Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Angry Crosshair VI Hero WiFi no POST

    Right, so, the short version of my problem. Last Thursday everything was going fine until I got a BSOD and an instant restart, and my computer wouldn't POST. Q code 90, VGA light lit. RMAd board to ASUS, but I couldn't wait so I bought a brand new board, same make and model, same problem. Bought a new graphics card (RX 460) to use as a test, same problem. Replaced the power supply and cables, same problem. Tried with no storage attached, same problem. Only thing left I can think of is the CPU, but it passes the boot tests...


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Error.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	41.2 KB 
ID:	69505

    ASUS Crosshair VI Hero WiFI
    AMD Ryzen R7 1800X w/ Corsair H115i
    2x8GB G.Skill Flare DDR4-3200
    Sapphire Radeon Fury Nano
    Samsung 960 Pro 500GB NVMe SSD, 2x Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD
    SeaSonic SSR-750TD 750w 80 Plus Titanium PSU

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array unknownmiscreant PC Specs
    unknownmiscreant PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell E430s (i7)
    MotherboardCrosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1700X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-16GFX (Currently clocked 3466MHz)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX1070 FTW
    Sound CardAsus Strix Soar
    Monitor2x Dell U2412M
    Storage #1Intel 540s
    Storage #2Intel 520
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy Evo
    CaseCorsair 460x
    Power SupplyEVGA 850 G2
    Keyboard Logitech G610 Cherry MX Brown
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Mouse Pad Logitech G640
    Headset/Speakers Custom built sound system
    OS Win 10
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthawk

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    180

    Try reseat, the ram, GPU, cpu and cpu cooler. (Try not fully tightening the screws and giving it a wiggle side to side to ensure all pins make proper contact.)

    Also try a different PCIe slot. Have you got the auxiliary power connected? (Although I think thats a 62.)

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by unknownmiscreant View Post
    Try reseat, the ram, GPU, cpu and cpu cooler. (Try not fully tightening the screws and giving it a wiggle side to side to ensure all pins make proper contact.)

    Also try a different PCIe slot. Have you got the auxiliary power connected? (Although I think thats a 62.)
    Reseated everything when I swapped mothereboards, tried both PCIe x16 slots, have all board power connectors and GPU connectors attached. Everything worked perfectly form July 5th to November 28th.
    Last edited by mrmaples; 12-10-2017 at 11:04 PM.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Alright, so, the problem was indeed the processor, most likely the integrated PCIe controller. I bought an R3 1300X and it works like a charm. I encourage ASUS to look into this as the error code indeed showed a VGA problem and not a CPU problem, and it cost me $19 in a useless motherboard RMA.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •