Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array SteveO PC Specs
    SteveO PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus X Hero
    Processori7-8700K
    Memory (part number)TF1D416G3200HC16CDC01
    Graphics Card #1ASUS 1080- STRIX
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorASUS ROG SWIFT PG279Q 27"
    Storage #1XPG SX8200 PCIe NVMe Gen3x4 M.2 2280 480GB SSD
    Storage #2Seagate Hybrid Drive ST2000DX
    CPU CoolerCooler Master MasterLiquid Lite ML240L RGB AIO
    CaseRosewill Nighthawk 117
    Power SupplyCORSAIR RMx Series RM650X
    Keyboard Corsair Vengance K90
    OS Win 10

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    EZ Tuning Wizard not OC'ing?

    Hey all,

    I am not a hardcore OCer, but I am curious about something.

    Relevant System Specs:
    Maximus X Hero
    i7-8700K
    AIO water cooler, 2 fan (CoolerMaster)
    Using XMS settings

    I run the EZ Tuner in BIOS and it shows a target speed if 5.1 Ghz. CPU-Z shows it rock steady at 3.7 even if I hit it with the Intel Burn Test.

    I have checked the power settings and set it to Performance. Turbo is enabled, SpeedStep is enabled.

    I know I have seen it up at 5.1 in CPU-Z, but that was during the building and switching to a SSD as a boot drive, so who knows what may have changed since then.

    Also, what does the TPU setting have to do with EZ Tuning? I have set that to TPU II and it says it is overclocking by 39%, but again it shows no change in CPU-Z.

    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Delta9K PC Specs
    Delta9K PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VII Hero (WiFi)
    ProcessorRyzen 7 2700X
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL F4-3200C14D-32GTZSW (2x16)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX1080TI-SC
    MonitorASUS ROG SWIFT PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro - 512GB NVMe
    Storage #2Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerFractal Celsius S36
    CaseFractal Define R6
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK.2
    Mouse Logitech G403
    Delta9K's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    77

    @Steve0

    I'm thinking that the EZ tuning is not sticking or some auto-calculated settings are not compatible with your particular system. You mentioned that you are not a hardcore over-clocker but, you don't need to be. You might want to consider doing it yourself via the BIOS. Here is a link to an excellent guide by
    der8auer that is super easy to follow: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CoUtA7DKXhU&t=213s
    I would recommend watching the entire video but, the actual guide starts @ 5 minutes in if you like to just cut to the point

    You might begin by going into the bios and loading the Optimized defaults, save and exit, so you are starting with a clean slate, then go back into the bios and follow along with der8auer step by step. It's like 7 settings. I would suggest starting with what he steps you through. Once you have that up and running and stable - then later you can start to increase multipliers and voltages to get a better over clock as you will have learned what you need to adjust, and you can always post questions if you are unsure of something.
    Last edited by Delta9K; 06-17-2018 at 06:39 AM.
    Other systems in addition to rig in the profile specs:
    Aorus Master x570, 3950X, 32GB GSkill c16 @3800, Sabrent PCIe4 1TB, Sabrent 1TB, 860Evo 1TB, 2080 Super, HX1200i, Celsius S36, Define S2, pg348q
    Aorus Master x570, 3900X, 32GB GSkill c16 @3800, Sabrent PCIe4 1TB, 860Evo 1TB, 5700XT, HX1000i, H150i Pro, Obsidian 500D, LG32GK650F-B
    MEG x570 Unify, 3800X, 32GB GSkill c16 @3800, Sabrent PCIe4 1TB, 860Evo 1TB, GTX1080Ti, SSR-850PD, Celsius S36, Define R6, u3415w

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array SteveO PC Specs
    SteveO PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus X Hero
    Processori7-8700K
    Memory (part number)TF1D416G3200HC16CDC01
    Graphics Card #1ASUS 1080- STRIX
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorASUS ROG SWIFT PG279Q 27"
    Storage #1XPG SX8200 PCIe NVMe Gen3x4 M.2 2280 480GB SSD
    Storage #2Seagate Hybrid Drive ST2000DX
    CPU CoolerCooler Master MasterLiquid Lite ML240L RGB AIO
    CaseRosewill Nighthawk 117
    Power SupplyCORSAIR RMx Series RM650X
    Keyboard Corsair Vengance K90
    OS Win 10

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Hey and thanks for the reply and advice!

    I did load the defaults, then followed the video step by step. But still when I put the CPU under load (Intel Burn Test and Prime95) CPU-Z reports the multiplier at 37x and the speed at 3.7 GHz.

    Any ideas why?

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Delta9K PC Specs
    Delta9K PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VII Hero (WiFi)
    ProcessorRyzen 7 2700X
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL F4-3200C14D-32GTZSW (2x16)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX1080TI-SC
    MonitorASUS ROG SWIFT PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro - 512GB NVMe
    Storage #2Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerFractal Celsius S36
    CaseFractal Define R6
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK.2
    Mouse Logitech G403
    Delta9K's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    77

    Quote Originally Posted by SteveO View Post
    Hey and thanks for the reply and advice!

    I did load the defaults, then followed the video step by step. But still when I put the CPU under load (Intel Burn Test and Prime95) CPU-Z reports the multiplier at 37x and the speed at 3.7 GHz.

    Any ideas why?
    I am assuming your OS is Windows 10 64bit?
    Are you using the power-saving plan in Windows?
    Can you post screen shots from CPU-Z, the CPU & Mainboard tabs?

    Do you have HWInfo64 or another utility that reports CPU frequency real-time and are they consistent with CPU-Z?
    You could use Windows. Right-click task bar > select task manager > select performance > CPU

    Can you plug in a USB drive, reboot into BIOS, tab over to Tool then > Select Asus Over Clocking Profile > scroll down select Load/Save Profile from/to USB drive > then select Ctrl+F2 to save the profile as a txt file to USB? You need to name it something then Hit OK. and exit out of bios.
    Then Post the file so we can look it over.
    Other systems in addition to rig in the profile specs:
    Aorus Master x570, 3950X, 32GB GSkill c16 @3800, Sabrent PCIe4 1TB, Sabrent 1TB, 860Evo 1TB, 2080 Super, HX1200i, Celsius S36, Define S2, pg348q
    Aorus Master x570, 3900X, 32GB GSkill c16 @3800, Sabrent PCIe4 1TB, 860Evo 1TB, 5700XT, HX1000i, H150i Pro, Obsidian 500D, LG32GK650F-B
    MEG x570 Unify, 3800X, 32GB GSkill c16 @3800, Sabrent PCIe4 1TB, 860Evo 1TB, GTX1080Ti, SSR-850PD, Celsius S36, Define R6, u3415w

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array SteveO PC Specs
    SteveO PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus X Hero
    Processori7-8700K
    Memory (part number)TF1D416G3200HC16CDC01
    Graphics Card #1ASUS 1080- STRIX
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorASUS ROG SWIFT PG279Q 27"
    Storage #1XPG SX8200 PCIe NVMe Gen3x4 M.2 2280 480GB SSD
    Storage #2Seagate Hybrid Drive ST2000DX
    CPU CoolerCooler Master MasterLiquid Lite ML240L RGB AIO
    CaseRosewill Nighthawk 117
    Power SupplyCORSAIR RMx Series RM650X
    Keyboard Corsair Vengance K90
    OS Win 10

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Quote Originally Posted by Delta9K View Post
    I am assuming your OS is Windows 10 64bit?
    Are you using the power-saving plan in Windows?
    Can you post screen shots from CPU-Z, the CPU & Mainboard tabs?

    Do you have HWInfo64 or another utility that reports CPU frequency real-time and are they consistent with CPU-Z?
    You could use Windows. Right-click task bar > select task manager > select performance > CPU

    Can you plug in a USB drive, reboot into BIOS, tab over to Tool then > Select Asus Over Clocking Profile > scroll down select Load/Save Profile from/to USB drive > then select Ctrl+F2 to save the profile as a txt file to USB? You need to name it something then Hit OK. and exit out of bios.
    Then Post the file so we can look it over.
    Thanks again for the help - requested info:

    Windows 10 Pro, 64 bit
    Screen shots
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	CPU-Z_CPU.PNG 
Views:	62 
Size:	39.2 KB 
ID:	74296
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	CPU-Z_Main.PNG 
Views:	62 
Size:	28.7 KB 
ID:	74297
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	powerplan.PNG 
Views:	62 
Size:	12.0 KB 
ID:	74298

    Windows task manager gives me the same speed as CPU-Z resting and under load

    The BIOS Settings are attached if I did it right...
    Archivos Adjuntos

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Delta9K PC Specs
    Delta9K PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VII Hero (WiFi)
    ProcessorRyzen 7 2700X
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL F4-3200C14D-32GTZSW (2x16)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX1080TI-SC
    MonitorASUS ROG SWIFT PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro - 512GB NVMe
    Storage #2Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerFractal Celsius S36
    CaseFractal Define R6
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK.2
    Mouse Logitech G403
    Delta9K's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    77

    The bios file I could not read it was the .cmo needed the .txt version but no worries on that. I was just looking to see if it actually saved the settings after rebooting. You can check that easy enough if you want. Every change you made should still be there in the bios.

    I've seen instances where some auto applied settings have not been cleared even though optimized defaults were reloaded. You can try this to hopefully get back to ground zero. I have done it in the past - about a year and a half ago actually when I tried out the magic overclocking juice with my 7700K and it did not turn out so good. I will never do the auto OC again...

    Go into Bios hit F5 to load optimized defaults, F10 to save and exit. let it reboot

    Re-enter BIOS and load optimized defaults again using F5 in BIOS, F10 to save exit, now shutdown and pwr off the system.
    I even switched off the PSU and waited for all the residual power drain (All mother board LEDS go off) before proceeding.

    Next, Use the Clear CMOS button on the i/o panel (back of the board above the USB Flashback port) Make sure you actualy hit the clear CMOS and not the Safe boot Safe boot will not clear the CMOS.

    Power on - You should be asked to hit F1 to enter setup. Enter setup, then use F5 to load the optimized defaults, use F10 to save exit and reboot.
    (if it doesn't stop you to hit F1 to enter setup - just enter setup when prompted using F2 or DEL)
    Enter BIOS and apply the OC settings per the video guide.

    Don't interrupt the system after applying the the XMP settings and rebooting. The system may start and stop a couple times before it actually boots. Same thing after applying the over clock settings and rebooting.

    If this does not work for you then I am at a loss and do not want to waste anymore of your time. You may want to see if you can replace or RMA the board. I doubt it would be CPU honestly.
    Other systems in addition to rig in the profile specs:
    Aorus Master x570, 3950X, 32GB GSkill c16 @3800, Sabrent PCIe4 1TB, Sabrent 1TB, 860Evo 1TB, 2080 Super, HX1200i, Celsius S36, Define S2, pg348q
    Aorus Master x570, 3900X, 32GB GSkill c16 @3800, Sabrent PCIe4 1TB, 860Evo 1TB, 5700XT, HX1000i, H150i Pro, Obsidian 500D, LG32GK650F-B
    MEG x570 Unify, 3800X, 32GB GSkill c16 @3800, Sabrent PCIe4 1TB, 860Evo 1TB, GTX1080Ti, SSR-850PD, Celsius S36, Define R6, u3415w

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array SteveO PC Specs
    SteveO PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus X Hero
    Processori7-8700K
    Memory (part number)TF1D416G3200HC16CDC01
    Graphics Card #1ASUS 1080- STRIX
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorASUS ROG SWIFT PG279Q 27"
    Storage #1XPG SX8200 PCIe NVMe Gen3x4 M.2 2280 480GB SSD
    Storage #2Seagate Hybrid Drive ST2000DX
    CPU CoolerCooler Master MasterLiquid Lite ML240L RGB AIO
    CaseRosewill Nighthawk 117
    Power SupplyCORSAIR RMx Series RM650X
    Keyboard Corsair Vengance K90
    OS Win 10

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    OK tried it twice - same results. I took a photo of the targets inside of the BIOS after all the resetting and rebooting in case that means anything. While in the BIOS, the settings on the right (the ones off the photo) still show stock clock after rebooting - is that expected behavior?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20180618_001520.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	567.2 KB 
ID:	74302

    Ugh - I really don't relish rebuilding the computer. Fun once, twice is a chore.

    Frustratingly, I know I saw it OCed to 5.1 GHz at some point. Is there something in Windows other than the power profile that could limit it? I cloned the old drive over to my new SSD - could it have carried over something?

    Any more ideas? If not, I bought it from NewEgg - do I start the RMA with them do you know?

    Thanks again for the advice!
    Last edited by SteveO; 06-18-2018 at 06:31 AM.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array SteveO PC Specs
    SteveO PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus X Hero
    Processori7-8700K
    Memory (part number)TF1D416G3200HC16CDC01
    Graphics Card #1ASUS 1080- STRIX
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorASUS ROG SWIFT PG279Q 27"
    Storage #1XPG SX8200 PCIe NVMe Gen3x4 M.2 2280 480GB SSD
    Storage #2Seagate Hybrid Drive ST2000DX
    CPU CoolerCooler Master MasterLiquid Lite ML240L RGB AIO
    CaseRosewill Nighthawk 117
    Power SupplyCORSAIR RMx Series RM650X
    Keyboard Corsair Vengance K90
    OS Win 10

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Followed up with ASUS. They can't say anything about the OC'ing (even the built-in EZ Tuning) but as the BIOS settings are not being stored by the CPU they escalated it to their techs as a hardware issue. They say I will hear back in 24-48 hours. It is weird because it is saving the settings in BIOS, it just isn't sending them to the CPU itself, or the CPU is not saving them or something...

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array SteveO PC Specs
    SteveO PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus X Hero
    Processori7-8700K
    Memory (part number)TF1D416G3200HC16CDC01
    Graphics Card #1ASUS 1080- STRIX
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorASUS ROG SWIFT PG279Q 27"
    Storage #1XPG SX8200 PCIe NVMe Gen3x4 M.2 2280 480GB SSD
    Storage #2Seagate Hybrid Drive ST2000DX
    CPU CoolerCooler Master MasterLiquid Lite ML240L RGB AIO
    CaseRosewill Nighthawk 117
    Power SupplyCORSAIR RMx Series RM650X
    Keyboard Corsair Vengance K90
    OS Win 10

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Oh, and the BIOS dump I saved is a text file, but the bulletin board wouldn't let me attach a TXT file or paste in the text to the reply.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Delta9K PC Specs
    Delta9K PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VII Hero (WiFi)
    ProcessorRyzen 7 2700X
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL F4-3200C14D-32GTZSW (2x16)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX1080TI-SC
    MonitorASUS ROG SWIFT PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro - 512GB NVMe
    Storage #2Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerFractal Celsius S36
    CaseFractal Define R6
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK.2
    Mouse Logitech G403
    Delta9K's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    77

    Quote Originally Posted by SteveO View Post
    While in the BIOS, the settings on the right (the ones off the photo) still show stock clock after rebooting - is that expected behavior?
    Yes it is. What you want to look for are the Targeted settings on the left in Yellow and also by stepping through the config and check that all the values you entered before rebooting still exist. In this scenario particularly - the Core Ratio Limit.

    Is there something in Windows other than the power profile that could limit it? I cloned the old drive over to my new SSD - could it have carried over something?
    Yes/Potentially so. It is always best practice when building a new system to do a clean install of the OS. You have old drivers etc. Potential old conflicting software settings, ini files, configs etc... Did you go through and load all the drivers firmwares etc. for your new board? AKA all the stuff on the support page? I see you took the new BIOS already but what about Chipset, Audio, LAN , SATA , Wireless etc. I'd say if you could start with a fresh install it would certainly eliminate a ton of unknowns and hidden "gotchyas" because, there can very well be incompatibility between the legacy "stuff" and new.

    Any more ideas? If not, I bought it from NewEgg - do I start the RMA with them do you know?
    Yes I do have some more ideas if you want to try -i'll do another post. I do not know about RMA process via NewEgg I've never dealt with them.. I suspect you would but I'd be interested in what Asus says first. I would start documenting everything so that if it gets to that you can provide the information to whomever it is.
    Other systems in addition to rig in the profile specs:
    Aorus Master x570, 3950X, 32GB GSkill c16 @3800, Sabrent PCIe4 1TB, Sabrent 1TB, 860Evo 1TB, 2080 Super, HX1200i, Celsius S36, Define S2, pg348q
    Aorus Master x570, 3900X, 32GB GSkill c16 @3800, Sabrent PCIe4 1TB, 860Evo 1TB, 5700XT, HX1000i, H150i Pro, Obsidian 500D, LG32GK650F-B
    MEG x570 Unify, 3800X, 32GB GSkill c16 @3800, Sabrent PCIe4 1TB, 860Evo 1TB, GTX1080Ti, SSR-850PD, Celsius S36, Define R6, u3415w

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •