Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    63

    How to install 2 SSD in Dimm-2 Slot

    I just got 2 toshiba SSD , installed both of them in the dimm-2 slot , only 1 shows up , they both work as i have tried them 1 by 1 , but in the dimm-2 slot system only shows 1 , So how can i get it to reconize the 2nd SSD .

    please help .

  2. #2
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,857

    Should be plug and play.
    Do you have the bottom PCIe slot populated and if so how is it set up?
    Double check BIOS setting regarding storage.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    63

    i have 2 gpus / zotac amp extreme in slot 1 m then in slot 3 , and a sound blaster pci express card , i have no other nvme drives installed , just installed these 2 today ,1 is being detected other is not , both of them work out of the box . do i have install latest bios or some thing .

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array Malik's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    18

    I have the same problem. One GPU in first slot, two nvme in dimm.2 and one is working, second no.

    What is wrong with this dimm.2 ?

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    45

    Quote Originally Posted by Malik View Post
    I have the same problem. One GPU in first slot, two nvme in dimm.2 and one is working, second no.

    What is wrong with this dimm.2 ?
    Make sure the NVMe is properly seated in the slot. I have a 1080 in the PCI slot and 3 NVMe in RAID with no issues. The one that is not showing up move it to the slot that seems to be recognized and take the other one out to see if the drive is bad.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Quote Originally Posted by vsimone67 View Post
    Make sure the NVMe is properly seated in the slot. I have a 1080 in the PCI slot and 3 NVMe in RAID with no issues. The one that is not showing up move it to the slot that seems to be recognized and take the other one out to see if the drive is bad.
    Sorry to jump on your topic but you say you have 3 NVMe in RAID, so the DIMM.2 does support RAID ? is this configured in the BIOS?

  7. #7
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by tep1981 View Post
    Sorry to jump on your topic but you say you have 3 NVMe in RAID, so the DIMM.2 does support RAID ? is this configured in the BIOS?
    Dimm.2 did support RAID but ever since I updated ZE to Bios 1402 for Threadripper 2 support, BIOS no longer recognize Dimm.2 slot 1 and the NVME slot on motherboard. It only recognize the drive on Dimm.2 slot 2.

    Here's what I tried, none of them worked.

    - Dimm.2 is properly seated
    - NVME drives are properly seated
    - Cleared CMOS
    - Disabled CSM
    - Disabled NVME raid
    - Re-enabled NVME raid
    - Disabled SATA
    - Enabled SATA
    - Changed SATA raid to AHCI or vice versa
    - replaced Dimm.2 card

    I tested all the drives on different system and "the only working" Dimm.2 slot 2, they all worked fine. Right now, I'm running Hyper x16 card in PCIEX16_1 + Dimm.2 slot 2 in order to recognize 5 out of 6 of NVME drives. In addition to Dimm.2 nightmare, Hyper x16 card will only recognizes 3 drives if installed in PCIEX16_3 slot, but is able to recognize all 4 drives when installed in PCIEX16_1. Since no one else is reporting the issues I am experiencing after updated bios to 1402, I begin to wonder if my board is dying. I'm now about to give up on it. I've been more stressed with this board more than I enjoyed it.
    Last edited by xiixexe; 09-25-2018 at 10:26 AM.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    45

    Quote Originally Posted by tep1981 View Post
    Sorry to jump on your topic but you say you have 3 NVMe in RAID, so the DIMM.2 does support RAID ? is this configured in the BIOS?
    That is correct, the motherboard has 3 NVMe slots that you can run RAID in. You need to go in the BIOS and turn NVMe raid on and build your array., There are several posts in this forum that explain how to do it.

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    solved getting 2nd nvme drive to work

    In Bios under advanced I went to Advanced\Onboard Devices Configuration and changed "CPU PCIE configuration mode" to x16, x16, x4. Keep in mind if you don't have 44 lanes you will have to take it below that like x16, x8, x4 or x8, x4, x4 ….you get the point. Also depending on what board your using you may only have 2 slots and not 3 like above.

    Now if someone can figure out the blasted double boot issue.
    Last edited by challenger-440; 02-05-2020 at 01:46 AM.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array Malik's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    18

    Both drives are ok. No problem with them.

    The problem is when i put two of this m2 drive into dimm.2, one of them is not visible in bios and system. I update bios to 1004 version, and nothing happend.

    I try with other configuration, one drive in dimm.2 and one on motherboard. Now its ok. But when i install two drives into dimm.2, there is problem.
    There is no other drives, there is only one GPU in first pcie slot.

    Asus X299 Extreme 6
    Intel 7800X
    Asus 1080TI Poseidon
    HyperX 240 Predator
    Kingston 240 GB
    Last edited by Malik; 12-31-2017 at 04:04 PM.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •