Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array Aysberg PC Specs
    Aysberg PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG RAMPAGE VI EXTREME
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-7980XE
    Memory (part number)4 x F4-3200C14-16GTZ
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG STRIX GTX 1080 Ti GAMING OC
    Sound CardCreative SB Zx
    Monitor1x LG 34GK950G / 2 x HP DreamColor Z27x
    Storage #12 x Samsung NVMe 970 EVO 2TB / Samsung NVMe 3 x 960 EVO 1TB
    Storage #24 x SanDisk SDSSDHII960G
    CPU Coolercuplex kryos NEXT
    CaseLianLi PC-A75X
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1200i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
    Mouse Roccat KONE XTD Optical
    Headset AKG K712 + ModMic 5
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 1809
    Network RouterMikroTik CRS317-1G-16S+RM
    Accessory #1 Mellanox ConnectX-3
    Accessory #2 Asus Hyper M.2 X16 Card

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    65

    Strix GeForce GTX 1080 Ti OC plus Rampage VI freeze on boot

    Got a Strix GeForce GTX 1080 Ti OC last week and replaced my 1080 in my RIG. At boot the system freezes with random errors. Sometimes during the DRAM test phase, sometimes during VGA phase. (Test CMOS / Test DRAM / Test NVRAM / Test VGA BIOS and so on). Sometimes it hangs before the ASUS screen, sometimes on the screen, if I make it to the BIOS the system freezes in seconds while changing settings. If I get the system past BIOS and see the Windows loading animation, everything is fine.

    Doing a CMOS reset, let's the system boot for one or two seconds longer, with some luck after 5-10 resets the system boots. In Windows 10 everything is fine. After a reboot, shutdown or cold boot, the same error prone boot process begins

    With my old 1080 the system is 100% stable and boots every time.

    My setup...

    Mainboard - ASUS ROG RAMPAGE VI EXTREME BIOS 1004
    CPU - Intel Core i9-7980XE (optimized defaults or OCed)
    RAM - G.Skill F4-3200C14-16GTZ 4x16GB @3200-14-14-14-34
    Storage - Samsung SSD 960 EVO 1TB - OS on board
    Storage - 2 x Samsung SSD 960 EVO 1TB - data on HYPER M.2 X16
    PSU - Corsair HX1200i

    OS - Windows 10 1709 (all updates)
    NVIDIA driver 388.59

    Monitor - 2 x HP Z27s via Display Port

    Tried disabling fast boot, returning to bios defaults, CMOS reset, reseating the 1080Ti (used the old 1080 for some days and tried again), reinstalling drivers. No solution so far.

    Will return the card the next days if I find no solution to run this setup stable.

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array ExcessiveGBH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    68

    Have you tried just having one monitor connected and also using HDMI port as a test?
    Win 10 64 bit Pro 1903
    Rampage VI Extreme
    BIOS 1902
    I9-7900X @4.7GHz all cores
    EK-KIT G360 (CPU only)
    Samsung 960 PRO NVMe M.2 1TB
    Samsung 970 EVO PLUS NVMe 2TB
    3 x 4TB drives
    1 x 2TB drive
    Nvidia 2 x Sli Titans Pascal @2035Mhz
    32GB G Skill Trident Z 3466MHz
    Corsair 1200w psu
    Sound Denon AVC-A1
    Panasonic 65 plasma
    Predator XB321HK

  3. #3
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,857

    Quote Originally Posted by Aysberg View Post
    Got a Strix GeForce GTX 1080 Ti OC last week and replaced my 1080 in my RIG. At boot the system freezes with random errors. Sometimes during the DRAM test phase, sometimes during VGA phase. (Test CMOS / Test DRAM / Test NVRAM / Test VGA BIOS and so on). Sometimes it hangs before the ASUS screen, sometimes on the screen, if I make it to the BIOS the system freezes in seconds while changing settings. If I get the system past BIOS and see the Windows loading animation, everything is fine.

    Doing a CMOS reset, let's the system boot for one or two seconds longer, with some luck after 5-10 resets the system boots. In Windows 10 everything is fine. After a reboot, shutdown or cold boot, the same error prone boot process begins

    With my old 1080 the system is 100% stable and boots every time.

    My setup...

    Mainboard - ASUS ROG RAMPAGE VI EXTREME BIOS 1004
    CPU - Intel Core i9-7980XE (optimized defaults or OCed)
    RAM - G.Skill F4-3200C14-16GTZ 4x16GB @3200-14-14-14-34
    Storage - Samsung SSD 960 EVO 1TB - OS on board
    Storage - 2 x Samsung SSD 960 EVO 1TB - data on HYPER M.2 X16
    PSU - Corsair HX1200i

    OS - Windows 10 1709 (all updates)
    NVIDIA driver 388.59

    Monitor - 2 x HP Z27s via Display Port

    Tried disabling fast boot, returning to bios defaults, CMOS reset, reseating the 1080Ti (used the old 1080 for some days and tried again), reinstalling drivers. No solution so far.

    Will return the card the next days if I find no solution to run this setup stable.
    Id be prone to say you got a dud in the 1080Ti. Its not the rest of the system. Im running two Strix 1080Ti OC cards in SLI with not a single issue. I ran them one at a time during prebuild testing with everything on a box top before I yanked the heatsinks off and install EK blocks on the graphics cards. The fact that the 1080 runs fine is sufficient to prove the point. Cant blame drives if its locking up before you get to the OS. The only thing I can think of that would point to anything different is the PSU and connections. The 1080 is an 8 pin and a 6 pin where the 1080Ti is two 8 pin connections. You do have those installed correctly and on a PSU that can support it?

  4. #4
    Administrator Array MasterC@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    96
    Posts
    1,492

    If the 1080 was working fine, I'm inclined to say RMA. Before doing that, try different slots and make sure nothing is preventing the card from being pushed all the way down.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array Aysberg PC Specs
    Aysberg PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG RAMPAGE VI EXTREME
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-7980XE
    Memory (part number)4 x F4-3200C14-16GTZ
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG STRIX GTX 1080 Ti GAMING OC
    Sound CardCreative SB Zx
    Monitor1x LG 34GK950G / 2 x HP DreamColor Z27x
    Storage #12 x Samsung NVMe 970 EVO 2TB / Samsung NVMe 3 x 960 EVO 1TB
    Storage #24 x SanDisk SDSSDHII960G
    CPU Coolercuplex kryos NEXT
    CaseLianLi PC-A75X
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1200i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
    Mouse Roccat KONE XTD Optical
    Headset AKG K712 + ModMic 5
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 1809
    Network RouterMikroTik CRS317-1G-16S+RM
    Accessory #1 Mellanox ConnectX-3
    Accessory #2 Asus Hyper M.2 X16 Card

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    65

    Thanks for your help. My 1080 has two 8 pins too, so I think this connection works fine. Will do a last test with a different slot and one monitor with HDMI (read this somewhere else too), but even if this works, it's still no valid solution. Need a setup which runs like my old one and never had any problems with a graphics card not working like intended

  6. #6
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Quote Originally Posted by Aysberg View Post
    Thanks for your help. My 1080 has two 8 pins too, so I think this connection works fine. Will do a last test with a different slot and one monitor with HDMI (read this somewhere else too), but even if this works, it's still no valid solution. Need a setup which runs like my old one and never had any problems with a graphics card not working like intended
    1) Did those DP cables ship with the monitors? If HDMI cures the problem, it could be due to DC leaking into the board from the DP cables.

    2) If that doesn't check out, what happens when you don't use the onboard 960 drive? You can try moving it to the Hyper X16 card (not the DIMM.2) to check if the system will BOOT into the OS. If you do have any drives on the DIMM.2 card, try without those, too.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array Aysberg PC Specs
    Aysberg PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG RAMPAGE VI EXTREME
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-7980XE
    Memory (part number)4 x F4-3200C14-16GTZ
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG STRIX GTX 1080 Ti GAMING OC
    Sound CardCreative SB Zx
    Monitor1x LG 34GK950G / 2 x HP DreamColor Z27x
    Storage #12 x Samsung NVMe 970 EVO 2TB / Samsung NVMe 3 x 960 EVO 1TB
    Storage #24 x SanDisk SDSSDHII960G
    CPU Coolercuplex kryos NEXT
    CaseLianLi PC-A75X
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1200i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
    Mouse Roccat KONE XTD Optical
    Headset AKG K712 + ModMic 5
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 1809
    Network RouterMikroTik CRS317-1G-16S+RM
    Accessory #1 Mellanox ConnectX-3
    Accessory #2 Asus Hyper M.2 X16 Card

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    65

    @Raja Thanks, I use the cables from HP. But I will try some spares I have. Will try HDMI and only one monitor tomorrow.

    Since the system boots perfect and is stable with the current NVMe setup, I think I will pass this test. This is my work PC and changing a GPU is OK, dissembling everything for the NVMe is a bit much. The DIMM.2 is not in use.

    I can return the card until the end of the week, so I got some more time to do tests. But HW gets pretty expensive if you need to invest so much time

  8. #8
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Quote Originally Posted by Aysberg View Post
    @Raja Thanks, I use the cables from HP. But I will try some spares I have. Will try HDMI and only one monitor tomorrow.

    Since the system boots perfect and is stable with the current NVMe setup, I think I will pass this test. This is my work PC and changing a GPU is OK, dissembling everything for the NVMe is a bit much. The DIMM.2 is not in use.

    I can return the card until the end of the week, so I got some more time to do tests. But HW gets pretty expensive if you need to invest so much time

    That test could point a clue as to where the issue lies. Sometimes, voltages need tweaking for some drive configs due to certain CPUs being more sensitive. Sounds strange, I know. The alternative is the RMA first, and if that doesnt cure it, you'll have to do some more debugging.

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array Aysberg PC Specs
    Aysberg PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG RAMPAGE VI EXTREME
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-7980XE
    Memory (part number)4 x F4-3200C14-16GTZ
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG STRIX GTX 1080 Ti GAMING OC
    Sound CardCreative SB Zx
    Monitor1x LG 34GK950G / 2 x HP DreamColor Z27x
    Storage #12 x Samsung NVMe 970 EVO 2TB / Samsung NVMe 3 x 960 EVO 1TB
    Storage #24 x SanDisk SDSSDHII960G
    CPU Coolercuplex kryos NEXT
    CaseLianLi PC-A75X
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1200i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
    Mouse Roccat KONE XTD Optical
    Headset AKG K712 + ModMic 5
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 1809
    Network RouterMikroTik CRS317-1G-16S+RM
    Accessory #1 Mellanox ConnectX-3
    Accessory #2 Asus Hyper M.2 X16 Card

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    65

    Removed everything from my build. Just BIOS defaults, NVMe (on board I know ) and the Strix. Moved the card from first to third PCIe slot, monitor to HDMI and did some tests. Still unable to boot after a shutdown without resetting the system several times.

    Will return the card and see if I get quickly a replacement.

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array Aysberg PC Specs
    Aysberg PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG RAMPAGE VI EXTREME
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-7980XE
    Memory (part number)4 x F4-3200C14-16GTZ
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG STRIX GTX 1080 Ti GAMING OC
    Sound CardCreative SB Zx
    Monitor1x LG 34GK950G / 2 x HP DreamColor Z27x
    Storage #12 x Samsung NVMe 970 EVO 2TB / Samsung NVMe 3 x 960 EVO 1TB
    Storage #24 x SanDisk SDSSDHII960G
    CPU Coolercuplex kryos NEXT
    CaseLianLi PC-A75X
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1200i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
    Mouse Roccat KONE XTD Optical
    Headset AKG K712 + ModMic 5
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 1809
    Network RouterMikroTik CRS317-1G-16S+RM
    Accessory #1 Mellanox ConnectX-3
    Accessory #2 Asus Hyper M.2 X16 Card

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    65

    Positive thing, I got a brand new replacement card. Negative thing, the boot problems are the same Switched the card over to my x99 rig and it seems to work fine.

    So, is there any setting I can change in the BIOS, which may help with stability on the GPU during post.

    This only happens during post, if I am able to get past post and into W10 everything is 100% stable and fine. If post freezes it mostly happens during Test NVRAM / Test VGA Bios or direct after during HDD detection. If during post the system does not freeze that fast and I am able to enter the UEFI Bios, the system freezes there after some seconds If I am able to load my defaults and save/reset, the system is mostly able to boot into W10. Until the next shutdown, when everything starts again.

    As mentioned, this only happens with the Strix 1080Ti OC, my ZOTAC 1080 AMP! Extreme never had those problems. Removed all other hardware, switched PCIe slot, changed from two monitors via DP to one via HDMI. Behavior is always the same. I am clueless, but I really would like to use this card.

    Is there a beta Bios for the Rampage VI or a newer Bios for the 1080Ti?

    Rampage VI: 1004
    ASUS ROG STRIX GTX 1080 Ti GAMING OC: 86.02.39.00.23

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •