Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Zenith Extreme Wont Boot

    I have been getting BSODs while playing games recently (Destiny 2 / Wolfenstein 2.) Now when powering on my PC it shows Memory on the LCD on the motherboard then shuts off and powers back on and just continues to power off and power back without posting. There are no errors on the LCD just before it gets to CPU it shuts off the PC.
    Last edited by Gr1dlock9000; 12-12-2017 at 01:29 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Cory29 PC Specs
    Cory29 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Zenith extreme x399
    Processor1950x
    Memory (part number)G Skill F4-3200C16-8GTZ - 64gb
    Graphics Card #1GIGABYTE GeForce GTX 980 Ti WF
    Monitorcintiq 22hd touch
    Storage #1Sam SSD 850 EVO 1TB
    CPU Coolerxspc block - D5 - 3x120 slim rad
    CaseView 71 (doesn't fit board)
    Power SupplyEVGA supernova 1000G3
    Keyboard K95

    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    131

    Quote Originally Posted by Gr1dlock9000 View Post
    I have been getting BSODs while playing games recently (Destiny 2 / Wolfenstein 2.)
    sounds like unstable ram speed docp or xmp settings wont work out the gate and will cause these issues
    clear cmos try again

  3. #3
    ZONITIUM Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    How many ram sticks are you operating and how much memory each? Try to swap the sticks around and also try with half the number of sticks you have. This seems to be a common problem with this board. What bios are you running?

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    The system wouldn’t post even with safe boot. I had tried clearing the CMOS still wouldn’t boot. I tried booting with 1 stick in at time but it wouldn’t even give an error code on the LCD and wouldn’t boot.

    It turned out both Corsair Vengeance Sticks (32 Gig Kit) I was using must have died. I just bought a new Ram kit and installed it and everything is back up and running.

  5. #5
    ROG Junior Member Array MikeMK PC Specs
    MikeMK PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Microsoft Surface Book
    MotherboardAsus X399 Strix-E
    ProcessorAMD Threadripper 1950X
    Memory (part number)G-Skill F4-3200C14Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 980Ti
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 980Ti
    Sound CardAsus Essence STX
    CPU CoolerCustom Watercooled
    CaseParvum M2.0

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    I have a very similar problem with my Strix. The board wont post, power comes on and cuts.out and gets caught in a loop trying to post.

    Unplugges everything and the PSU only seems to trip once you plug in the 8 pin + 4pin cpu power connectors.

    Ive tried all ram sticks individually with no joy. Might have to grab myself another set to test.

    Any thoughts?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •