Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Asus Zenith Extreme, 1950 … not shutting down/restarting

    Hi all
    I have Windows 1703 installed on a NVME Raid 0, Bios 0902, latest drivers in a "be quiet Dark Base Pro 900" tower. So far (with some hassles) Windows is working fine. However when doing a restart or shutdown the system hangs and does not shutdown or restart. I have to hit the reset button to do a restart or press the switch to shut off. This was already the case during Windows installation. When Windows tried a restart to continue the setup I had to do a manual reset to continue.
    Does anyone else observe this problem? Anyone an idea what this could be?
    Thanks
    Philipp

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array spadizzle PC Specs
    spadizzle PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VI and Zenith Extreme
    ProcessorRyzen 1700x and Threadripper 1950x
    Memory (part number)G-Skill F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX 1080
    Graphics Card #2Asus GTX 1080
    Sound Cardbuilt-in
    MonitorROG PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 NVMe
    Storage #2Samsung 950 pro SSD
    CPU CoolerH115i
    CaseCorsair AIR 540
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard G910
    Mouse G903
    Mouse Pad Powerplay
    OS Win10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetgear
    spadizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    54

    Just recently observed this with mine and for the life of me, I can not remember what I did to correct it.

    Do me a favor, disconnect your power cord and let your computer sit for like 30 seconds, its something silly simple. Let me know if it works.

    If that doesn't work, reset your bios settings and re enter them. If anything else comes to mind, I will post back.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    45

    Quote Originally Posted by Philipp_H View Post
    Hi all
    I have Windows 1703 installed on a NVME Raid 0, Bios 0902, latest drivers in a "be quiet Dark Base Pro 900" tower. So far (with some hassles) Windows is working fine. However when doing a restart or shutdown the system hangs and does not shutdown or restart. I have to hit the reset button to do a restart or press the switch to shut off. This was already the case during Windows installation. When Windows tried a restart to continue the setup I had to do a manual reset to continue.
    Does anyone else observe this problem? Anyone an idea what this could be?
    Thanks
    Philipp
    Are you running Hyper-V? If so there could be some virtuals handing on shutdown (this has happened to me).

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    No, I'm not running Hyper-V ... I am actually planning to do this, but currently only Windows 10 is installed. I changed the PSU, but this did not fix the problem. Still, when shutting down or trying to do a restart the system hangs and has to be reset. At the moment I am at a loss.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    I have to correct my statement. The system is "not not" shutting down, but it takes 5 minutes (more or less exactly) to shut down, restart or hibernate. While shutting down or hibernating there is sporadic HD activity, then around 10 seconds before shutting off, there is continuous HD activity, then the system shuts of. In case of a restart there is no HD activity, the system just hangs for 5 minutes and then restarts.

    5 minutes for a shutdown or restart is ridiculous ...

    Any idea what this can be?

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Addition: Having the problem in a RAID configuration as described above, I broke up my configuration and reinstalled Windows plain on one of the nvme (Samsung 960 Pro) SSDs. Windows installed but the system was not sable and hanged here and then. I found out that there is a newer bios for the Samsung ssd and installed it. After this the system became stable. I will now continue and configure a boot raid again. So I suggest updating any Samsung 960 pro to the latest bios if you observe system stability problems.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array JoeCos PC Specs
    JoeCos PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Zenith Extreme using Bios 1601
    ProcessorThreadripper 1950x - @3.8GHZ @1.19v - stable
    Memory (part number)G Skill F4-3200C14D-16GFX (32gb Quad @3200)
    Graphics Card #1Radeon Vega 56 (Power Color) Oc'd & Uv'd
    MonitorBenq SW320
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Evo NVME - 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro SSD - 1TB
    CPU CoolerEnermax TR4 360 - idle @28* & 100% load @56.8*
    CaseCooler Master HAF X Full Tower
    Power SupplyCooler Master Pro-M 1000W
    Headset/Speakers Logitech 5.1
    OS Windows Pro 64bit
    Network RouterAsus AC - RT something
    Accessory #1 Corsair Commander Pro controlling 5 fans
    Accessory #2 NO RGB here
    Accessory #3 NO RGB here
    JoeCos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Seems I am having the same issue. My workstation (ZExtreme/TR 1950x/Windows 10 Pro on NVME M.2 Sams 1TB).

    My PC will shutdown no problem. It's the 'restart' that it hangs forever. So I have to manually press the restart button on my computer to restart and complete the cycle.

    I will continue to experiment to see if I can fix this

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by JoeCos View Post
    Seems I am having the same issue. My workstation (ZExtreme/TR 1950x/Windows 10 Pro on NVME M.2 Sams 1TB).

    My PC will shutdown no problem. It's the 'restart' that it hangs forever. So I have to manually press the restart button on my computer to restart and complete the cycle.

    I will continue to experiment to see if I can fix this
    I got smthing similar to your problem is like everytime I restart pc, spininig circle hangs for2-3 seconds and then screen comes up. I hope you find solution to your's problem

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    I suggest to check if there is a newer bios for the Samsung MVME. This can be done by installing Samsung Magician from here. In the tool it will tell you if a newer version of the bios exists and if yes, will allow you to install it.

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    I have had this happen 3 times. 2 of them, I had to do a reinstall for unrelated reasons and it worked again after. The other time was when I disabled HPET, and it started working again when I re-enabled it.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •