Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    A few questions about ROG Centurion 7.1

    Hey guys! I got my Centurion headset yesterday and I have a few questions.

    1. Is it normal that the headset shows as a speaker?



    2. Why I can't enable 7.1 surround sound on sound settings or do I have to change that? The sound quality is pretty good but just wondering can it get any better by enabling it.



    3. I know the mic is bad but is there any way to make it better? I already downloaded the latest firmware.

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array Guyvergamingtv PC Specs
    Guyvergamingtv PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme Intel X99 (Socket 2011) DDR4 EATX Motherboard
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 5960X @4.25GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance 32GB mem
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix GeForce® GTX 1080 Ti OC edition 11GB GDDR5X
    MonitorAsus 24" x3
    CPU CoolerOCUK 360mm AIO
    CaseEnthoo Luxe Full Tower Case
    Power SupplySuperFlower Leadex GOLD 1300W Fully Modular "80 Plus Gold" Power Supply
    Keyboard Logitec G910 Keyboard
    Mouse Razer Naga Hex V2
    Headset ROG Centurion 7.1 sound
    Mouse Pad Star Citizen large
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC87U Dual Band Wireless AC2400 Gigabit Router 4x4 MU-MIMO Antenna design
    Guyvergamingtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    64

    1 yes it will show as speakers due to the windows.

    2 i think it is enabled through the software and on the amp, if you check properties and do the sound check it should check all the speakers and let you know if your surround is working.

    3 the mic should be better if you a newer headset with the new revised mic installed. there are settings though recommended by asus that do help make it sound a little better

    60-80% microphone volume is most optimized with this mic
    ECN Enabled ( on bottom of amp if cant find it)
    Noise gate adjusted to second bar from the bottom
    perfect voice off
    voice clarity at 100%
    compressor levels default ( communication profile )


    hope this helps

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Quote Originally Posted by Guyvergamingtv View Post
    1 yes it will show as speakers due to the windows.

    2 i think it is enabled through the software and on the amp, if you check properties and do the sound check it should check all the speakers and let you know if your surround is working.

    3 the mic should be better if you a newer headset with the new revised mic installed. there are settings though recommended by asus that do help make it sound a little better

    60-80% microphone volume is most optimized with this mic
    ECN Enabled ( on bottom of amp if cant find it)
    Noise gate adjusted to second bar from the bottom
    perfect voice off
    voice clarity at 100%
    compressor levels default ( communication profile )


    hope this helps
    Thanks for the reply! I bought this from amazon.de 2 weeks ago so I guess its the new one.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array Guyvergamingtv PC Specs
    Guyvergamingtv PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme Intel X99 (Socket 2011) DDR4 EATX Motherboard
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 5960X @4.25GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance 32GB mem
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix GeForce® GTX 1080 Ti OC edition 11GB GDDR5X
    MonitorAsus 24" x3
    CPU CoolerOCUK 360mm AIO
    CaseEnthoo Luxe Full Tower Case
    Power SupplySuperFlower Leadex GOLD 1300W Fully Modular "80 Plus Gold" Power Supply
    Keyboard Logitec G910 Keyboard
    Mouse Razer Naga Hex V2
    Headset ROG Centurion 7.1 sound
    Mouse Pad Star Citizen large
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC87U Dual Band Wireless AC2400 Gigabit Router 4x4 MU-MIMO Antenna design
    Guyvergamingtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    64

    ye it should be, if the S/N is H6 onwards should have new mic.

  5. #5
    Administrator Array MasterC@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    96
    Posts
    1,492

    Quote Originally Posted by Guyvergamingtv View Post
    ye it should be, if the S/N is H6 onwards should have new mic.
    H6 is used to identify replacement headsets. Make sure to purchase H8, H9, H10... (number denotes month of manufacture).

  6. #6
    Administrator Array MasterC@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    96
    Posts
    1,492

    Quote Originally Posted by paskakasa View Post
    Hey guys! I got my Centurion headset yesterday and I have a few questions.

    1. Is it normal that the headset shows as a speaker?



    2. Why I can't enable 7.1 surround sound on sound settings or do I have to change that? The sound quality is pretty good but just wondering can it get any better by enabling it.



    3. I know the mic is bad but is there any way to make it better? I already downloaded the latest firmware.
    1. Yes, it's normal. Currently Microsoft does not classify the Centurion as a headset since it has 10 drivers (or anything with a 7.1 decoder).

    2. Make sure you configure the Centurion as 7.1 (under sound playback settings in Windows) and you're all good. The reason why you can't enable any Spatial sound formats is because you already have true 7.1 surround sound (that only provides virtual 7.1 surround sound for headsets/headphones with 2 drivers).

    3. Please check your serial number, does it start with H8, H9...?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •