Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Asus ROG PG279Q Black Screen

    I bought the Asus ROG PG279Q and when I first connected it to my old desktop, the monitor would randomly display nothing after a few minutes of usage. I tried it with both the Display port and HDMI cable provided with the monitor. I thought it was because my GPU couldn't handle the monitor, so since I was in need of a desktop upgrade, I decided to upgrade my desktop completely with all new parts. Even after building my new desktop, the monitor would display nothing after a few minutes of usage. I could be playing a game or just browsing the web and it would completely turn blank and become unresponsive to anything, OSD, power butt, mouse clicks or keyboard strokes. The LED on the stand would remain lit and the power button would still light red. This happens with both the HDMI and Display port. I have updated all my drivers for Nvidia, all the driver and tools from the Asus ROG PG279Q support page. The only way for me to get a display again after it blacks out is to disconnect the power cable, wait a few seconds and reinsert the power cable. Even though it would show the display, after about 30-40 minutes of usage, it would repeat itself again.

    Specs:
    Ryzen 7: 1700x
    Asus Crosshair VI Hero
    EVGA Supernova 850 P2
    EVGA 180ti FTW3

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Asus Black Screen.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	75.0 KB 
ID:	69397
    Last edited by IiAreAndy; 12-05-2017 at 04:11 AM.

  2. #2
    ASUS HQ Service Rep Array Bill@ROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    433

    Hello IiAreAndy
    Have you tried it on other computers?
    Any error messages you can share with us?
    If the issue persist, please return your monitor if you can, or RMA it.
    Our engineers will assist you
    Thank you

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by Bill@ASUS View Post
    Hello IiAreAndy
    Have you tried it on other computers?
    Any error messages you can share with us?
    If the issue persist, please return your monitor if you can, or RMA it.
    Our engineers will assist you
    Thank you
    I have tried it with my old desktop and my new desktop. The monitor showed the same problem on both desktops. *

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    I tried DDU and reinstall the latest drivers and even DDU again and installed the previous driver and still have that black screen. Is there a chance that it might be a bad power adapter? My monitor doesn't have any BLB or noticed and IPS glow, so I don't want to RMA it and get a worst display back. Any advice?

    Edit: The screen would go completely black, no mouse cursor or anything. The LED on the monitor stand would continue to be lit red and right underneath the power button the LED would be of this color.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	thumbnail.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	56.2 KB 
ID:	69426
    Last edited by IiAreAndy; 12-07-2017 at 08:30 PM.

  5. #5
    Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    207

    It sounds like a bad power adapter to me.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •