Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Need help, Asus zenith extreme + samsung nvme 960 pro.

    Hi !!!
    Im tired trying install samsung 960 pro into a asus zenith extreme.

    Someone with the same Mobo and a samsung nvme (or another) , can tell me if in the bios / advanced / onboard devices configuration , appears the nvme ?? conected in M.2_1 or into Dimm.2_m.2_1 or into dimm.2_m2_2 ??

    If the nvme appears in the bios , how you install it ? or what bios you used?

    i try a lot of configurations and bios, and never see the nvme in the bios, only recognized in boot section, but in the ezmode sata information, never apperars. It say M.2_1 N/A
    Dimm.2_m.2_1 N/A
    dimm.2_m2_2 N/A

    and no options nvme configurations appear into the advanced mode.

    Someone can help me please. I only need if someone see the nvme into de bios ezmode sata info or into onboard devices...and if you can see them, tell my the bios you are using, and how you install it. thanks a lot.

    i dont know if the mobo is broken , or is a bios problem. I try to conect in another m2 slots, (dimm2 , m2_1...) and not appear. I used another nvme and never appears.
    i tried it with 2 different samsung 960 pro and nothin change.

    In my bios i only see that;
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	9828360img20171220141726.jpg 
Views:	15 
Size:	516.7 KB 
ID:	69748

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	9828362img20171220141820.jpg 
Views:	6 
Size:	555.1 KB 
ID:	69749

    thanks a lot.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    132

    Hi
    NVMe is not SATA so you will never find it in "ezmode sata information" :-)

    I have 960 Pro + Evo in the DIMM.2 riser. All you need to do is set the desired order in boot config.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array CaptainFist PC Specs
    CaptainFist PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Zenith Extreme
    Processor1950X
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780ti
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia 780ti
    Graphics Card #3Nvidia GTX 580
    Monitor3 x Asus VG236
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro
    CPU CoolerEK-Supremacy EVO Threadripper Ediiton
    CaseLian Li 8500D
    Power SupplyBeQuit Black Power 1200w
    Keyboard Logitech G19S
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset Razer TIAMAT 7.1
    Mouse Pad Logitech
    OS Windows 10 x64 up to Date
    Network RouterAVM Fritzbox 7490 / 6490

    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    Yep,

    NVMe Show up only under boot device.

    Simply disconnect all other Hdds to install Windows...

    Don´t do a Firmware Update to your 960 pro......

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Dimitrios1971 PC Specs
    Dimitrios1971 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)GX700VO
    MotherboardASUS ROG ZENITH EXTREME ALPHA
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen Threadripper 2950X
    Memory (part number)F4-4000C18Q2-64TZR (3333MHz)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix GeForce® GTX 1080 Ti OC-Edition
    Graphics Card #2ROG Strix GeForce® GTX 1080 Ti OC-Edition
    MonitorROG Swift PG348Q Gaming
    Storage #13 x Samsung SSD NVMe 960 PRO 1TB Raid0
    Storage #22 x HGST Ultrastar He8 Raid_1
    CPU CoolerCOOLER MASTER MasterLiquid ML360 RGB TR4 Edition
    CaseCOOLERMASTER COSMOS C700P
    Power SupplyASUS ROG THOR 1200P
    Keyboard ROG Strix Flare RGB
    Mouse ROG Strix Evolve, ROG Gladius II
    Headset ROG Strix Fusion 700 & ROG Strix Wireless
    Mouse Pad ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers ROG Strix Magnus
    OS Win10_x64
    Network RouterFRITZ!Box 6590 Cable
    Accessory #1 BW-16D1H-U PRO
    Accessory #2 OC Panel I
    Accessory #3 ROG Headset Holder
    Dimitrios1971's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    19
    Posts
    87

    Quote Originally Posted by CaptainFist View Post

    Don´t do a Firmware Update to your 960 pro......


    t's said to be older than the 2B6QCXP7 and not newer than the 3B6QCXP7.
    By the way, Samsung has taken back the 3B6QCXP7 from homepage

    @jacklolita
    and after the installation please do not install the Samsung NVMe Driver because the system gets a blueschrenn after the restart. Leave the AMD / windows standart drivers

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Hello thanks for the answers , but when you install nvme , it should appear in advance / onboard devices and is not appear. only in boot menu.

    if you see in the next screenshot ( youtube screenshot ) and in the video, he install de nvme in asus bios and they appear and are recognized in the onboard devices menu.


    someone in the onboard devices menu cam see tue m2 devices??

    in my bios not appear...

    if you can see them, please tell me the bios you are using please.


    thanks!!

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    https://youtu.be/bxYUg-IBvBc

    in this video yoy can see it appears in the advanced/onboard devices

    nvme should appear in thi menu.

    you can see nvme or not?
    if you can see it please tell me thw bios yoy are using
    and how you install them please

    thanks a lot
    i dont have pch setup options in advanced menu, is normal?

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    132

    Video is for a Maximus motherboard and not Zenith Extreme.
    Ignore what you see in that video, if your device is present in the boot configuration, you are good to go!

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Dimitrios1971 PC Specs
    Dimitrios1971 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)GX700VO
    MotherboardASUS ROG ZENITH EXTREME ALPHA
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen Threadripper 2950X
    Memory (part number)F4-4000C18Q2-64TZR (3333MHz)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix GeForce® GTX 1080 Ti OC-Edition
    Graphics Card #2ROG Strix GeForce® GTX 1080 Ti OC-Edition
    MonitorROG Swift PG348Q Gaming
    Storage #13 x Samsung SSD NVMe 960 PRO 1TB Raid0
    Storage #22 x HGST Ultrastar He8 Raid_1
    CPU CoolerCOOLER MASTER MasterLiquid ML360 RGB TR4 Edition
    CaseCOOLERMASTER COSMOS C700P
    Power SupplyASUS ROG THOR 1200P
    Keyboard ROG Strix Flare RGB
    Mouse ROG Strix Evolve, ROG Gladius II
    Headset ROG Strix Fusion 700 & ROG Strix Wireless
    Mouse Pad ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers ROG Strix Magnus
    OS Win10_x64
    Network RouterFRITZ!Box 6590 Cable
    Accessory #1 BW-16D1H-U PRO
    Accessory #2 OC Panel I
    Accessory #3 ROG Headset Holder
    Dimitrios1971's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    19
    Posts
    87

    How to Set Up RAID on Your Asus Zenith Extreme & AMD Ryze Threadripper (nvme, SSD, HDD)

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	171222143858.jpg 
Views:	6 
Size:	138.2 KB 
ID:	69813
    NVMe and SSD drive RAID installation AMD Ryzen Thread Ripper on ASUS Zenith Extreme With BIOS version 0801 or bios version 0902
    Know that just as windows needs to be rebooted after changing certain settings, so does your BIOS.

    Start the computer with F2
    Launch CSM: Enabled
    Boot Device Control: UEFI Only
    Boot from Network Devices: UEFI Driver First*
    Boot from Storage Devices: UEFI Driver First*
    Boot from PCI-E Expansion Devices: UEFI Driver First*
    In the advanced tab do NOT set SATA to RAID. Leave it ACHI
    In the advanced tab find the AMD PBS setting and change it to RAID
    In the advanced tab you should see the RAIDXpert Raid Configuration option now.


    I can't give you exact steps for this, but you may need to delete any arrays, and Please do not initialize the physical disks to create the array....create the array to Both modus...Once you have created your array, move to the next step.

    Reboot
    Start the computer with F2
    Boot from windows USB and begin installation.
    On the installation screen where you choose your boot drive, you won't see the array yet. Click on Load Drivers and navigate to your drivers USB to raid-windows-driver-9_01_00_018/ WTx64 (http://www.mediafire.com/file/a2dln7..._01_00_018.zip). You will have to load 3 drivers You have 3 folders and you want to load 3 drivers
    Go to first folder RCBottom and install rcbottom.inf
    go to the second folder RCConfig and install rcraid.infto
    (you should see now you will see 2 big and 2 small ones Partition a Hard Drive in screen ..or 3 if in system 3 have NVMe.... do not be afraid)
    the third RCConfig and install rcnfg
    Now you should see the raid array. Install windows on the array.
    Once Windows has booted, Windows loads now. Please install only the drivers that I have loaded here. Be careful when installing other chipset or RAID drivers

    Well, before I forget, please do not install the Samsung NVMe Driver if you're ferich ... otherwise have a bluescrenn after restar

    And another thing, Raid to create after this video (https://youtu.be/csiqG_rkSWI) you can forget ...for bios bootable raid

    Please install only these driver and only this utility
    http://www.mediafire.com/?7rnh3rgo4o3l9





    tell me if it is good


    Good luck!
    Last edited by Dimitrios1971; 12-23-2017 at 06:29 AM.

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    i have just got myself this motherboard and having the same problems with Samsung 960 EVO. NVME is listed in the boot order but no NVME settings. i have updated the bios to 0804 and that seems to not have fixed the problem. i am intending to use Unraid OS on this pc to make 2 gaming pcs.

    Any help would be great.

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array spadizzle PC Specs
    spadizzle PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VI and Zenith Extreme
    ProcessorRyzen 1700x and Threadripper 1950x
    Memory (part number)G-Skill F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX 1080
    Graphics Card #2Asus GTX 1080
    Sound Cardbuilt-in
    MonitorROG PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 NVMe
    Storage #2Samsung 950 pro SSD
    CPU CoolerH115i
    CaseCorsair AIR 540
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard G910
    Mouse G903
    Mouse Pad Powerplay
    OS Win10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetgear
    spadizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    54

    Lightbulb NVMe

    As you can see they are not showing for me either, but the 2 that I have installed are their. Like others have stated on this thread, disconnect all other drives and have only the NVMe's installed and install windows from usb.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	171228023511.jpg 
Views:	7 
Size:	147.7 KB 
ID:	69963

    As for RAID setup, go to AMD PBS under "advanced menu" and select the raid option. once you save and reboot their will be RAID expert at the very bottom of the advanced section. Also, I did have issues getting that menu to show up. If I remember right, after selecting the AMD PBS/raid option, I then saved the setup and shutdown the PC all the way. Either by disconnecting the power cord or turning the PSU power switch to off.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	171228022545.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	90.2 KB 
ID:	69965

    Next one shows where the Raid config is.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	171228025426.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	104.8 KB 
ID:	69966

    Don't use the EZ mode in BIOS, advanced mode all the way.
    Last edited by spadizzle; 12-28-2017 at 07:59 AM. Reason: Pics

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •