Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array rajpotula PC Specs
    rajpotula PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Zenith Extreme x399
    ProcessorAMD Threadripper 1950x
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX 1080

    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Upgrading to 128 GB...Need RAM advice

    Hi All,

    I have built a Threadripper system with the following config:

    1. CPU: Ryzen Threadripper 1925x
    2. Motherboard: Asus Zenith Extreme
    3. RAM: 32 Gb Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000 (16GB x 2) (CMK32GX4M2B3000C15)
    4. Asus GTX 1080

    Everything works perfectly fine for the past 1 one month. I have even overclocked the processor to 4.0 Mhz. Now I am about to rock the boat by upgrading the RAM to 128 GB.

    So my two questions are:

    1. Same Kit RAM: Somebody said that I should be putting 128 GB RAM from the same kit and that I shouldn't be mixing it with the current 32 GB RAM I have. Is that true? Even if it's the same model and make? or I can go ahead and buy the remaining 96 GB RAM? Please advice.

    2. What is the best, tested and problem free RAM for this motherboard and CPU config? I don't want to buy a 128 GB kit and regret later. I have checked the Asus released list of supported RAM, but I still see issues cropping up in other forums or YouTube.

    I would really appreciate it if somebody could point me to the right RAM. I am looking at the same 3000 Mhz if possible.

    Thank you all,

    Regards,
    Raj

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array legendarypoet PC Specs
    legendarypoet PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Zenith Extreme
    ProcessorAMD Threadripper 1950X
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance RGB 128GB (8 x 16GB) DDR4-3200
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC2 Hybrid
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC2 Hybrid
    Monitor3x LG 34UC88
    Storage #13x Samsung 960 PRO 512GB
    Storage #26x Seagate 8TB 7.2k RPM
    CPU CoolerEnermax LiqTech TR4 360
    CaseCorsair 760T (Black)
    Power SupplyCorsair RMx 1000i
    Keyboard Art Lebedev Optimus Maximus
    Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    legendarypoet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    This thread https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...reme-and-1950X has a bunch of 128GB setups members have working.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array rajpotula PC Specs
    rajpotula PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Zenith Extreme x399
    ProcessorAMD Threadripper 1950x
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX 1080

    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by legendarypoet View Post
    This thread https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...reme-and-1950X has a bunch of 128GB setups members have working.
    Thanks legendarypoet, exactly what I was looking for! Sorry, didn't check before posting :-)

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Cmk128gx4m8x3800c19

    I installed this set CMK128GX4M8X3800C19

    I can only get it to run at 2800MHz though on both 701 and 801 UEFI.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array rajpotula PC Specs
    rajpotula PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Zenith Extreme x399
    ProcessorAMD Threadripper 1950x
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX 1080

    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by Eric Lajoie View Post
    I installed this set CMK128GX4M8X3800C19

    I can only get it to run at 2800MHz though on both 701 and 801 UEFI.
    Hi,

    I have gone ahead and bought this RAM: G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 128GB (8 x 16GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 2933 (PC4 23400) AMD X399 Desktop Memory Model F4-2933C16Q2128GTZRX.

    Installation went well, system booted up with no issues. Changed only the frequency in the BIOS and started using the systems. It's been about 4 days I got the RAM and I had seen about 3 Bluescreens of death, frequent freezing up of Firefox browser, abrupt restarting of system couple of times (other than the bluescreens). It wasn't much of a problem, as the system was running perfectly with Autodesk 3ds Max & Houdini...but still...

    So I checked the RAM settings and saw that the voltage and the timings were different in the bios compared to what the manufacturer suggested. So I went in and changed the the voltage (from 1.17v to 1.35v...but now it shows 1.329v in Bios but in CPU-Z it shows as 1.35v...is that normal?) and the timings to 16-16-16-36. It's been about 12 hours now, but no freeze ups, no restarts or no bluescreens (Hope I am not jinxing it now! :P ) I will update again in couple of days.

    Raj

    My system:
    CPU: AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950x
    Motherboard: Asus ROG x399 Zenith Extreme
    GPU: Asus ROG Geforce GTX 1080 8Gb
    RAM: G.SKill TridentZ RGB DDR4 2933 128 GB

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •