Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 24
  1. #11
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Version change description is simply insulting.
    Last edited by freighters; 12-18-2017 at 12:35 PM.

  2. #12
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Carbonicdk PC Specs
    Carbonicdk PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Strix Z370-E Gaming
    ProcessorIntel i7-8700k
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C16Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG STRIX GTX1080TI O11G GAMING
    Sound CardSchiit Modi 2 Uber
    MonitorAsus MG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960Evo
    CaseFractal Design Define R6 - Tempered Glass
    Power SupplyCorsair Professional Platinum Series AX860
    OS Windows 10 64bit

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    143

    Quote Originally Posted by mikex999 View Post
    was excpecting more ddr 4 support. expecially for the 4000mhz versions
    If the board has trouble actually doing 4000mhz that's not surpricing.

  3. #13
    ROG Enthusiast Array mikex999 PC Specs
    mikex999 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Z370 F-Gaming
    Processori7 8700k
    Memory (part number)CMK16GX4M2E4000C19R
    Graphics Card #1Zotac 1080 Amp! Extreme
    MonitorDell S2716DG
    Storage #1Samsung 970 evo 512gb
    Storage #2Samsung 950pro 256
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i Pro
    CaseFractal Design Define TG
    Power SupplyBe quiet straight power 750w
    Keyboard Corsair K70 Platinum Rapidfire
    Mouse Corsair Vengeance m95
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterAsus RT AC88U

    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    38

    Quote Originally Posted by Carbonicdk View Post
    If the board has trouble actually doing 4000mhz that's not surpricing.
    why?

  4. #14
    ROG Member Array janos666 PC Specs
    janos666 PC Specs
    MotherboardZ370 Prime-A
    Processori5-8600K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200CL14-16GVR (2x16Gb)
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX1070 SH EK X
    Sound CardDenon 2808 (HDMI AVR)
    MonitorLG 55C7V
    Storage #1Samsung PM961
    CPU CoolerEKI Z270 monoblock
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860
    Keyboard Filco Mayestouch 2
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Mouse Pad Roccat Alumic
    OS Win10 Pro
    Network RouterCustom x86_64 Gentoo based home server

    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Does anybody know the actual difference between these synchronously updated 5*** and 0*** version chains (besides the "beta" label hanging on the 5*** chain)? The official change log really doesn't help (it's pretty useless even withing the same chain, let alone in differentiating between the two of them).

  5. #15
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Quote Originally Posted by janos666 View Post
    Does anybody know the actual difference between these synchronously updated 5*** and 0*** version chains (besides the "beta" label hanging on the 5*** chain)? The official change log really doesn't help (it's pretty useless even withing the same chain, let alone in differentiating between the two of them).
    The builds with the 5 prefix have ASUS MCE enabled by default. No other difference.

  6. #16
    ROG Member Array janos666 PC Specs
    janos666 PC Specs
    MotherboardZ370 Prime-A
    Processori5-8600K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200CL14-16GVR (2x16Gb)
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX1070 SH EK X
    Sound CardDenon 2808 (HDMI AVR)
    MonitorLG 55C7V
    Storage #1Samsung PM961
    CPU CoolerEKI Z270 monoblock
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860
    Keyboard Filco Mayestouch 2
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Mouse Pad Roccat Alumic
    OS Win10 Pro
    Network RouterCustom x86_64 Gentoo based home server

    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    The builds with the 5 prefix have ASUS MCE enabled by default. No other difference.
    Ah! Thanks for the explanation. The officially published release notes make more sense now. I was confused because the feature is available with both variants and I failed to notice the difference in the defaults when I tried the "beta".

  7. #17
    ROG Member Array Tbolt214th PC Specs
    Tbolt214th PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G73-JW, MBPr 15"
    MotherboardAsus ROG Strix Z370-E Gaming
    Processori7-8700k
    Memory (part number)CMK32GX4M4B3600C16
    Graphics Card #1Asus Poseidon GTX-1080-Ti
    Graphics Card #2Asus Poseidon GTX-980
    MonitorAsus PG278B
    Storage #12x Samsung 850 Pro + 1x 960 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB HDD 2x
    CPU CoolerWatercool Heatkiller-IV @ MoRa3-360
    CaseCorsair Carbide 500r
    Power SupplyCorsair AXi 1200
    Keyboard Logitech K520
    Mouse Logitech G700
    Headset Logitech
    OS Win10 Pro AMD64
    Network RouterAVM Fritz!Box 7490
    Accessory #1 Oculus Rift
    Accessory #2 TM Hotas, Saitek Combat Rudders
    Accessory #3 Track-IR 5 Pro

    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    New kits are seldom added to the QVL post launch timeframe. Not ideal, but nothing new, either.
    The kit I am talking about is a year old and ran fine at XMP with my Asus Prime Z270-A, tho, as said earlier, it also took a few Bios updates on that board to support that specific RAM Kit flawless...but it is NOT new and a well kown and reviewed kit. Something I hoped would run OUT-OF-THE-BOX. I guess those times are gone and the product has to ripe with the customer. Not nice tbh.

    To me, honestly speaking, this is due to the fact that AMD has stirred up the market with Ryzen and Intel is now pushing harder & faster than they should, the result is clearly visible, many new boards with many new chipsets flood the market and the dev teams struggle to support them all in a timely nice manner.

    I dont blame Asus as #1, they are a victim of that circumstance as well, too many new products in too little time, the result is on your desk, with BSODs and XMP errors.

  8. #18
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Carbonicdk PC Specs
    Carbonicdk PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Strix Z370-E Gaming
    ProcessorIntel i7-8700k
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C16Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG STRIX GTX1080TI O11G GAMING
    Sound CardSchiit Modi 2 Uber
    MonitorAsus MG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960Evo
    CaseFractal Design Define R6 - Tempered Glass
    Power SupplyCorsair Professional Platinum Series AX860
    OS Windows 10 64bit

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    143

    Quote Originally Posted by Tbolt214th View Post
    The kit I am talking about is a year old and ran fine at XMP with my Asus Prime Z270-A, tho, as said earlier, it also took a few Bios updates on that board to support that specific RAM Kit flawless...but it is NOT new and a well kown and reviewed kit. Something I hoped would run OUT-OF-THE-BOX. I guess those times are gone and the product has to ripe with the customer. Not nice tbh.

    To me, honestly speaking, this is due to the fact that AMD has stirred up the market with Ryzen and Intel is now pushing harder & faster than they should, the result is clearly visible, many new boards with many new chipsets flood the market and the dev teams struggle to support them all in a timely nice manner.

    I dont blame Asus as #1, they are a victim of that circumstance as well, too many new products in too little time, the result is on your desk, with BSODs and XMP errors.
    My memory works fine on the Z170 platform as well. It's just sad, really. Would be nice with some official comments about the memory stability issues and some solutions that might help for it and some timeframes.

  9. #19
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Quote Originally Posted by Carbonicdk View Post
    My memory works fine on the Z170 platform as well. It's just sad, really. Would be nice with some official comments about the memory stability issues and some solutions that might help for it and some timeframes.

    Your kit has been tested by one of the engineers and it checks out fine on our side. What happens when you reduce the SA and IO voltages below 1.225V? Try tuning from 1.10V upwards, in slow steps.

  10. #20
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Carbonicdk PC Specs
    Carbonicdk PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Strix Z370-E Gaming
    ProcessorIntel i7-8700k
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C16Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG STRIX GTX1080TI O11G GAMING
    Sound CardSchiit Modi 2 Uber
    MonitorAsus MG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960Evo
    CaseFractal Design Define R6 - Tempered Glass
    Power SupplyCorsair Professional Platinum Series AX860
    OS Windows 10 64bit

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    143

    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    Your kit has been tested by one of the engineers and it checks out fine on our side. What happens when you reduce the SA and IO voltages below 1.225V? Try tuning from 1.10V upwards, in slow steps.
    Been trying a bunch of things, setting both IO+SA to:
    1.1
    1.11
    1.13
    1.15
    1.16
    1.17
    1.18
    1.20
    1.22
    1.23
    and then IO+SA combinations like:
    1.32 - 1.17
    1.30 - 1.17
    1.22 - 1.15
    1.23 - 1.13

    all resulting in failure to boot followed by the safe boot or immidiate crash on the load screen.

    Have also tried memory voltages from 1.35v to 1.40v and loose timings like 20-20-20-40. Lowering the frequency to 3400mzh makes it possible to enter Windows where it soon crashes and 3200mhz crashes during gaming after like 20 minutes. Only 3000mhz is stable.

    In short, I've never had this many issues getting a motherboard to play nice with memory before.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •