Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    7

    Error 22 after BIOS update 1602

    Hello Everyone!

    My build had been running smoothly since December 2017 even after several bios updates (0802, 1003, 1101,1301,1401). when i saw the BIOS update available on the site i thought id do it in the morning the next day, so i did using the bios update utility, the progress bar loaded completely, shut down, i pressed the start button and got qcode 22. I tried using the revert bios with all the builds but i would always get error code 22 regardless of what i do. Swapped all the ramsticks to have 1 at a time each try(Same slot for single DIMM), tried different brand, reseatted CPU. Everything was working fine before the failed bios update, i used the flash utility to thinking it was the most error free way. Now I cant get into bios menu, cant revert bios method. ASUS said i can RMA to them but its going to be a 4 week ordeal.

    Am I out of options to troubleshoot?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Phillyflyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    532

    Error code 22 is related to memory.....most likely memory training...try leaving it in for a minute...see if it will cycle through until it reboots itself.
    Asus ROG Maximus XI EXTREME
    Intel i7 9900K OC'D @ 5.2 GHZ @ 1.345V (1.296V LOAD) LLC 6 PRIME 95 STABLE 8 HRS
    XSPC RX360 Rad (6)Scythe Gentle Typhoon 1850 RPM Fans In Push/Pull @ 1500 RPMS
    Swiftech Drive II / Swiftech MCP35X Pump
    Enermax Platimax 1200 Watt Power Supply
    32GB G.Skill F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR 3866 MHZ CL18 1.35V (OC 4266MHZ 17-18-18-41-2T @1.45V)
    MSI GTX 1070 SEA HAWK EK X SLI WITH ASUS HB RGB
    (5)Samsung 840 Pro 128 GB In Raid 0
    (2) WD 1TB Black Edition
    Corsair 900 D

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array chevell65 PC Specs
    chevell65 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z370-H, ROG Maximus VII Z97
    ProcessorIntel 4790K 4.6GHz, Intel i5 8400, Intel e8600 Wolfdale, Intel Q9650 Yorkfield, Intel E6750 Conroe
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill PC3600
    Graphics Card #1GTX 660 OC
    MonitorAsus 23"
    CaseCorsair clear case
    Power SupplyThermaltake
    Keyboard Logitech G15
    Mouse Logitech G9
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterDLink DIR-655, Asus AC88
    chevell65's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    56
    Posts
    357

    Code 22 looks to be a memory initialization code. Have you tried clearing the cmos or pulling out the cmos battery for awhile?

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,780

    The PC should have rebooted after the bios updated, there was no need to press the start button. Also, did you clear the CMOS or return the bios settings to default before flashing? Depending on your board, the bios flashback is probably your only option if clearing the CMOS doesn't work.

    If you don't want to wait for an RMA replacement, you can always buy a new bios chip from ASUS.
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by chevell65 View Post
    Code 22 looks to be a memory initialization code. Have you tried clearing the cmos or pulling out the cmos battery for awhile?
    Yes, i found online it was something memory related which made my try the ram one by one, i did clear cmos,and did remove the cmos battery for a couple of minutes, how much time would you consider is enough time for the cmos bat?

    thank you

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by Phillyflyer View Post
    Error code 22 is related to memory.....most likely memory training...try leaving it in for a minute...see if it will cycle through until it reboots itself.
    i left it on memok! for a min but it never got past the code 22 after a couple of shutdowns. but i will try again.thank you!

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by NemesisChild View Post
    The PC should have rebooted after the bios updated, there was no need to press the start button. Also, did you clear the CMOS or return the bios settings to default before flashing? Depending on your board, the bios flashback is probably your only option if clearing the CMOS doesn't work.

    If you don't want to wait for an RMA replacement, you can always buy a new bios chip from ASUS.
    I left the settings as they were before the flashing, i never changed anything on my past updates

    The bios flashback works and it finishes doing the update but it wont post regardles of the bios i flash.


    Is the Bios chip difficult to replace? where is it located? i already have a board on its way to me, but i am not in the US so shipping from Honduras to the US would easily cost me 100-150$. so id rather buy another board and just RMA when i fly to the states.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    7

    Good News

    Just wanted to update everyone. i fixed it by flashing the BIOS 1401, removing cmos battery for . 5 min, memory training (although didnt boot after this) but the most noticeable thing that made it boot was using the LN2 Switch to on and jumper to on and back off

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array chevell65 PC Specs
    chevell65 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z370-H, ROG Maximus VII Z97
    ProcessorIntel 4790K 4.6GHz, Intel i5 8400, Intel e8600 Wolfdale, Intel Q9650 Yorkfield, Intel E6750 Conroe
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill PC3600
    Graphics Card #1GTX 660 OC
    MonitorAsus 23"
    CaseCorsair clear case
    Power SupplyThermaltake
    Keyboard Logitech G15
    Mouse Logitech G9
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterDLink DIR-655, Asus AC88
    chevell65's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    56
    Posts
    357

    Well at least something worked to fix the issue because it sucks when a board dies. I thought the LN2 switch was on by default but maybe not.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,780

    Quote Originally Posted by chevell65 View Post
    Well at least something worked to fix the issue because it sucks when a board dies. I thought the LN2 switch was on by default but maybe not.
    It's supposed to off by default.
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •