Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    ASUS ROG GL551JM can't update to Win 10 1709. Hassled on a daily basis.

    I've been hassled by this for 2 months now. Recently I enlisted Microsoft support twice. They took control of the laptop. The 1st one spent an hour and said it was well on it's way. The update failed. Then some weeks later another tried it and said my Bios was from 2014 and had to be at least from 2016. I then tried help from Asus. She walked me through updating the bios but I only seem to be allowed to install version 205 which seems to be from 2015. All the updates say they fail and then restore an earlier version. Today, it just went in a loop and was impossible to boot until I got a tip to press shift and power. I've been unable to turn off the updates. Any help appreciated. Thanks
    Last edited by majhoop; 04-04-2018 at 04:06 PM. Reason: misspelled word

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Clintlgm PC Specs
    Clintlgm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY DH72
    MotherboardAsus Z97 Pro WiFi and /Z97 Pro A
    ProcessorI7 4790K
    Storage #1512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    Storage #21 TB Samsun 850 Pro
    CaseCool Master Haf
    OS Win 8.1 Pro and Win 10 Pro
    Clintlgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    99
    Posts
    4,097

    Yes try a repair install, download and create USB install media, backup your eSupport folder if you have one. Start the install while you're in windows by right-clicking the install.exe and run as admin, install saving your files. Most of your software will be saved also. once you get back into the new windows unplug from the internet and install your hardware drivers from your eSupport folder or the ones you already have downloaded since the install will have installed windows, native drivers, our notebooks don't like those drivers Asus Support Downloads
    G752VY-DH72 Win 10 Pro
    512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    1 TB Samsung 850 pro 2.5 format
    980m GTX 4 GB
    32GB DDR 4 Standard RAM

    Z97 PRO WiFi I7 4790K
    Windows 10 Pro
    Z97 -A
    Windows 10 Pro

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Clintlgm PC Specs
    Clintlgm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY DH72
    MotherboardAsus Z97 Pro WiFi and /Z97 Pro A
    ProcessorI7 4790K
    Storage #1512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    Storage #21 TB Samsun 850 Pro
    CaseCool Master Haf
    OS Win 8.1 Pro and Win 10 Pro
    Clintlgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    99
    Posts
    4,097

    Quote Originally Posted by majhoop View Post
    I been hassled by this for 2 months now. Recently I enlisted Microsoft support twice. They took control of the laptop. The 1st one spent an hour and said it was well on it's way. The update failed. Then some weeks later another tried it and said my Bios was from 2014 and had to be at least from 2016. I then tried help from Asus. She walked me through updating the bios but I only seem to be allowed to install version 205 which seems to be from 2015. All the updates say they fail and then restore an earlier version. Today, it just went in a loop and was impossible to boot until I got a tip to press shift and power. I've been unable to turn off the updates. Any help appreciated. Thanks
    if you can hold out a couple of weeks, we have SCU update coming out, it will be in the MCT that I linked you too. keep checking until at the top of the page it says Spring Creator update included. Right now it still says Fall Creator update. if you can hold out for a couple of weeks if not you'll end up downloading and install all the updates since FCU and correcting drivers after each one.
    G752VY-DH72 Win 10 Pro
    512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    1 TB Samsung 850 pro 2.5 format
    980m GTX 4 GB
    32GB DDR 4 Standard RAM

    Z97 PRO WiFi I7 4790K
    Windows 10 Pro
    Z97 -A
    Windows 10 Pro

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    Appreciate your comments. I hadn't heard of an eSupport folder. I found it with 31 files from 2014. By the way this laptop came with Windows 8 and the option to upgrade to 10, which I did some time ago. I'd be OK with waiting a few weeks but I wish I could find a way to stop the daily interruption of windows trying to update. I've turned it off many different ways that I found on other forums. Even a command prompt: net stop wuauserv that I read about . It says it stopped the update and then a few minutes later it starts all over again. Is the bios I mentioned the latest one for my laptop? Thanks.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    Quote Originally Posted by majhoop View Post
    Appreciate your comments. I hadn't heard of an eSupport folder. I found it with 31 files from 2014. By the way this laptop came with Windows 8 and the option to upgrade to 10, which I did some time ago. I'd be OK with waiting a few weeks but I wish I could find a way to stop the daily interruption of windows trying to update. I've turned it off many different ways that I found on other forums. Even a command prompt: net stop wuauserv that I read about . It says it stopped the update and then a few minutes later it starts all over again. Is the bios I mentioned the latest one for my laptop? Thanks.
    !st thing this morning the update attempt starts again. After a failed update the laptop shows a check disk, scan disk and repair message for a few seconds.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    I had an issue similar to this, try disabling SMART in the bios..

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Clintlgm PC Specs
    Clintlgm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY DH72
    MotherboardAsus Z97 Pro WiFi and /Z97 Pro A
    ProcessorI7 4790K
    Storage #1512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    Storage #21 TB Samsun 850 Pro
    CaseCool Master Haf
    OS Win 8.1 Pro and Win 10 Pro
    Clintlgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    99
    Posts
    4,097

    Quote Originally Posted by majhoop View Post
    !st thing this morning the update attempt starts again. After a failed update the laptop shows a check disk, scan disk and repair message for a few seconds.
    That don't sound good if you have a spinner I would be changing it out. your probably dropping cluster and that is preventing the update from completing since pieces are missing from the file.
    G752VY-DH72 Win 10 Pro
    512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    1 TB Samsung 850 pro 2.5 format
    980m GTX 4 GB
    32GB DDR 4 Standard RAM

    Z97 PRO WiFi I7 4790K
    Windows 10 Pro
    Z97 -A
    Windows 10 Pro

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    Quote Originally Posted by cdrshm View Post
    I had an issue similar to this, try disabling SMART in the bios..
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bios from web not mine.jpg 
Views:	31 
Size:	11.5 KB 
ID:	72805 Attached is a screenshot from the web on how the bios should look. My bios just lists
    >SATA Configuration
    >Graphics Configuration
    >Network Stack Configuration
    >USB Configuration
    The image enclosed has SMART Settings in between Graphics and Network. So I guess I don't have that in my BIOS?
    Last edited by majhoop; 04-06-2018 at 04:17 AM.

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    Quote Originally Posted by Clintlgm View Post
    That don't sound good if you have a spinner I would be changing it out. your probably dropping cluster and that is preventing the update from completing since pieces are missing from the file.
    Thanks for the reply. It's a SSD not a spinning HD. The only time it ever happens is about 1 out of every 4 failed updates. It just takes a short time for the scan but makes me nervous to imagine what the update has been doing. I'll look into diagnosing the HD. I still haven't heard a reply on the latest possible Bios for this model. Is it 205?

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    I tried instructions from: https://www.asus.com/support/FAQ/1013018/ and get to step 8 selecting safe mode but it never does. I also tried f8 at start but also no safe mode. Any other ways to get it to go into safe mode? Is it normal to be difficult to do that? Thanks
    Last edited by majhoop; 04-07-2018 at 03:24 AM.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •