Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 57
  1. #11
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array dusank PC Specs
    dusank PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Crosshair VI Extreme
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 1800X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C14D-16GTZRX
    Graphics Card #1MSI GeForce GTX 1080 GAMING X 8GB
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster T220
    CPU CoolerCorsair H80i v2
    CaseThermaltake Armor+
    Power SupplyCorsair HX620W
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate Stealth
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Mouse Pad Razer Destructor
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    dusank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    99

    OK a summary from what I've posted above about boot reliability with 1701:

    It booted with AI Overclock Tuner set to D.O.C.P. Standard (3200MHz, 1,35V, 14-14-14-34).

    With manual 14-14-14-34-2T, 1,35V, 3200MHz it did not boot. At lower frequencies and same parameters it boots.

    At frequencies above 2800MHz and below 3200MHz
    * It does boot
    * Cache and Memory Benchmark passes without any problems.
    * Some seconds after running System Stability Test I've got a "Hardware failure detected!. Test Stopped." message.

    So it seems to be stable at 2800MHz
    Last edited by dusank; 12-21-2017 at 07:42 AM.

  2. #12
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array dusank PC Specs
    dusank PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Crosshair VI Extreme
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 1800X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C14D-16GTZRX
    Graphics Card #1MSI GeForce GTX 1080 GAMING X 8GB
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster T220
    CPU CoolerCorsair H80i v2
    CaseThermaltake Armor+
    Power SupplyCorsair HX620W
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate Stealth
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Mouse Pad Razer Destructor
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    dusank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    99

    In Taiphoon Burner XMP Parameter there are parameters tRFC1, tRFC2, tRFC4

    1usmus DRAM Calculator requires parameter tRFC(ns).

    Is tRFC same as tRFC1?

    I've input the values from Taiphoon Burner into 1usmus DRAM Calculator and calculated Safe Preset.

    So how do you suggest to proceed next?

    Should I leave settings as they are select 3200MHz and set DRAM and SOC voltage as displayed in the Rec fields?

    Or should I input other calculated values as well, perhaps all of them if possible?
    Last edited by dusank; 12-21-2017 at 08:07 AM.

  3. #13
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    121

    >Is tRFC same as tRFC1?

    yes

    >Should I leave settings as they are select 3200MHz and set DRAM and SOC voltage as displayed in the Rec fields?
    >Or should I input other calculated values as well, perhaps all of them if possible?[/QUOTE]

    enter all timings
    test proposed RTT and CAD bus settings
    set digi+ settings too
    bump core voltage a bit
    SOC and DRAM voltages are "works for most" but not all - this is only reference point

  4. #14
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array dusank PC Specs
    dusank PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Crosshair VI Extreme
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 1800X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C14D-16GTZRX
    Graphics Card #1MSI GeForce GTX 1080 GAMING X 8GB
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster T220
    CPU CoolerCorsair H80i v2
    CaseThermaltake Armor+
    Power SupplyCorsair HX620W
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate Stealth
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Mouse Pad Razer Destructor
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    dusank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    99

    Unhappy

    So I have used 1usmus Ryzen DRAM Calculator to calculate safe presets for 2800, 3200 and 3333MHz.

    I have entered tCL, tRCDWR, tRCDRD, tRP, tRAS, DRAM Voltage and SOC Voltage from the presets. Set CR to 2T. Set procODT to 53.

    For 3200MHz I have also tried setting DRAM Voltage to 1,4 and SOC Voltage to 1,15.

    After reboot I always get a BIOS message "Your memory settings have been reset due to failure to boot"

    Am I screwed with a faulty CPU IMC?

  5. #15
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array dusank PC Specs
    dusank PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Crosshair VI Extreme
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 1800X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C14D-16GTZRX
    Graphics Card #1MSI GeForce GTX 1080 GAMING X 8GB
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster T220
    CPU CoolerCorsair H80i v2
    CaseThermaltake Armor+
    Power SupplyCorsair HX620W
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate Stealth
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Mouse Pad Razer Destructor
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    dusank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    99

    Quote Originally Posted by BlackBishop View Post
    >Is tRFC same as tRFC1?

    yes

    >Should I leave settings as they are select 3200MHz and set DRAM and SOC voltage as displayed in the Rec fields?
    >Or should I input other calculated values as well, perhaps all of them if possible?

    enter all timings
    test proposed RTT and CAD bus settings
    set digi+ settings too
    bump core voltage a bit
    SOC and DRAM voltages are "works for most" but not all - this is only reference point
    So all the timings are settable on Crosshair VI Extreme?

    Please specify "a bit". Not sure which core voltages might help nor what the safe range is.

    Which 1usmus safe preset should I base my experimentation on (3200, 3333, 2800)?

    Not sure what is the best way to go about this. I am not experienced in overclocking. Just the termination block and cad bus block offer 3x4 = 12 combinations times way too many possibilities for core voltage times soc voltages times dram voltages - that yields thousands of possible settings/reboots taking weeks.

    Could you please elaborate on some methodology I might use to know how to fiddle with all these settings?
    Last edited by dusank; 12-21-2017 at 01:09 PM.

  6. #16
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    121

    You need to enter ALL things marked in red

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Untitled1.jpg 
Views:	6 
Size:	226.6 KB 
ID:	69750

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Untitled2.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	150.0 KB 
ID:	69751

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Untitled3.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	118.5 KB 
ID:	69752

    And don't forget to change boot fail count from 1 to say 4.

    >So all the timings are settable on Crosshair VI Extreme?
    yup

    >Please specify "a bit". Not sure which core voltages might help nor what the safe range is.
    CPU core voltage - for test set it fixed 1.35 and check if it changes things.

    >Which 1usmus safe preset should I base my experimentation on (3200, 3333, 2800)?
    3200

    >Just the termination block and cad bus block offer 3x4 = 12 combinations times way too many possibilities for core voltage times soc voltages
    >times dram voltages - that yields thousands of possible settings/reboots taking weeks.

    yes it does
    but at some point you know what causes instability in YOUR setup
    Last edited by BlackBishop; 12-21-2017 at 01:30 PM.

  7. #17
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array dusank PC Specs
    dusank PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Crosshair VI Extreme
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 1800X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C14D-16GTZRX
    Graphics Card #1MSI GeForce GTX 1080 GAMING X 8GB
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster T220
    CPU CoolerCorsair H80i v2
    CaseThermaltake Armor+
    Power SupplyCorsair HX620W
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate Stealth
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Mouse Pad Razer Destructor
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    dusank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    99

    Quote Originally Posted by BlackBishop View Post
    And don't forget to change boot fail count from 1 to say 4.
    Set mem over clock fail count to 4. Hope you meant that.

    So I've entered the timings from the first red block except these which I could not find anywhere:

    tFAWDLR
    tFAWSLR
    tRFC (alt)
    BGS
    BGS alt

    Set
    CPU Core Voltage to 1,35,
    DRAM Voltage to 1,4,
    SOC Voltage to 1,15.
    DRAM VBoot to 1,4.
    VDDP Voltage to 0.885 (Could not enter 855 which seems rather high!, is it an error?)
    CLDO_VDDP Voltage to 700 (Isnt 700 rather high!?)


    Entered first column (Rec) from termination block.

    Entered first column (Rec 1) from CAD_BUS block.

    Entered last block (120%, Extreme, Manual, 300)

    But the board beeps 3 times at each failed boot attempt.

    When trying to get back to Windows I lowered the RAM frequency to 2800, then 2400, then 2133 but my system froze each time. Left it at 2133 and set CPU Core Voltage back to auto for a successful boot.

    So what next? Any more suggestions?

    Thanks.

  8. #18
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array dusank PC Specs
    dusank PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Crosshair VI Extreme
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 1800X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C14D-16GTZRX
    Graphics Card #1MSI GeForce GTX 1080 GAMING X 8GB
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster T220
    CPU CoolerCorsair H80i v2
    CaseThermaltake Armor+
    Power SupplyCorsair HX620W
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate Stealth
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Mouse Pad Razer Destructor
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    dusank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    99

    So have I successfully obtained a potato-IMC filled "CPU" brick for 383 EUR? Any chance they would accept a RMA?
    Last edited by dusank; 12-21-2017 at 03:58 PM.

  9. #19
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    121

    >So I've entered the timings from the first red block except these which I could not find anywhere:
    > tFAWDLR
    > tFAWSLR

    you just set tFAW

    > BGS
    > BGS alt
    it is "bank group swap" and "bank group swap alt" - don't remember where it was - if not DRAM tab than AMD->CBS->DRAM

    > VDDP Voltage to 0.885 (Could not enter 855 which seems rather high!, is it an error?)
    it is not high - you can set 1000 there

    > CLDO_VDDP Voltage to 700 (Isnt 700 rather high!?)
    no, actually it is low - default is 950 or 975

    >Entered first column (Rec) from termination block.
    >Entered first column (Rec 1) from CAD_BUS block.
    >Entered last block (120%, Extreme, Manual, 300)
    >But the board beeps 3 times at each failed boot attempt.

    So your CPU does not like "typical" settings.
    Set RTT and CAD bus to auto for now and check if it helps.
    My best guess is CLDO_VDDP is wrong - this one is pain in the a$$ because you need to enter it with tight tolerance and requires hard reboot every time to take effect. VDDP may need to be higher.

    RAM OC is painfull and time consuming

  10. #20
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array dusank PC Specs
    dusank PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Crosshair VI Extreme
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 1800X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C14D-16GTZRX
    Graphics Card #1MSI GeForce GTX 1080 GAMING X 8GB
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster T220
    CPU CoolerCorsair H80i v2
    CaseThermaltake Armor+
    Power SupplyCorsair HX620W
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate Stealth
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Mouse Pad Razer Destructor
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    dusank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    99

    Quote Originally Posted by BlackBishop View Post
    > BGS
    > BGS alt
    it is "bank group swap" and "bank group swap alt" - don't remember where it was - if not DRAM tab than AMD->CBS->DRAM
    I found it but upon setting it to disabled and saving the settings when exiting BIOS it was not listed at all under changed values. I guess it doesn't matter that much since BGS alt probably means you can alternatively set it to enabled also. Same with tRFC alt which is nowhere to be found either.

    Quote Originally Posted by BlackBishop View Post
    > VDDP Voltage to 0.885 (Could not enter 855 which seems rather high!, is it an error?)
    it is not high - you can set 1000 there

    > CLDO_VDDP Voltage to 700 (Isnt 700 rather high!?)
    no, actually it is low - default is 950 or 975
    VDDP Voltage is set in Volts thus 855 would be imensely high

    CLDO_VDDP Voltage is set in miliVolts which I did not realize thus it appeared rather high to me ...

    Quote Originally Posted by BlackBishop View Post
    >But the board beeps 3 times at each failed boot attempt.

    So your CPU does not like "typical" settings.
    Set RTT and CAD bus to auto for now and check if it helps.
    I am experimenting at 2800Mhz right now, RTT and CAD bus work at this frequency well.


    Quote Originally Posted by BlackBishop View Post
    My best guess is CLDO_VDDP is wrong - this one is pain in the a$$ because you need to enter it with tight tolerance and requires hard reboot every time to take effect.
    I've changed it at 2800MHz without hard reset and it had immediate effect upon bootability. Are you sure about this?

    Quote Originally Posted by BlackBishop View Post
    VDDP may need to be higher.
    I've read it should be at least 1V when OCing so I am using 1V during my tests. Hope this can not break things up.

    Quote Originally Posted by BlackBishop View Post
    RAM OC is painfull and time consuming
    Hell Yeah!
    Last edited by dusank; 12-21-2017 at 08:21 PM.

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •