Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Exclamation Intel Optane M.2 - BIOS NVME Raid Not Supported on 801 and 804

    NVME raid for Intel Optane isn't supported on BIOS version 801 and 804.

    Was hoping to use (2) 32GB M.2 Intel Optane drive in raid due to their high, low queue depth performance.
    Spec: Asus Zenith, 1950x, (2) 32GB Optane

    801
    I put all CSM setting to UEFI, then enabled NVME raid.
    It reboots and freezes at the screen were you press delete to enter bios.

    The motherboard shows, Code:92 Detect HDD error.
    You can't even get back into the bios unless you remove the Intel optane drives.
    Also tried putting CSM to Disable, same results as above.

    804
    Does not even have an option for NVME Raid with Intel Optane.

    Windows
    NVME raid is possible for Optane drives in Windows using AMD RAIDXpert2, just not bootable.
    Seem like it's just a BIOS issue Asus need to fix to support Intel Optane drives.

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    901
    Still no raid support for Intel Optane drives. BIOS 901 does the same thing as 801. Except this time it will only freeze for about 1 minute before automatically entering the BIOS settings.


    I think I figure out the problem though. The Intel Optane drive are only recognize in Legacy mode, or Legacy and UEFI. Once in only UEFI mode, the motherboard doesn't recognize the Optane drives. This is probably why there is a Code:92 Detect HDD error, when enabling NVME raid.

    Optane drive are UEFI compatible though. Intel even recommend using them in UEFI mode or disabling CSM. Hopefully ASUS fixes this soon.
    Last edited by D8V1D; 12-19-2017 at 01:30 AM.

  3. #3
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Did you build the array on a pre-0801 version of uefi?

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    Did you build the array on a pre-0801 version of uefi?
    I was on 701 at first, but NVME raid didn't work for Optane drives back then either.

  5. #5
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    I asked because there's an advisory note that any NVMe RAID array built on pre-0801 builds will need to be re-built when you update the UEFI to 0801 onwards. That may not apply in your case, though.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    37
    Posts
    122

    Quote Originally Posted by D8V1D View Post
    NVME raid for Intel Optane isn't supported on BIOS version 801 and 804.

    Was hoping to use (2) 32GB M.2 Intel Optane drive in raid due to their high, low queue depth performance.
    Spec: Asus Zenith, 1950x, (2) 32GB Optane

    It seems it's a Intel problem, not ASUS.

    On another Fórum:

    "Just heard back from [other motherboard maker] support. They were in contact with AMD and were told that it is not possible to create a optane nvme raid because intel is artificially locking that functionality. The ssd checks for the environment and if there is no intel processor it will lock the hardware in BIOS resulting in the drives appearing offline."


    I also tried to put the 4 x 32 GB Optanes in RAID 0, but to no avail.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    902
    Still no BIOS Nvme raid support for Intel Optane drives. Same problem as BIOS 901.

  8. #8
    untouched Array Praz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    137
    Posts
    4,038

    Hello

    A BIOS update cannot fix this. Intel does not support Optane compatibility for any AMD platform. Intel 200 series and newer chipsets are required.

  9. #9
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    To compound past Praz's explanation.....the 16 and 32GB Optane sticks are not SSDs, they are cache and while sometimes they can be run as stand alone drives Intel has not had any reservations about saying they do not support that function.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •