Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array DevBiker PC Specs
    DevBiker PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)MSI GT72 Dominator-G
    MotherboardASUS Maximus IX Hero
    Processori7-7700K
    Memory (part number)4x16GB HyperX DDR4-2400
    Graphics Card #1MSI GeForce 1070 Gaming Z
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 512GB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro / Toshiba HDWE160
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i v2
    CaseThermaltake Chaser MK-I
    Power SupplyThermaltake Toughpower Grand 1050W
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Chroma v2
    Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma
    Headset Logitech G930
    Mouse Pad Steel Series
    OS Windows 10 x64
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC3200

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    25

    ME Update - Failure

    Trying to run the ME Update tool and no dice.
    First, I ran into the "Can't open ASIO.sys" error message. Ugh. Found the YouTube video and got past that (using another version of AsIO.dll in the folder for the ME tool).
    Now, however, I'm getting a message to "Please update the latest BIOS first ."
    Running Maximus IX Hero with BIOS version 1009, which is the latest version available on the Asus site.
    I am not running AISuite. I did at one point but got tired of its shenanigans and went through many contortions to get it fully uninstalled.
    I am running Aura 1.05.25 (and, based on what I've seen here, not planning on going to 1.05.27).
    The BIOSInfo.ini file that gets created when running the MEUpdateTool is, essentially, blank.
    Running Windows 10, FCU.

    How can I get this update applied? I've noticed that the FW folder seems to have the Intel update tool ... can I just run ver64.bat?

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    how do you change the .dll? i have the same error on a fresh windows 10 instal.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array DevBiker PC Specs
    DevBiker PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)MSI GT72 Dominator-G
    MotherboardASUS Maximus IX Hero
    Processori7-7700K
    Memory (part number)4x16GB HyperX DDR4-2400
    Graphics Card #1MSI GeForce 1070 Gaming Z
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 512GB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro / Toshiba HDWE160
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i v2
    CaseThermaltake Chaser MK-I
    Power SupplyThermaltake Toughpower Grand 1050W
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Chroma v2
    Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma
    Headset Logitech G930
    Mouse Pad Steel Series
    OS Windows 10 x64
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC3200

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    25

    I had to dig through old versions of various Asus tool installers to find a copy of ASIO.sys. IIRC, it was a relatively recent version of Aura.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array zoomIT PC Specs
    zoomIT PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX HERO
    ProcessorCore i7 7700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000 DC 16GB (CMK16GX4M2B3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1080Ti FE with EKWB fullcover block
    MonitorROG SWIFT PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960EVO 500GB
    Storage #2Crucial MX300 SSD 2.5" - 525GB x2
    CPU CoolerEKWB EVO Supremacy D5pump/res, 240+360 Rads
    CaseFractal Design Define R5 Blackout Window
    Power SupplyEVGA 850 G3
    Keyboard Corsair K70
    Mouse Steelseries Sensei 310
    Mouse Pad Steelseries COD edition & Corsair Gaming MM300 Extended Editio
    Headset/Speakers Logitech 6.1(older model but still good)
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterTP LINK Archer C9
    Accessory #1 Audio-Technica MX50 headphones
    zoomIT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    ME "update" tool

    Quote Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
    Trying to run the ME Update tool and no dice.
    First, I ran into the "Can't open ASIO.sys" error message. Ugh. Found the YouTube video and got past that (using another version of AsIO.dll in the folder for the ME tool).
    Now, however, I'm getting a message to "Please update the latest BIOS first ."
    Running Maximus IX Hero with BIOS version 1009, which is the latest version available on the Asus site.
    I am not running AISuite. I did at one point but got tired of its shenanigans and went through many contortions to get it fully uninstalled.
    I am running Aura 1.05.25 (and, based on what I've seen here, not planning on going to 1.05.27).
    The BIOSInfo.ini file that gets created when running the MEUpdateTool is, essentially, blank.
    Running Windows 10, FCU.

    How can I get this update applied? I've noticed that the FW folder seems to have the Intel update tool ... can I just run ver64.bat?

    Thanks in advance.
    As I understand it we'll have to until next year where Asus will be releasing a proper fix (in form of a BIOS update) to the Exploit that has caused all this. This does not explain why Asus have posted a ME Update Tool that doesn't work. My guess is that it is to used at later date. But still - not cool!!

    The YouTuber ThioJoe did a fairly good video with a few tips on where to look for more info and he included some good links in his video description.
    Sorry I can't remember more, but there is more @ Intel's web site on the Exploit problem and pending solutions etc.
    Buy all in all, no fix before 01/2018 :-/

    Hope this will "help" a bit.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    We're almost in Feb 2018, where's this update?

    Quote Originally Posted by zoomIT View Post
    As I understand it we'll have to until next year where Asus will be releasing a proper fix (in form of a BIOS update) to the Exploit that has caused all this. This does not explain why Asus have posted a ME Update Tool that doesn't work. My guess is that it is to used at later date. But still - not cool!!

    The YouTuber ThioJoe did a fairly good video with a few tips on where to look for more info and he included some good links in his video description.
    Sorry I can't remember more, but there is more @ Intel's web site on the Exploit problem and pending solutions etc.
    Buy all in all, no fix before 01/2018 :-/

    Hope this will "help" a bit.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Ignoring concerned customers. GREAT.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array Princeplanet PC Specs
    Princeplanet PC Specs
    MotherboardROG MAXIMUS X HERO (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-8700K Coffee Lake 6-Core 3.7 GHz (4.7 GHz Turbo) LGA 1151 (300 Series) 95W
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum 3000 (CMD32GX4M2B3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW DT GAMING, 08G-P4-6274-KR
    Graphics Card #2Intel 630 (built in)
    MonitorDell U2718Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro
    Storage #2Western Digital WD121KRYZ
    CPU CoolerNoctua 14cm U-series Single Tower CPU Cooler, Brown (NH-U14S)
    CaseCorsair Graphite Series 780T
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1600 G2 80+ GOLD, 1600W
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum
    Mouse Roccat TYON
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterASUS AC3200
    Princeplanet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Quote Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
    Trying to run the ME Update tool and no dice.
    First, I ran into the "Can't open ASIO.sys" error message. Ugh. Found the YouTube video and got past that (using another version of AsIO.dll in the folder for the ME tool).
    Now, however, I'm getting a message to "Please update the latest BIOS first ."
    Running Maximus IX Hero with BIOS version 1009, which is the latest version available on the Asus site.
    I am not running AISuite. I did at one point but got tired of its shenanigans and went through many contortions to get it fully uninstalled.
    I am running Aura 1.05.25 (and, based on what I've seen here, not planning on going to 1.05.27).
    The BIOSInfo.ini file that gets created when running the MEUpdateTool is, essentially, blank.
    Running Windows 10, FCU.

    How can I get this update applied? I've noticed that the FW folder seems to have the Intel update tool ... can I just run ver64.bat?

    Thanks in advance.
    Did you try using a clean boot? That worked for me on another computer.

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Where's the UPDATE?


  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by b46558 View Post
    Where's the UPDATE?


    **** the customer. **** the customer. **** the customer.

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    ME UPDATE is still broken on the z270i downloads page. what is going on???

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •