Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array SherardG PC Specs
    SherardG PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS ROG G752 & ASUS ROG G55VW
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus X Hero
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i7-8700K
    Memory (part number)32 GB [G.Skill TZRGB] F4-3200C32Q-8GTZR x 4
    Graphics Card #1ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    MonitorASUS ROG PG248Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 PRO MZ-V6P512 (512 GB)
    Storage #2WD2003FZEX
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62
    CaseNZXT Noctis 450 ROG
    Power SupplySeasonic PRIME 80+ Ti 750 SSR-750TD
    Keyboard Logitech G413 Carbon
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
    Headset Razer Kraken Pro V2 Black
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    OS Windows 10 10.0.16299
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC88U
    SherardG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    101

    Angry Unreliable printing on RT-AC88U - Please fix this ASUS

    Hello ASUS Reps,

    I would just like to bring to your attention, documented issues on the ASUS EZ-Printer Sharing feature that you bundle with your router.

    The executable file works like a charm... As long as your router has freshly booted up. Once you run it for more than 24 hours, the printer won't work any more, nothing would sync, and when you try the software on a different device, it would say that no printer was found supporting the functionality, even if you were able to print almost 300 pages with a cartridge swap in between, less than 24 hours ago.

    I've had to set the printer into LPR just so I could use it again.

    Why do I have to exert this effort when I paid top dollar for this router? (Official price of ASUS Concept store is at USD330)

    Thanks for patching a ton of vulnerabilities this past week though.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array SherardG PC Specs
    SherardG PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS ROG G752 & ASUS ROG G55VW
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus X Hero
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i7-8700K
    Memory (part number)32 GB [G.Skill TZRGB] F4-3200C32Q-8GTZR x 4
    Graphics Card #1ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    MonitorASUS ROG PG248Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 PRO MZ-V6P512 (512 GB)
    Storage #2WD2003FZEX
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62
    CaseNZXT Noctis 450 ROG
    Power SupplySeasonic PRIME 80+ Ti 750 SSR-750TD
    Keyboard Logitech G413 Carbon
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
    Headset Razer Kraken Pro V2 Black
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    OS Windows 10 10.0.16299
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC88U
    SherardG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    101

    Well... No updates? I wouldn't go to the forums if the "technical support team" actually had any technical know-how. It seems that our in-house forum moderators and ASUS reps are the only ones who have any idea on what their customers are talking about. It's sad for a company that targets the enthusiast community

  3. #3
    Administrator Array MasterC@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    96
    Posts
    1,492

    Hi SherardG,

    Have you already tried calling the support number (1-812-282-2787) or emailed the networking team directly (Networking_Support@asus.com)?
    I've got the networking team looking at it, please private message me your PC specs, OS version, and list of devices connected to the RT-AC88U. Replication may be needed.

    Print 300 pages?! Is the router used for a small business environment?

  4. #4
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,857

    Are you using a USB printer plugged into the router or using a network printer that gets its own IP address and is wired or wireless and serves as its own print spooler?
    Thing is you cant pin it on only the router either way, This could be a printer issue.
    Me, I gave up on the printers that plug into the router or wireless print servers or even wireless AP used as a print server. partially because of the same issues you are citing and the fact that my printer is not now nor has it ever been in close proximity to my router. I use only those that are stand alone and a network device like everything else and the only thing they get from the router is connectivity and traffic control. Advanced printers are dirt cheap these days. Im running a brother color laser all in one that has run connected to a 68U. AC5300 and now on a Netgear X10 (sorry ASUS, you are lagging behind the times and I needed SFP+ that ASUS does not offer).

    My connection to broadband is via Cat6 to the Verizon OND. Then to the Verizon gateway which has a DMZ setup for my Netgear router (previously my AC5300 was set up the same way. The router is set up where its its in the middle of the house, mounted to the wall on the stairway going to the basement with its WAN coming back upstairs to the Verizon Gateway. On the lan side there are a few Cat 6 cables that come back up to my entertainment center to the TV, ROKU, Set top box and bluray player. Then the SFP+ fiber goes to a netgeaar 8 Port managed switch. That same switch has two SFP+ so the other goes to my NAS with Cat 6 cables that come back up to my entertainment center to the TV, ROKU, Set top box and bluray player and a cat seven making the trip up to the second floor to another 8 port switch that has 2 10GBe connections. One for the connection downstairs and the other to my RVIE machine. The remaining ports for various other connecitons like the NMC card for my UPS, My work laptop, G752 when home, and MS surface dock and brother printer. I could all of these devices wirelessly but why when I have a switch right there thats 1GB connection for most and 10GB for my RVIE machine.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array SherardG PC Specs
    SherardG PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS ROG G752 & ASUS ROG G55VW
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus X Hero
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i7-8700K
    Memory (part number)32 GB [G.Skill TZRGB] F4-3200C32Q-8GTZR x 4
    Graphics Card #1ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    MonitorASUS ROG PG248Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 PRO MZ-V6P512 (512 GB)
    Storage #2WD2003FZEX
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62
    CaseNZXT Noctis 450 ROG
    Power SupplySeasonic PRIME 80+ Ti 750 SSR-750TD
    Keyboard Logitech G413 Carbon
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
    Headset Razer Kraken Pro V2 Black
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    OS Windows 10 10.0.16299
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC88U
    SherardG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    101

    Quote Originally Posted by MasterC@ASUS View Post
    Hi SherardG,

    Have you already tried calling the support number (1-812-282-2787) or emailed the networking team directly (Networking_Support@asus.com)?
    I've got the networking team looking at it, please private message me your PC specs, OS version, and list of devices connected to the RT-AC88U. Replication may be needed.

    Print 300 pages?! Is the router used for a small business environment?
    Replied, thanks MasterC! I forgot to indicate printer model, it's an HP DeskJet 2130 model AIO Printer, drivers installed and configured, and it was working fine from any device in the network when I first bought the router. It's connected via the USB 2.0 port at the back (used to be in the front, no difference)

    I got it to work by configuring it on LPR.


    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    Are you using a USB printer plugged into the router or using a network printer that gets its own IP address and is wired or wireless and serves as its own print spooler?
    Thing is you cant pin it on only the router either way, This could be a printer issue.
    Me, I gave up on the printers that plug into the router or wireless print servers or even wireless AP used as a print server. partially because of the same issues you are citing and the fact that my printer is not now nor has it ever been in close proximity to my router. I use only those that are stand alone and a network device like everything else and the only thing they get from the router is connectivity and traffic control. Advanced printers are dirt cheap these days. Im running a brother color laser all in one that has run connected to a 68U. AC5300 and now on a Netgear X10 (sorry ASUS, you are lagging behind the times and I needed SFP+ that ASUS does not offer).

    My connection to broadband is via Cat6 to the Verizon OND. Then to the Verizon gateway which has a DMZ setup for my Netgear router (previously my AC5300 was set up the same way. The router is set up where its its in the middle of the house, mounted to the wall on the stairway going to the basement with its WAN coming back upstairs to the Verizon Gateway. On the lan side there are a few Cat 6 cables that come back up to my entertainment center to the TV, ROKU, Set top box and bluray player. Then the SFP+ fiber goes to a netgeaar 8 Port managed switch. That same switch has two SFP+ so the other goes to my NAS with Cat 6 cables that come back up to my entertainment center to the TV, ROKU, Set top box and bluray player and a cat seven making the trip up to the second floor to another 8 port switch that has 2 10GBe connections. One for the connection downstairs and the other to my RVIE machine. The remaining ports for various other connecitons like the NMC card for my UPS, My work laptop, G752 when home, and MS surface dock and brother printer. I could all of these devices wirelessly but why when I have a switch right there thats 1GB connection for most and 10GB for my RVIE machine.
    Like I replied earlier, it used to work, now it's not working any more. It's not the only issue with the router, there was this other thing when it was newly purchased that bandwidth effectively runs at 20% speed, then when I connect to the fiber modem, I get the full speed there. I had to disable a lot of features I wanted to be able to use on this router to be able to get 100% of what I am paying for re: internet speed.

    You sure have your home set up quite nicely, I would love to do a project as extensive as that, but not everyone in my home would be able to make use of it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •