Results 1 to 8 of 8

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Exclamation Rog Crosshair Vi not getting past Post

    Hey Guys,

    So, was playing a game then the system hardlocks, I reset the the PC, and the Bios screen appears, but the bios display was corrupted, i reset it again.

    This time it is stuck in post repeating the following Q-codes,

    35, 02 , d3 , ad


    Video link of it happening
    https://www.youtube.com/edit?o=U&video_id=fdK_YVBZFYA

    I have tried clearing the CMOS and its made no difference.

    I have also tried the USB stick method, the blue button flashes for a second or to and stays on.

    So is this RMA time?

    Help very much appreciated

  2. #2
    ROG Junior Member Array techbird PC Specs
    techbird PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)MSI Apache
    MotherboardCosshair VI Hero, Prime X370-Pro
    ProcessorRyzen R7 1800X
    Memory (part number)G.SKill F4-3200C16Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRYX RX-480 O8G on Crosshair
    Graphics Card #2Sapphire r9-285 on Prime
    Sound Cardintegrated in motherboard
    MonitorLG 55 inch SMART 3D TV
    Storage #1OCZ/Toshiba RD480 512 GB NVMe
    Storage #2WD Black 1TBX 4, 2TB, 6TB X3
    CPU Coolercorsair H115i, NZXT Kraken X62
    CaseThermaltake Chaser MK-1
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i, OCZ ZX-1000
    Keyboard Logiteh Orin G910
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z506
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterD-Link
    Accessory #1 TP-Link 8 port Switch
    Accessory #2 Surfboard DOCSYS 3.0 cable MOdem
    Accessory #3 Xfinity 2000VA UPS

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    boot looping before entering bios

    I could not access your video, but it sounds like what happened to me.

    I was running an 1800X on 1401 bios OCed to 4.18 GH with 2 sticks of 3200 MHz hynix A-Die memory with no real problems except it would restart every 3-4 days for no reason. It ran this way from the time 1401 was posted on ASUS's website until 3 weeks ago, and then it would hardly ever make it through a post.

    Once in a while it would make it into Bios and would not report the correct amount of memory or it would say that my Strix rx480 was at native 8X mode without any other pci-e slots in use. And would crash with in 5-10 minutes and I would have to wait some time an hour or more before I could complete a post . CPU temps were never observed over 60 degrees though.

    I tried everything. different GPU card, memory, mother board (Prime X370 Pro), Power Supply finally i bit the bullet and tried a different Ryzen CPU (1700 this time). I think it could have been my thermal paste I had used some arctic silver 5. When I went to clean it off it was much more difficult to clean off than it should have been. I put the new CPU, in with Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut, on my C6H and all was fine after that, even after getting it OCed to 4.0 GHz, on the 1701 Bios.

    I have not retried my original 1800X CPU yet with fresh thermal compound, as the I need to get more thermal grizzly. I will say this though It has not experienced any issues since I got it back up except the pci-e slot X4_3 and the X1_1 through x1-3 will not function at all, but they did not work before ether.

    I am planning to move to a Threadripper and a Zenith Extreme X399 in about 4 months hopefully with the extra pci-e lanes I can get my pci-e usb 3.0 card working and finally have all the front panel USB ports working.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array dusank PC Specs
    dusank PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Crosshair VI Extreme
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 1800X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C14D-16GTZRX
    Graphics Card #1MSI GeForce GTX 1080 GAMING X 8GB
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster T220
    CPU CoolerCorsair H80i v2
    CaseThermaltake Armor+
    Power SupplyCorsair HX620W
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate Stealth
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Mouse Pad Razer Destructor
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    dusank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    99

    Try flashbacking the BIOS per instructions here: http://www.overclockers.com/forums/s...ero-BIOS-Brick

    You probably have the wrong filename or inserted the stick in the wrong port according to your description.

    If you chave Crosshair VI Hero use "c6h.cap" as filename.
    If you chave Crosshair VI Extreme use "c6e.cap" as filename.
    If you chave Crosshair VI Hero Wifi you must find out the correct filename to use.

    If your flashback was successful then after cca. 3 minutes the button light stops flashing and goes off.

    Good Luck!
    Last edited by dusank; 12-23-2017 at 06:40 PM.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array syldon PC Specs
    syldon PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus crosshair VII
    Processor2700X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z 32GB DDR4 F4-4000C18Q-32GTZKW running at 3466 14-14-14-28
    Graphics Card #1MSI 1080
    Graphics Card #2MSI 1080
    Sound Cardon board
    MonitorAsus PB287Q X 2
    Storage #1480gb M2 samsung m961
    Storage #21tb 850 evo and 2tb 850 evo
    CPU Coolercorsair hydro 110i
    Casegeneric
    Power Supplytitanium 1600w platinum
    Keyboard corsair strafe
    Mouse logitech g700
    Headset logitech g930
    Mouse Pad corsair duo
    OS Windows 10 po
    Network RouterVirgin media super hub 2
    Accessory #1 https://imgur.com/KRQSu70
    syldon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    198

    Remove the CMOS battery and unplug the system from the wall for 5 minutes. Reinsert the battery, then use the "flashback" method to reinstall the bios revision.

    I would recommend the most recent beta release with the agesa 1.1.0.0 from Elmor. It is looking quite good.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array Tunza PC Specs
    Tunza PC Specs
    MotherboardCroshair 7 Hero WIFI
    ProcessorRyzen 7 2700X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14-8GTZR (4 dimms @ 3200mHzC14
    Graphics Card #1ROG STRIX Vega 64
    MonitorMSI Optix MPG27CQ
    Storage #11tb Samsung 960EVO
    Storage #21TB Samsung 850 EVO
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i V2
    CaseFractal Design Meshify C
    Power SupplyCorsair RMi 1000
    Keyboard Corsair K68
    Mouse Corsair DarkCoreSE
    Mouse Pad Seriously?
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterD-Link DIR-890L
    Tunza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    Same issue! 2700X CH7

    Hey all.

    I am having the same issue on my hero 7 with a 2700x, gskill 3200 b-dies and vega 64. same codes as you all have but the manual does not tell you much. it is very random on when it happens. It can even render the 'safe boot' button useless. I am on the latest BIOS 0804. I also had the iss on the 600 and 700 bios however.

    Did you really think it was your CPU?! I hope not . Is there a way to tell? HWinfo has occasionally thrown strange numbers at me (eg told me some cores maxxed out at over 6.0ghz) but I assumed it was the software been silly.

    Any updates you guys (or ASUS) have on this issue would be much appreciated.

    Regards,

    Tunza

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Mr. Fox PC Specs
    Mr. Fox PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)- NA -
    MotherboardEVGA X299 Dark
    Processori9-7960X @ 5.2GHz
    Memory (part number)32GB Corsair LPX DDR4-4000 @ 4200
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080 Ti xC2 Ultra Gaming
    MonitorPredator XB271HU 2560x1440 165Hz
    Storage #1512GB 960 Pro x 2 (OS Boot Drives)
    Storage #2960GB Samung Enterprise NVMe SSD x 2 | 2TB HDD
    CPU CoolerDual 360MM XPSC Rads+1/2 HP Water Chiller
    CasePraxis WetBench
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA P2 1600W
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
    Mouse SteelSeries Sensei Wireless
    Headset Skullcandy Crusher Wireless S6CRW
    Mouse Pad Black Anodized Aluminum
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z506 5.1 Speaker System
    OS W10 Ent LTSB 2016 / W7 Ultimate (Dual Boot)
    Accessory #1 Hailea HC-500A 1/2HP~790Watt Water Chiller
    Mr. Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    41
    Posts
    126

    In case it helps anyone that is trying to use BIOS Flashback and find it is not working, I struggled with this as well. The documentation is not very clear. It failed every time I tried it.

    What I discovered was you have to format the USB stick as FAT (aka FAT16). FAT32 and NTFS will not work. FAT only supports up to 4GB. So, as soon as I found that out, grabbed a 4GB USB 2.0 stick and formatted it as FAT, USB Flashback works every time for me now.
    Punisher | EVGA X299 Dark | i9-7960X @ 5.2GHz | 32GB Corsair LPX 4000 @ 4200 | EVGA 2080 TI xC2 HydroCopper Block
    EVGA SuperNOVA 1600W P2 | 2x 512GB 960 Pro / 2x 1TB Enterprise NVMe / 2TB HDD / 4TB HDD | W10 / W7 (Dual Boot)
    2x XSPC RX360 | Praxis WetBench | Hailea HC-500A (1/2HP~790W) Water Chiller | Results:
    http://hwbot.org/user/mr._fox/

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array dusank PC Specs
    dusank PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Crosshair VI Extreme
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 1800X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C14D-16GTZRX
    Graphics Card #1MSI GeForce GTX 1080 GAMING X 8GB
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster T220
    CPU CoolerCorsair H80i v2
    CaseThermaltake Armor+
    Power SupplyCorsair HX620W
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate Stealth
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Mouse Pad Razer Destructor
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    dusank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    99

    Quote Originally Posted by mr_fox_rox View Post
    In case it helps anyone that is trying to use BIOS Flashback and find it is not working, I struggled with this as well. The documentation is not very clear. It failed every time I tried it.

    What I discovered was you have to format the USB stick as FAT (aka FAT16). FAT32 and NTFS will not work. FAT only supports up to 4GB. So, as soon as I found that out, grabbed a 4GB USB 2.0 stick and formatted it as FAT, USB Flashback works every time for me now.
    A FAT32 formatted 64GB USB stick works just fine for me.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Mr. Fox PC Specs
    Mr. Fox PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)- NA -
    MotherboardEVGA X299 Dark
    Processori9-7960X @ 5.2GHz
    Memory (part number)32GB Corsair LPX DDR4-4000 @ 4200
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080 Ti xC2 Ultra Gaming
    MonitorPredator XB271HU 2560x1440 165Hz
    Storage #1512GB 960 Pro x 2 (OS Boot Drives)
    Storage #2960GB Samung Enterprise NVMe SSD x 2 | 2TB HDD
    CPU CoolerDual 360MM XPSC Rads+1/2 HP Water Chiller
    CasePraxis WetBench
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA P2 1600W
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
    Mouse SteelSeries Sensei Wireless
    Headset Skullcandy Crusher Wireless S6CRW
    Mouse Pad Black Anodized Aluminum
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z506 5.1 Speaker System
    OS W10 Ent LTSB 2016 / W7 Ultimate (Dual Boot)
    Accessory #1 Hailea HC-500A 1/2HP~790Watt Water Chiller
    Mr. Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    41
    Posts
    126

    Quote Originally Posted by dusank View Post
    A FAT32 formatted 64GB USB stick works just fine for me.
    Weird. Maybe there is something different with an AMD system than Intel.

    BIOS Flashback refuses to read from FAT32 for me. The Flashback button flashes three times and then turns steady blue and the activity light on the USB stick stops working. Nothing happens. I tried 7 different USB sticks as well. Then I stumbled on the information Google searching that said it has to be be FAT (FAT16) and as soon as I formatted it in FAT format Flashback works perfectly.
    Punisher | EVGA X299 Dark | i9-7960X @ 5.2GHz | 32GB Corsair LPX 4000 @ 4200 | EVGA 2080 TI xC2 HydroCopper Block
    EVGA SuperNOVA 1600W P2 | 2x 512GB 960 Pro / 2x 1TB Enterprise NVMe / 2TB HDD / 4TB HDD | W10 / W7 (Dual Boot)
    2x XSPC RX360 | Praxis WetBench | Hailea HC-500A (1/2HP~790W) Water Chiller | Results:
    http://hwbot.org/user/mr._fox/

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •