problem, turns out the motherboard has a rather large hestsink towards the back of the PCI E slots which is stopping the GFX Card from fitting in completely due to a slight bulge at one end of the heatsink moving the card down one PCI slot avoided this bulge and resolve the issue

    I haven't heard of any mechanical conflicts with this board and graphics cards. The card may touch the PCH heatsink, but it should still go home. Out of interest, have you tried the board outside the chassis to see if the card will seat properly in the slot? Wondering if something else is causing this. When you do use the top slot, which POST code does the system halt at?

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Silver Wolf PC Specs
    Silver Wolf PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VII Formula
    ProcessorIntel I7 4790K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator GT 2133 16gb
    Graphics Card #1GTX 980 Poseidon
    Monitor3 x Benq 24"
    Storage #1512gb SSD
    Storage #22x 4tb SSHD Raid0 2x2tb WD Black
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H110
    CaseBitfenix Colossus
    Power SupplySeasonic XP-760 Platinum 760W V2
    Keyboard Logitech G510
    Mouse Razer Naga 2015
    Headset Razer Seiran
    Mouse Pad Razer Vespula
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-5500
    OS Windows 7 Ultimate x64
    Accessory #1 Asus Blu Ray Writer Optical Drive
    Silver Wolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    238

    I don't get a post code, I don't get any output to the screen at all, the system boots but there is no display at all.

    I haven't tried it outside the case though, but there is literally nothing else in its way and I can feel it not going all the way in to the slot

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,547

    Like Raja says I can't imagine the motherboard not being compatible with all GPU's, I have had to slightly bend the bracket where you screw it to the case on a Video card to get it to seat fully, it doesn't take much to not make full contact, could you please take a closer look to verify

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •