Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    ASUS Crosshair VI HERO X370 does not start. Q-Code LED is blank.

    -ASUS Crosshair VI HERO X370
    -AMD Ryzen 7 1800X
    -NZXT Kraken X52
    -Kingston HyperX Fury Black 8GB DDR4 PC4-19200 x2
    -Zalman ZM700-LX
    -NVIDIA GeForce GTX 790
    All the components are just out of the box.

    The decorative leds on motherboard are glowing fine. The CPU ready LED is glowing green. Q LEDs (BOOT, VGA, DRAM, CPU) are off. The Q-code LED is blank. Starting the power does not do anything (i have tried the start button on the motherboard). The Kraken's leds do not glow (i don't really know if they should with power off). I have tried reconnecting power cables to the motherboard and to Kraken sata cable. Tried switching slots of RAM. Nothing happen. What should i try more?
    Last edited by Datgreenguy; 12-08-2017 at 11:02 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array unknownmiscreant PC Specs
    unknownmiscreant PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell E430s (i7)
    MotherboardCrosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1700X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-16GFX (Currently clocked 3466MHz)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX1070 FTW
    Sound CardAsus Strix Soar
    Monitor2x Dell U2412M
    Storage #1Intel 540s
    Storage #2Intel 520
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy Evo
    CaseCorsair 460x
    Power SupplyEVGA 850 G2
    Keyboard Logitech G610 Cherry MX Brown
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Mouse Pad Logitech G640
    Headset/Speakers Custom built sound system
    OS Win 10
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthawk

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    180

    Have you got a GPU?

    Although I'm fairly sure it would boot without one.

    Also, have you tested if your PSU turns on?

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by unknownmiscreant View Post
    Have you got a GPU?

    Although I'm fairly sure it would boot without one.

    Also, have you tested if your PSU turns on?
    Oh yeah. I got Nvidia GTX 790. Forgot to mention.
    And yes, PSU is up and running. It worked on the old motherboard, although it makes the Crosshair glow.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array lightknightrr PC Specs
    lightknightrr PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VI Hero WiFi
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen-7 1800X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-32GTZ
    Graphics Card #1Radeon Vega Frontier Edition
    Sound CardHT Omega eClaro
    MonitorSamsung 4K
    Storage #1Samsung NVMe SSD 960 PRO 1TB
    Storage #2Crucial MX200 1TB SSD
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseThermaltake Chaser Mk-1 (Modified)
    Power SupplyThermaltake Toughpower DPS G RGB 1500W Titanium
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB PLATINUM
    Mouse Corsair Scimitar Pro RGB
    Mouse Pad Corsair Gaming MM600 Dual Sided Aluminum Gaming Mouse Pad
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-bit OEM
    Accessory #1 Firewire Expansion Card
    Accessory #2 Black Magic Intensity Pro 4K
    Accessory #3 Mailiya USB 3.0 5-Port Expansion Card
    lightknightrr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    144

    Reseat the RAM, make sure all the power cables are plugged into the motherboard (all of them), make sure you plugged the power-on cable into the right pins, then pop the RTC battery and set the BIOS to reset (with the power off, of course...then put the BIOS jumper back, the battery back, then power on).

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Problem solved

    It turned out that my PSU's 6+2 pin connector is not equal 8pin... i connected 4+4pin instead and it worked. But i got a 4pin slot unpowered now. Though it works yet.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array lightknightrr PC Specs
    lightknightrr PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VI Hero WiFi
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen-7 1800X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-32GTZ
    Graphics Card #1Radeon Vega Frontier Edition
    Sound CardHT Omega eClaro
    MonitorSamsung 4K
    Storage #1Samsung NVMe SSD 960 PRO 1TB
    Storage #2Crucial MX200 1TB SSD
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseThermaltake Chaser Mk-1 (Modified)
    Power SupplyThermaltake Toughpower DPS G RGB 1500W Titanium
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB PLATINUM
    Mouse Corsair Scimitar Pro RGB
    Mouse Pad Corsair Gaming MM600 Dual Sided Aluminum Gaming Mouse Pad
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-bit OEM
    Accessory #1 Firewire Expansion Card
    Accessory #2 Black Magic Intensity Pro 4K
    Accessory #3 Mailiya USB 3.0 5-Port Expansion Card
    lightknightrr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    144

    It might be time to upgrade the old power supply.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array unknownmiscreant PC Specs
    unknownmiscreant PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell E430s (i7)
    MotherboardCrosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1700X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-16GFX (Currently clocked 3466MHz)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX1070 FTW
    Sound CardAsus Strix Soar
    Monitor2x Dell U2412M
    Storage #1Intel 540s
    Storage #2Intel 520
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy Evo
    CaseCorsair 460x
    Power SupplyEVGA 850 G2
    Keyboard Logitech G610 Cherry MX Brown
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Mouse Pad Logitech G640
    Headset/Speakers Custom built sound system
    OS Win 10
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthawk

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    180

    Quote Originally Posted by lightknightrr View Post
    It might be time to upgrade the old power supply.
    The pinouts of 8-pin PCIe and 8-pin EPS connectors are different. This means when a PCIe connector is connected to an EPS plug or vise-versa, the 12v rail of the PSU is shorted to ground.

    The lights will remain on, as they run off the 5V standby line, which will remain on all the time, even if the PSU cannot start due to the +12V rail being shorted

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array lightknightrr PC Specs
    lightknightrr PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VI Hero WiFi
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen-7 1800X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-32GTZ
    Graphics Card #1Radeon Vega Frontier Edition
    Sound CardHT Omega eClaro
    MonitorSamsung 4K
    Storage #1Samsung NVMe SSD 960 PRO 1TB
    Storage #2Crucial MX200 1TB SSD
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseThermaltake Chaser Mk-1 (Modified)
    Power SupplyThermaltake Toughpower DPS G RGB 1500W Titanium
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB PLATINUM
    Mouse Corsair Scimitar Pro RGB
    Mouse Pad Corsair Gaming MM600 Dual Sided Aluminum Gaming Mouse Pad
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-bit OEM
    Accessory #1 Firewire Expansion Card
    Accessory #2 Black Magic Intensity Pro 4K
    Accessory #3 Mailiya USB 3.0 5-Port Expansion Card
    lightknightrr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    144

    "But i got a 4pin slot unpowered now."

    If he has a power supply with only a 4+4 connector, and not the standard 8 & 4+4 connector, then it is time to upgrade.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	pic3_1500T.jpg 
Views:	23 
Size:	95.1 KB 
ID:	69536

    That would be the EPS & ATX connectors in the graphic above.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •