Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Unhappy Sata bootable raid h3lp

    I am comming from an old x79 board, I have the raid dine in bios but can not get Win 10 to recognise the drives on install, what am i doing wrong, have tried to follow the theads and looked everywhere i could think of over the last 3 days, any help will be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    Which board are you running?
    If you got the raid created in the BIOS you should have that part right with SATA settings to raid.
    set BIOS with SATA Mode = RAID and CSM = Disable
    Download the AMD RAIDXpert2 RAID Management Utility and drivers and save drivers to your install media in a folder
    When you get to where its looking for drives ans you see none hit F6 or click on load driver.
    Point it to where you save the folder with the drivers and select the drivers
    Let it load, takes a minute........then you should see your drive

    You should be able to get the drivers from your MOBO support page, if not list up your board and Ill see if I can point you to another source.
    Just need to know which board it is first.
    Last edited by JustinThyme; 12-05-2017 at 05:35 AM.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Zenith extreame

    FIRST Thanks for the reply.
    I have downloaded raid drivers and raid expert 2 to a USB opened the zip files and have files on the USB. I will do the CSM to disable, I think I tried it both ways. I will look for the Raid expert manager. And give it a shot.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Zenith Ex

    I have no clue as to what I am doing wrong

    Bios
    Advanced section
    Sata Mode =Raid (DVD on port 1 /ssds on port 5-6)
    Raid expert2 config utility (controller set to 0) array manager =array 1, raid 0, 510GB, Normal
    Boot section
    Fast boot=disabled
    CSM=disabled
    Boot option 1 set for optical blueray

    Windows
    Get to screen where it wants to load windows, try drivers from web sit on USB extracted , try mother board USB drivers, nothing in the raid drivers or raid expert utility(sata) will get me drives to load to.

    What magical spell or freaky dance do I have to do, I am not against typing with a wet noodle on my keyboard.
    Once again any help is appreciated.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Dimitrios1971 PC Specs
    Dimitrios1971 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)GX700VO
    MotherboardASUS ROG ZENITH EXTREME ALPHA
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen Threadripper 2950X
    Memory (part number)F4-4000C18Q2-64TZR (3333MHz)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix GeForce® GTX 1080 Ti OC-Edition
    Graphics Card #2ROG Strix GeForce® GTX 1080 Ti OC-Edition
    MonitorROG Swift PG348Q Gaming
    Storage #13 x Samsung SSD NVMe 960 PRO 1TB Raid0
    Storage #22 x HGST Ultrastar He8 Raid_1
    CPU CoolerCOOLER MASTER MasterLiquid ML360 RGB TR4 Edition
    CaseCOOLERMASTER COSMOS C700P
    Power SupplyASUS ROG THOR 1200P
    Keyboard ROG Strix Flare RGB
    Mouse ROG Strix Evolve, ROG Gladius II
    Headset ROG Strix Fusion 700 & ROG Strix Wireless
    Mouse Pad ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers ROG Strix Magnus
    OS Win10_x64
    Network RouterFRITZ!Box 6590 Cable
    Accessory #1 BW-16D1H-U PRO
    Accessory #2 OC Panel I
    Accessory #3 ROG Headset Holder
    Dimitrios1971's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    19
    Posts
    87

    You can see
    here

  6. #6
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    So are drivers loading during the install?

    If not there is one more trick if you have an extra drive.

    Install to the extra drive. Load up raid drivers on the extra drive. At this point you should see the other drives in the array you created in diskmanager.
    If so then download and install macrium reflect and clone the install disk to the raid array then shut down and remove the spare drive and reboot you should be set.
    If you dont see the drives in diskmanager use the downloaded software to create one then do the clone.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Wink We have a bootale raid0 ssd

    thank you both for your help. (bios 804)
    I went fo about 7 hours . gave up and set up straight drives, got back home today and decided to try again. the key was to drop the raid array that bios or windows created in bios that was acting as a boot in bios and driving me nutty.
    I had raid array created 3x yesterday and it would load windows and upon restart go back to install windows, looked in raid Xpert in bios and it was trying to install in some other 256 gb array. only had 2 drives hooked up. Dropped the BS array and now it boots to windows and correct array.
    I was thinking that I was just not up to building a new system. It has been a few years. but keep trying and you will find where you went wrong

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •