Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    256

    R6E from frustrated to very happy

    I was very frustrated when I first got my i9 CPU and R6E MB. My first CPU was the i9 7980xe. With the earlier BIOS my rig would hang and other weird behaviors. So I returned that CPU and got the i9 7900x. Now I could run my rig. Unfortunately they fixed the issues and now it seems like the i9 7980xe works fine. My biggest problem was I run Hyper-V on Windows 10 and I couldn't soft boot the rig it would hang. This seemed related to the two Hyper x16 m.2 cards loaded with 8 Intel 900ps and/or VROC. I wasn't sure if it was the bios, the IRSTe driver, or what it was. And even with hard boots I could not OC it would hang on hard boots too. Finally after getting some updates I am able to hard and soft boot with a OC using Hyper-V. This makes me very happy. I get extremely fast Visual Studio integration and test run times now down to 5:25 minutes. It was close to 7 minutes with the latest code base before the OC. All I did to OC was use the wizard and set the OC to extreme. That gave me 4.4GHz CPU speed and a 3000 MHz memory speed. My memory is rated at 3600 MHz but I get you cannot get the full clock speed when you OC the CPU. And if I took the time to learn and manually OCed I could probably get the CPU and memory to run faster. But I am ok with where it is at. I don't run games or try to tune manually for best speeds anymore I just don't have the time right now and this box is built for work not play anyway.

    I was seriously considering building an AMD Threadripper rig until all this worked out.

    Here is the versions of BIOS, ME firmware, and drivers I am using:
    BIOS: 1004
    ME Firmware: v11.11.50.1436
    ME driver: v11.7.0.1058
    IRSTe: v5.3.1.1020

    I did the ME firmware update before ASUS released theirs. The ME driver I ended up getting with the firmware was a little bit newer than the one ASUS released. The IRSTe drive I always get the latest I can I rarely if ever use the ASUS released one.

    I haven't updated to the latest BIOS (1102) yet for two reasons. First off everything is working great for me. Secondly I have seen posts out here that BIOS 1102 affects performance negatively in a few different ways. I'll might try it soon but I will wait for a newer version first.

    I have most all the chipsets in the BIOS turned off even PCH since I use VROC. I have the USB and 10G network enabled and that's pretty much it. I also have the Intel VT-IO disabled too.

    My rig:
    ASUS ROG RAMPAGE VI EXTREME LGA 2066 Intel X299 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 Extended ATX Intel Motherboard
    Intel Core i9-7900X Skylake-X 10-Core 3.3 GHz LGA 2066 140W BX80673I97900X Desktop Processor
    G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 128GB (8 x 16GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 3600 (PC4 28800) Intel X299 Desktop Memory Model F4-3600C17Q2-128GTZR
    2x ASUS Hyper M.2 x16
    8x Intel Optane SSD 900P (280GB, 2.5in w/ U.2-M.2 Connector PCIe 3.0 x4, 20nm, 3D XPoint)
    1x Samsung 960 PRO Series - 512GB PCIe NVMe - M.2 Internal SSD (MZ-V6P512BW)
    Corsair AXi Series, AX1500i, 1500 Watt (1500W), Fully Modular Digital Power Supply, 80+ Titanium Certified
    ASUS NVidia GTX 1080
    Thermaltake Tower 900 Black Tempered Glass Fully Modular E-ATX Vertical Super Tower Chassis CA-1H1-00F1WN-00
    EK-FB ASUS ROG R6E RGB Monoblock - Nickel Acetal
    EK-RES X3 250 RGB - Black Acetal
    Iwaki RD-30 - 24 VDC - 318GPH -1200 L/hr. - Canned Motor Pump
    Tygon R3400 1/2" ID (3/4" OD) UV Resistant Tubing- Black
    Bitspower fittings
    Lamptron FC-2 fan controller
    4x Delta Fans
    480 slim radiator
    Silver Coils - Antimicrobial .999 Fine Silver Strip
    Last edited by CharlieH; 02-19-2018 at 08:13 AM.

  2. #2
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,823

    Glad you're happy where things are now. Sounds like you spent a lot of time pottering about initially. Were you using XMP at the time?

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    256

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone View Post
    Glad you're happy where things are now. Sounds like you spent a lot of time pottering about initially. Were you using XMP at the time?
    I tried XMP at one point. I never had any issues with just XMP enabled with the i9 7900x.
    Last edited by CharlieH; 02-19-2018 at 08:19 AM.

  4. #4
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,823

    Yeah, so it's likely your only problem with the 18 core was memory instability. These things often need to be dialled out manually. Especially on a CPU with that many cores. Some UEFI builds favour certain memory kits better than others out of the box, too.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Sprayingmango PC Specs
    Sprayingmango PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Late 2017 MacBook Pro 15"
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme X299
    Processori9 7900X
    Memory (part number)G-Skill Trident Z RGB 3600 32GB
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 2080Ti XC Ultra
    Graphics Card #2EVGA 2080Ti XC Ultra
    MonitorTriple Asus PG27UQ G-Sync
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo 2TB NVME
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Evo 1TB NVME
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i Pro RGB
    CaseCorsair 1000D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G Pro Lightspeed
    Headset No...just no. Sennheiser HD650s w/ Schitt Stack
    Mouse Pad Logitech PowerPlay
    Headset/Speakers Denon 7.2 Atmos w/ Polk Signature Series
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterAsus Rog Rapture GT-5300

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    180

    This is a very confusing build....all of that money in Ram and optane drives and you pair it with a single weak 1080? Yet you water cooled it??

    What do you use this rig for with such an odd build?

  6. #6
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,823

    The OP already says he doesn't play games, not everyone does. Equally, buying an 18 core for playing games is fairly odd (if that were the case).

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    161

    sometime less is more:

    my g.skill 128GB 3.200 CL14 loading xmp and it runs stable (7980XE cpu).
    Intel Core i9-7980XE @ Noctua NH-D15S | ASUS ROG Rampage VI Extreme | MSI GTX 1080 Ti Lightning Z SLI | G.Skill 128GB RAM, DDR4-3200, CL14 | Samsung SSD 960 PRO 2TB | 2x Samsung SSD 840 PRO (512GB) + 2x Samsung SSD 830 (512GB) | Plextor PX-L890SA | Corsair AX1500i Titanium | Lian Li TYR PC-X2000F @bequiet Silentwings USC |

    Intel Core i7-6950X @ Noctua NH-D15S | Asus ROG Rampage V10 Extreme | MSI GTX 1080 Ti Lightning Z | Kingston 128GB RAM, DDR4-2666, CL15 | Seasonic 1.000 Platinum |

  8. #8
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,823

    Depends if you truly need that much memory. With bdie and 4 modules (32GB capacity), it's fairly easy to obtain 4000Mhz and keep timings near or close to minimal spacing on X299. With as much memory as the OP has, that would be very difficult. It's all about compromise where it's needed, or not needed.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    256

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone View Post
    Yeah, so it's likely your only problem with the 18 core was memory instability. These things often need to be dialled out manually. Especially on a CPU with that many cores. Some UEFI builds favour certain memory kits better than others out of the box, too.
    That wasn't the case. I had the issues without XMP or OC. There was a BIOS bug fix for it that came later. I started this back last year in mid-Nov. Others had the same issue reported out here back then too.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    256

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone View Post
    Depends if you truly need that much memory. With bdie and 4 modules (32GB capacity), it's fairly easy to obtain 4000Mhz and keep timings near or close to minimal spacing on X299. With as much memory as the OP has, that would be very difficult. It's all about compromise where it's needed, or not needed.
    Yeah I need the full memory to run multiple VMs which is why I built this rig. I knew max memory affects the OCing.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •