Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Router Upgrade?

  1. #1
    ROG Member Array SuperGriffinz PC Specs
    SuperGriffinz PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G20CB-PH017T
    MotherboardIntel H170
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i7-6700 4.0GHz (HD Graphics 530)
    Memory (part number)DDR4 2133MHz 8G
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA GeForce GTX1070 8GB (1HDMI,1DVI,3DP)
    Sound CardASUS STRIX SOAR 7.1 PCIe
    Monitor27" ASUS ROG PG278Q Black 2560X1440, 1ms GTG, 144Hz, WQHD LED Backlight LCD G-SYNC 3D Gaming Monitor
    Storage #1128GB SATA SSD
    Storage #21TB SATA Hard Drive (7200RPM)
    Case9.5L Case
    Power Supply230W (PC) & 180W (GPU)
    Keyboard Asus Cerberus LN70343
    Mouse ASUS Cerberus Ambidextrous Wired 6-button 2500 DPI Optical Gaming Mouse
    Headset ASUS CineVibe Black Optimal Bass Vibration Gaming Headse
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath XL LN72246
    Headset/Speakers Razer Leviathan 5.1 Elite
    OS Windows 10 64-bit
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC1200 Dual-Band 2.4 GHz / 5 GHz Router w/ 4 External dbi Antenna

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Question Router Upgrade?

    Should I get the new Republic of Gamers Rapture GT-AC5300 or keep with my Netgear Nighthawk AC-1900 Dual Band WiFi router. The router has 256 MB of RAM and its the family router. While I have my own personal router with the Ethernet cable hook up to my computer. The family has less lag with this router but we have 2 PS4's, 2 Xbox One's, 2 Laptops, 5 Phones and etc. We still have lag once and a while. but does any body think that it would little to no lag with the Rapture?

  2. #2
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    The router isn’t the only part of the equation. Who is your ISP and what kind of ping times are you getting?*
    Run Speedtest on Ocala website. If you have cable internet unfortunately what your neighbors are doing can cause issues as it a shared line back to The headend and it doesn’t matter what tier you have.

    This is probably one of the best things about having fiber all the way to the house. You have your own channel all the way back to the headend. *

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Sprayingmango PC Specs
    Sprayingmango PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Late 2017 MacBook Pro 15"
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme X299
    Processori9 7900X
    Memory (part number)G-Skill Trident Z RGB 3600 32GB
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 2080Ti XC Ultra
    Graphics Card #2EVGA 2080Ti XC Ultra
    MonitorTriple Asus PG27UQ G-Sync
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo 2TB NVME
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Evo 1TB NVME
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i Pro RGB
    CaseCorsair 1000D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G Pro Lightspeed
    Headset No...just no. Sennheiser HD650s w/ Schitt Stack
    Mouse Pad Logitech PowerPlay
    Headset/Speakers Denon 7.2 Atmos w/ Polk Signature Series
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterAsus Rog Rapture GT-5300

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    177

    Considering that ASUS has End Of Lifed the GT-AC5300 I would say do NOT buy any ASUS Router. I bought one and they have not released a firmware update for it since August 28th, which is an absolute joke. The KRACK fix has not been rolled out and they don't seem to care at all about updating the router. I regret blowing $450 on it.

    I would say get something from Synology or even Netgear....from a company that gives a **** about it's customers and actually updates things.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    172

    Don't know if this particular model has Merlin WRT but i am pretty happy with my ac68u which is supported. Constant updates and more features.

    If this one have it (just check Merlin site) and if the design is what you want to pay for...

    Edit:
    Just checked for you.
    No support (too much customized) and no plan to add it so i would highly suggest another one.
    Last edited by namoi; 12-22-2017 at 09:51 PM.

  5. #5
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    Quote Originally Posted by Sprayingmango View Post
    Considering that ASUS has End Of Lifed the GT-AC5300 I would say do NOT buy any ASUS Router. I bought one and they have not released a firmware update for it since August 28th, which is an absolute joke. The KRACK fix has not been rolled out and they don't seem to care at all about updating the router. I regret blowing $450 on it.

    I would say get something from Synology or even Netgear....from a company that gives a **** about it's customers and actually updates things.
    WOW, Tell us how you really feel.....Dont hold back!
    Where did you see an EOL notice? This is the latest version over the older AC5300 that pretty much only has more flash memory and more ram. Last firmware update was about 4 months ago. Not releasing firmware repeatedly is actually a good thing. Its only done to address known issues that can be repeated. As for any KRACK fix if you havent noticed ASUS has a lot of products that they are currently working on vulerabliltiy issues. They are rolling out, some are fixed others are still in the pipeline. I ran the previous Version AC5300 with no worries since it first hit the shelves unitl recently when I went with a 10GBe network and needed a routed with a SFP+ port to connect to my 10GBe switch and bought a Netgear X10 that is nowhere near as customisable as the ASUS routers. The UI and settings are very basic and the Qos is a joke and slows down everything. It doesnt even have a decent parental control where you can pick a device and set hours for it. Take the settings on the ASUS AC5300, remove about 80% of it and there you have the Netgear flagship. If ASUS had a router with SFP+ thats the route I would have taken. FWIW the Netgear flagship just updated its firmware for the first time to address vulnerabilites TODAY!! This is the first update since it was launched in March. AC5300 GT has released two updates with another pending.

    Synology routers are simple and to the point, same hardware as a Netgear.

    I am very interest in this EOL notice though, can you please post a link to it?

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array stefan063 PC Specs
    stefan063 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)EUROCOM X6W
    MotherboardIntel Z170
    Processori7-6700K
    Memory (part number)32GB
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA GTX980
    Graphics Card #2None
    Graphics Card #3None
    Graphics Card #4None
    Sound CardRealtek
    Monitor17" LG
    Storage #1256GB Samsung EVO 960 NvME
    Storage #2256GB Samsung EVO 960 NvME
    CPU CoolerStock
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset Logitech G933
    Mouse Pad Logitech
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterASUS GT-AC5300

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    95

    Shame

    Come on Asus! This is SHAME ON YOU. Haven't updated two of most expensive routers!? REALLY! How long do we need to wait??? I have GT-RT5300 by the way with a lots of bugs!

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array danoz0r PC Specs
    danoz0r PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorRYZEN 1800X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB 32GB Kit 3600 F4-3600C16Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 1080 TI OC
    MonitorAcer X34A Predator GSYNC
    Storage #1Samsung 960evo 500gb
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i Pro
    CaseCorsair Crystal 570X Black Mirror RGB
    Power SupplyCorsair HXi 1000
    Keyboard Razer Chroma v2
    Mouse Razer Naga Trinity
    Headset SteelSeries Arctic Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Steelseries XXL
    Headset/Speakers Razer Nommo
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterAsus RoG Rapture GT-5300
    Accessory #1 ASUS PCE-AC88
    Accessory #2 HUE Led strip

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    21

    I went from RT-AC5300 to GT-AC5300. Big mistake...
    Had 2 GT-AC5300 both with defect 5ghz bands. Hoping a new firmware will fix it. Whenever it does come out.
    How the router is now i won't recommend anyone to buy it, too flawed.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array stefan063 PC Specs
    stefan063 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)EUROCOM X6W
    MotherboardIntel Z170
    Processori7-6700K
    Memory (part number)32GB
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA GTX980
    Graphics Card #2None
    Graphics Card #3None
    Graphics Card #4None
    Sound CardRealtek
    Monitor17" LG
    Storage #1256GB Samsung EVO 960 NvME
    Storage #2256GB Samsung EVO 960 NvME
    CPU CoolerStock
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset Logitech G933
    Mouse Pad Logitech
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterASUS GT-AC5300

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    95

    Quote Originally Posted by danoz0r View Post
    I went from RT-AC5300 to GT-AC5300. Big mistake...
    Had 2 GT-AC5300 both with defect 5ghz bands. Hoping a new firmware will fix it. Whenever it does come out.
    How the router is now i won't recommend anyone to buy it, too flawed.
    I made same mistake my friend...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •