Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    49

    Maximus x One Click Overclock

    I know this is probably a dumb question, I have not built a PC since the Maximus IV. But does the one click automatic overclock turn on XMP & overclocks the CPU, or do you turn on XMP profile manually then run ASUS one click overclock.

  2. #2
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    I recommend against using the 1 click method. 99% of the time you can get better results with a lower Vcore by the old tried and true method of walking it up manually, stressing, then adding more. Last time I tried it the OC was unstable and HOT!!!

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    49

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    I recommend against using the 1 click method. 99% of the time you can get better results with a lower Vcore by the old tried and true method of walking it up manually, stressing, then adding more. Last time I tried it the OC was unstable and HOT!!!
    They'll probably fix this with a BIOS update. Still does the one click overclock both RAM & CPU?

  4. #4
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    The one-click rules are designed to be a catch-all, so will account for the worst CPUs we have in R&D. While there can be updates to the applied voltage, the worst-case scenario is always factored into the equation. That's why manual tuning often yields better results.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    49

    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    The one-click rules are designed to be a catch-all, so will account for the worst CPUs we have in R&D. While there can be updates to the applied voltage, the worst-case scenario is always factored into the equation. That's why manual tuning often yields better results.
    I thought it was based on an average value based on a multitude of tested CPUs. Still doesn't answer my question whether the one click turns on XMP or just overclocks the CPU.

  6. #6
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Quote Originally Posted by Leonidas_ee View Post
    I thought it was based on an average value based on a multitude of tested CPUs. Still doesn't answer my question whether the one click turns on XMP or just overclocks the CPU.

    It's not that cut and dry as we have to try and ensure the system POSTs with poor CPU samples. The profiles should not and do not (afaik) engage XMP, as that introduces another variable into the mix.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    49

    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    It's not that cut and dry as we have to try and ensure the system POSTs with poor CPU samples. The profiles should not and do not (afaik) engage XMP, as that introduces another variable into the mix.
    Ok thank you for the info. Is there any good links to what to tweak if one was to do it manually. I haven't done this since the Maximus IV Extreme and i7 2700k.

  8. #8
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Will be largely similar to the Kaby Lake overclocking guide on Edge Up. Some subtle changes here and there, but its the same architecture.

    http://edgeup.asus.com/2017/kaby-lak...locking-guide/

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    49

    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    Will be largely similar to the Kaby Lake overclocking guide on Edge Up. Some subtle changes here and there, but its the same architecture.

    http://edgeup.asus.com/2017/kaby-lak...locking-guide/
    Raja very good guide. Now reading it since my code is in the mail. Any notable differences for coffee lake, is there a separate guide for that. Thanks

  10. #10
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Hi Leonidas,

    No separate guide yet. I may do one at some point. Will add a few items. The methodology and approach will be the same, though.

    -Raja

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •