Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 57
  1. #21
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array dusank PC Specs
    dusank PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Crosshair VI Extreme
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 1800X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C14D-16GTZRX
    Graphics Card #1MSI GeForce GTX 1080 GAMING X 8GB
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster T220
    CPU CoolerCorsair H80i v2
    CaseThermaltake Armor+
    Power SupplyCorsair HX620W
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate Stealth
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Mouse Pad Razer Destructor
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    dusank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    99

    When I set CPU Core Voltage to 1,35V my computer freezes in Windows 10 logon screen. So I left it on auto.

    In BIOS the monitored core voltage changes between 1,246V and 1,482V.

    In CPU-Z Core Voltage is shown as 0,643V.

    Is this normal?!

  2. #22
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array dusank PC Specs
    dusank PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Crosshair VI Extreme
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 1800X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C14D-16GTZRX
    Graphics Card #1MSI GeForce GTX 1080 GAMING X 8GB
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster T220
    CPU CoolerCorsair H80i v2
    CaseThermaltake Armor+
    Power SupplyCorsair HX620W
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate Stealth
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Mouse Pad Razer Destructor
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    dusank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    99

    So I am testing at 2800MHz memory frequency. The idea is to see what works and then try to move to higher frequencies from there.

    CPU Core Voltage = Auto (since setting it to 1,35V made Windows 10 freeze)
    DRAM Voltage = 1,4V
    SOC Voltage = 1,15V
    VTT DDR Voltage = 0,75V
    Boot DRAM Voltage = 1,4V
    VDDP Voltage = 1V


    Termination block Settings
    T0 = 53 - RZQ/7 - OFF - RZQ/5
    T1 = 53 - RZQ/7 - OFF - RZQ/6
    T2 = 48 - RZQ/7 - OFF - RZQ/7

    CAD_BUS block Settings
    CB1 = 30 / 30 / 30 / 30
    CB3 = 20 / 20 / 20 / 20

    CLDO_VDDP Voltage Settings
    CV1 = 700
    CV2 = 425
    CV3 = 866

    Results:

    T2 CB3 CV1 Reboot
    T2 CB3 CV2 Hardware Failure Detected (SST-AIDA64)
    T2 CB3 CV3 Reboot

    T2 CB1 CV1 15minutes OK (SST-AIDA64)
    T2 CB1 CV2 15minutes OK (SST-AIDA64)
    T2 CB1 CV3 15minutes OK (SST-AIDA64)


    T1 CB3 CV1 Reboot
    T1 CB3 CV2 15minutes OK (SST-AIDA64)
    T1 CB3 CV3 15minutes OK (SST-AIDA64)

    T1 CB1 CV1 25minutes OK (SST-AIDA64)
    T1 CB1 CV2 15minutes OK (SST-AIDA64)
    T1 CB1 CV3 15minutes OK (SST-AIDA64)


    T0 CB3 CV1 15minutes OK (SST-AIDA64)
    T0 CB3 CV2 15minutes OK (SST-AIDA64)
    T0 CB3 CV3 11 hours 20minutes OK (SST-AIDA64)

    T0 CB1 CV1 15minutes OK (SST-AIDA64)
    T0 CB1 CV2 15minutes OK (SST-AIDA64)
    T0 CB1 CV3 15minutes OK (SST-AIDA64)

    The winners at 2800MHz are: T0 CB1
    Last edited by dusank; 12-22-2017 at 10:02 AM.

  3. #23
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array dusank PC Specs
    dusank PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Crosshair VI Extreme
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 1800X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C14D-16GTZRX
    Graphics Card #1MSI GeForce GTX 1080 GAMING X 8GB
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster T220
    CPU CoolerCorsair H80i v2
    CaseThermaltake Armor+
    Power SupplyCorsair HX620W
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate Stealth
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Mouse Pad Razer Destructor
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    dusank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    99

    Testing at 2933MHz:

    T0 CB1 CV3 20minutes OK (SST-AIDA64)

    Testing at 3066MHz:

    T0 CB1 CV3 2hours 10minutes OK (SST-AIDA64)

    Testing at 3200MHz:

    Board beeps 3 times.

    Is there anything more I can try to make 3200MHz work?

    AFAIK adjusting CLDO_VDDP should not help unless the board boots up at 3200MHz. It just solves instability, right?
    Last edited by dusank; 12-22-2017 at 01:41 PM.

  4. #24
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array dusank PC Specs
    dusank PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Crosshair VI Extreme
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 1800X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C14D-16GTZRX
    Graphics Card #1MSI GeForce GTX 1080 GAMING X 8GB
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster T220
    CPU CoolerCorsair H80i v2
    CaseThermaltake Armor+
    Power SupplyCorsair HX620W
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate Stealth
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Mouse Pad Razer Destructor
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    dusank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    99

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	cachemem-BIOS3008-1usmus-safe-1533.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	19.6 KB 
ID:	69772

  5. #25
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    121

    >AFAIK adjusting CLDO_VDDP should not help unless the board boots up at 3200MHz. It just solves instability, right?

    it helps moving memory hole (frequency that does NOT WORK) sideways
    so if you can't boot at 3200 but 2933 and 3333 or 3466 work that may indicate your hole is right there
    if it boots but is heavily unstable it could mean you are on stability border

    and this voltage needs to be precise - optimal window is few mV wide

  6. #26
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array dusank PC Specs
    dusank PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Crosshair VI Extreme
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 1800X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C14D-16GTZRX
    Graphics Card #1MSI GeForce GTX 1080 GAMING X 8GB
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster T220
    CPU CoolerCorsair H80i v2
    CaseThermaltake Armor+
    Power SupplyCorsair HX620W
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate Stealth
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Mouse Pad Razer Destructor
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    dusank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    99

    Somewhere I read that the optimal values for most users are between 800 and 900 and one should try increments of 10.

    Do you think this is reasonable? Do you have any other suggestions on how to best scan the CLDO_VDDP range for an optimal setting?

    BTW: what is the minimum reasonable and maximum reasonable value for CLDO_VDDP?

  7. #27
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    121

    >BTW: what is the minimum reasonable and maximum reasonable value for CLDO_VDDP?[/QUOTE]

    for some as low as 425 works well, some use 975 or more

    it is really hard to advise without having physical access to hardware

    best what you could do is to try different CPU - OC is not guaranteed so some silicon will fail to OC above AMD specs

    you are sure you put memory in proper slots, right?

  8. #28
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array dusank PC Specs
    dusank PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Crosshair VI Extreme
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 1800X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C14D-16GTZRX
    Graphics Card #1MSI GeForce GTX 1080 GAMING X 8GB
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster T220
    CPU CoolerCorsair H80i v2
    CaseThermaltake Armor+
    Power SupplyCorsair HX620W
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate Stealth
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Mouse Pad Razer Destructor
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    dusank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    99

    I've installed the modules in DIMM_A2 and DIMM_B2 as the manual recommends.

  9. #29
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array dusank PC Specs
    dusank PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Crosshair VI Extreme
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 1800X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C14D-16GTZRX
    Graphics Card #1MSI GeForce GTX 1080 GAMING X 8GB
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster T220
    CPU CoolerCorsair H80i v2
    CaseThermaltake Armor+
    Power SupplyCorsair HX620W
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate Stealth
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Mouse Pad Razer Destructor
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    dusank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    99

    So I've tested all CLDO_VDDP Voltage values between 400 and 1000 in 10 increments.

    => "Your memory settings have been reset due to failure to boot"

    Can we conclude that the memory hole is not the problem causing 3200MHz to not boot?


    After finishing my tests (in 61 power on/off cycles) I set back CLDO_VDDP and frequency back to 3066MHz and now the board does not even boot at 3066MHz anymore! => "Your memory settings have been reset due to failure to boot"

    What could have been gone wrong? Is there anyway to get at least 3066MHz bootability back?! Do I have to "train" the board somehow to accept 3066MHz again?

  10. #30
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array dusank PC Specs
    dusank PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Crosshair VI Extreme
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 1800X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C14D-16GTZRX
    Graphics Card #1MSI GeForce GTX 1080 GAMING X 8GB
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster T220
    CPU CoolerCorsair H80i v2
    CaseThermaltake Armor+
    Power SupplyCorsair HX620W
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate Stealth
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Mouse Pad Razer Destructor
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    dusank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    99

    Exclamation

    Have I bricked my CPU or Motherboard?!

    My memory is not booting up at 3066MHz, 2933MHz, 2800Mhz even at 2666MHz it needed 2 attempts.

    Everything worked flawlessly for days full of reboots and configuration changes! Then a bit of experimenting with CLDO_VDDP and nothing works anymore!

    Anyone has any idea what this might be caused by and how to fix it?

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •