Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC) Mobo and Samsung 960 Pro 1TB installation

    I'm about to install a Samsung 960 Pro NVME M.2 1TB SSD into a Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC) mobo and install Windows 10 Pro on it. My question is: Do I have to go into the BIOS and change settings in order for the mobo to recognize the M.2 drive? If so, what settings in the BIOS need to be changed? I will be using a USB drive to install Windows 10 Pro.

    Thanks for your help.
    MB: Rampage IV Formula
    CPU: i7-3820
    RAM: 16GB (4x4) G. Skill F3-14900CL8Q-16GBZM 1866MHz
    SSD: Samsung 840 Pro 256GB
    HDD: 2 x Samsung Spinpoint 500GB (Raid 0) + WD 750GB
    GFX: MSI GTX 680 PE (BIOSes flashed to Lightning)
    PSU: Corsair AX860i
    CPU Cooler: Corsair H100i
    Case: NZXT Switch 810
    Monitor: Acer B273HU 27"

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,548

    No you don't have to change anything

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Quote Originally Posted by Menthol View Post
    No you don't have to change anything
    Thanks, Menthol for the reply. I remember you from way back.
    MB: Rampage IV Formula
    CPU: i7-3820
    RAM: 16GB (4x4) G. Skill F3-14900CL8Q-16GBZM 1866MHz
    SSD: Samsung 840 Pro 256GB
    HDD: 2 x Samsung Spinpoint 500GB (Raid 0) + WD 750GB
    GFX: MSI GTX 680 PE (BIOSes flashed to Lightning)
    PSU: Corsair AX860i
    CPU Cooler: Corsair H100i
    Case: NZXT Switch 810
    Monitor: Acer B273HU 27"

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Windows 10 Pro Installation

    Are there any changes in the BIOS that need to be made in order to install Windows 10 Pro on the Samsung 960 Pro?
    MB: Rampage IV Formula
    CPU: i7-3820
    RAM: 16GB (4x4) G. Skill F3-14900CL8Q-16GBZM 1866MHz
    SSD: Samsung 840 Pro 256GB
    HDD: 2 x Samsung Spinpoint 500GB (Raid 0) + WD 750GB
    GFX: MSI GTX 680 PE (BIOSes flashed to Lightning)
    PSU: Corsair AX860i
    CPU Cooler: Corsair H100i
    Case: NZXT Switch 810
    Monitor: Acer B273HU 27"

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,548

    Voper9,
    Here are the boot settings I use

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	151.6 KB 
ID:	69419

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	125.6 KB 
ID:	69420

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	3.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	108.4 KB 
ID:	69421

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array SherardG PC Specs
    SherardG PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS ROG G752 & ASUS ROG G55VW
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus X Hero
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i7-8700K
    Memory (part number)32 GB [G.Skill TZRGB] F4-3200C32Q-8GTZR x 4
    Graphics Card #1ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    MonitorASUS ROG PG248Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 PRO MZ-V6P512 (512 GB)
    Storage #2WD2003FZEX
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62
    CaseNZXT Noctis 450 ROG
    Power SupplySeasonic PRIME 80+ Ti 750 SSR-750TD
    Keyboard Logitech G413 Carbon
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
    Headset Razer Kraken Pro V2 Black
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    OS Windows 10 10.0.16299
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC88U
    SherardG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    101

    Just make sure to not do what I did and attempt to flash an MBR Windows 10 installation! I converted it but now have an unusable MBR on my SSD. I would be doing another reinstall, when I get my 2nd SSD.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Quote Originally Posted by Menthol View Post
    Voper9,
    Here are the boot settings I use

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	151.6 KB 
ID:	69419

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	125.6 KB 
ID:	69420

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	3.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	108.4 KB 
ID:	69421
    Thanks again, Menthol.
    MB: Rampage IV Formula
    CPU: i7-3820
    RAM: 16GB (4x4) G. Skill F3-14900CL8Q-16GBZM 1866MHz
    SSD: Samsung 840 Pro 256GB
    HDD: 2 x Samsung Spinpoint 500GB (Raid 0) + WD 750GB
    GFX: MSI GTX 680 PE (BIOSes flashed to Lightning)
    PSU: Corsair AX860i
    CPU Cooler: Corsair H100i
    Case: NZXT Switch 810
    Monitor: Acer B273HU 27"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •