Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array SherardG PC Specs
    SherardG PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS ROG G752 & ASUS ROG G55VW
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus X Hero
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i7-8700K
    Memory (part number)32 GB [G.Skill TZRGB] F4-3200C32Q-8GTZR x 4
    Graphics Card #1ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    MonitorASUS ROG PG248Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 PRO MZ-V6P512 (512 GB)
    Storage #2WD2003FZEX
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62
    CaseNZXT Noctis 450 ROG
    Power SupplySeasonic PRIME 80+ Ti 750 SSR-750TD
    Keyboard Logitech G413 Carbon
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
    Headset Razer Kraken Pro V2 Black
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    OS Windows 10 10.0.16299
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC88U
    SherardG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    101

    AURA Sync software corrupting SPD on Aura Sync Certified DRAM Sticks

    Hello,

    My apologies if this is a duplicate thread, but it seems that Aura Sync certified Trident Z RGB ram sticks' SPD are being corrupted by the software. G.Skill is surely aware of this, but what is ASUS doing in partnership with them?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array AkaNe0 PC Specs
    AkaNe0 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X Formula
    Processori7-8700K
    Memory (part number)G.skill Trident-Z RGB
    Graphics Card #1Strix GTX 1080 Ti
    CaseOpenBenchtable
    Power SupplySeasonic PRIME Platinum 1000W
    Keyboard ROG Claymore
    Mouse ROG Pugio
    AkaNe0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    19
    Posts
    566

    Quote Originally Posted by SherardG View Post
    Hello,

    My apologies if this is a duplicate thread, but it seems that Aura Sync certified Trident Z RGB ram sticks' SPD are being corrupted by the software. G.Skill is surely aware of this, but what is ASUS doing in partnership with them?
    Does this happen on your system with the Maximus X Hero? If so, please help to take some screenshots.
    And don't forget, Keep pushing it !

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array SherardG PC Specs
    SherardG PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS ROG G752 & ASUS ROG G55VW
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus X Hero
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i7-8700K
    Memory (part number)32 GB [G.Skill TZRGB] F4-3200C32Q-8GTZR x 4
    Graphics Card #1ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    MonitorASUS ROG PG248Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 PRO MZ-V6P512 (512 GB)
    Storage #2WD2003FZEX
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62
    CaseNZXT Noctis 450 ROG
    Power SupplySeasonic PRIME 80+ Ti 750 SSR-750TD
    Keyboard Logitech G413 Carbon
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
    Headset Razer Kraken Pro V2 Black
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    OS Windows 10 10.0.16299
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC88U
    SherardG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    101

    Quote Originally Posted by AkaNe@Asus View Post
    Does this happen on your system with the Maximus X Hero? If so, please help to take some screenshots.
    Yes, with the Maximus X Hero. CPU-Z reading:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1.JPG 
Views:	32 
Size:	42.3 KB 
ID:	69595
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2.JPG 
Views:	32 
Size:	42.2 KB 
ID:	69596
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	3.JPG 
Views:	32 
Size:	42.1 KB 
ID:	69597
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	4.JPG 
Views:	32 
Size:	41.9 KB 
ID:	69598

    CPU-Z bench with SPDs ok:

    https://valid.x86.fr/ldbc7n

    CPU-Z bench now:

    https://valid.x86.fr/aag2xs

    Since there was already a history on how this happened, I did backup my SPD EEPROM values for each card using Thaiphoon. I rewrote them and all is well with the world, hopefully.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	41.JPG 
Views:	31 
Size:	76.3 KB 
ID:	69599

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array KeksimusMaximus PC Specs
    KeksimusMaximus PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus X Hero
    Processori7-8700k
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB 3200MHz 2x8GB
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX1080Ti FTW3
    MonitorDell s2718dg A04
    Storage #1Crucial MX100 128GB
    Storage #2WD Black 500GB
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62
    CaseNZXT S340 Elite
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Gold 650
    Keyboard CoolerMaster Masterkeys L White
    Mouse Tracer Pert TRM-503
    Headset HyperX Cloud I
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    KeksimusMaximus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    104

    Have you ever installed G.Skill own RGB software?

    It's a long standing issue with G.Skill software that itself corrupts SPD of Trident Z RGB RAM when combined with Asus Aura.

    I never heard about Asus Aura itself corrupting SPD of Trident Z RGB. Not alone. People who had issues always had Aura + G.Skill software in pair.

    For Asus Aura, people found it to actually help with bringing RGB RAM sticks back to life but only if it was installed alone without the G.Skill software.
    Dargus Maximus
    ~Explorer ~Engineer ~Guide
    My Youtube channel - PC modding, streaming, gaming

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array SherardG PC Specs
    SherardG PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS ROG G752 & ASUS ROG G55VW
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus X Hero
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i7-8700K
    Memory (part number)32 GB [G.Skill TZRGB] F4-3200C32Q-8GTZR x 4
    Graphics Card #1ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    MonitorASUS ROG PG248Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 PRO MZ-V6P512 (512 GB)
    Storage #2WD2003FZEX
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62
    CaseNZXT Noctis 450 ROG
    Power SupplySeasonic PRIME 80+ Ti 750 SSR-750TD
    Keyboard Logitech G413 Carbon
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
    Headset Razer Kraken Pro V2 Black
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    OS Windows 10 10.0.16299
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC88U
    SherardG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    101

    Hello Kelsimus,

    Nope, never installed the G.Skill software, since most of the people running G.Skill DRAM sticks that I know of advise to stay away from the G.Skill lighting software and stick with Aura. Still, I got this issue which is suffice to say, very disappointing. I think ASUS should think twice in marketing "Aura Certified" without extensively testing things.

    Anyways, there's some community feedback floating around regarding ASUS software purposefully ignoring SMB interlocks, is this still (or was it even ever) the case? Though in my opinion, it's not really impossible, given that ASUS won't even certify their own software hence the UAC issues on the latest major Win10 update.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •