Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    Does your asus motherboard startup like this?

    I've recently upgraded from a p67 motherboard to the asus Z370 formula x. Slightly concerned that my issue isn't normal, but doesn't seem to hurt anything. Just curious why it's doing this.

    Issue: I turn computer on. Fan lights and motherboard turn on for a second and then flick off. A second later it continues to boot normally. This happens every time I turn on computer.

    Specs:
    Asus formula x
    I7 8700k
    Asus gtx 1080ti OC
    Corsair ax760 PSU
    16gb ddr4 gskill memory 3000Mhz

    Fans are 6 corsair hd120 hooked up to the commander pro rgb controller.

    Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ndf6A9g2phU

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array Kreyora PC Specs
    Kreyora PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FX 553 VD
    Motherboardstrix z270E
    Processori5 6500
    Memory (part number)lpx ddr 4 16gb
    Graphics Card #1rog strix 1070
    Monitorold benq from 2008
    Storage #1samsung 960 evo
    Storage #2samsung 850 evo
    CPU Coolercorsair h105
    Casenzxt s340
    Power Supplyfd itegra 650w
    Keyboard corsair strafe
    Mouse logitech g700s
    Headset Phillips fidelio x2
    Mouse Pad steelseries qck xxxl
    OS windows 10
    Kreyora's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    If i am not mistaken, some boards a few years ago double booted just like that, did you do a clean install of operating system when upgrading your parts?

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MrAgapiGC PC Specs
    MrAgapiGC PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XI Code
    Processor9900K
    Memory (part number)CMK32GX4M4B3600C18
    Graphics Card #1STRIX-GTX1080ti-O8G-GAMING
    MonitorAOC AGON AG2701QX (2)
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 256GB
    Storage #2Kingston Savage 500GB
    CPU CoolerNzxt X74 360mm AIO
    CaseNzxt H700
    Power SupplyEVGA 850 G2
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Asus Spartha
    Headset Hyper X Cloud Revolver S
    Mouse Pad Hyper X Fury S 900mx420mm
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z337
    OS Windows 10 64btis
    Network RouterTpLink Archer C9
    Accessory #1 EKWB FANs all of them
    MrAgapiGC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    1,758

    i can report that a friend of mine using a corsair PSU is having some similar issues. But does not happen always. he is using a Z370-E and a RM100x so far only 1 time. the os is fresh install with all new bios and drivers. I will check with him later today and during these week. He is not using the commander or any other app from corsair. using same 8700k and GPU and corsair white led 3000 ram.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    Quote Originally Posted by Kreyora View Post
    If i am not mistaken, some boards a few years ago double booted just like that, did you do a clean install of operating system when upgrading your parts?
    yep, fresh install and the whole system is completely new.

    Noticed something to add to this, the 1080ti has little LEDs on the pci-e 8 pin connectors when the system is powered on, and they are off when the system is off.

    When I power on the system, those lights turn on seemingly first. and remain lit even when the motherboards/fans flick off upon startup. They stay on until I shut down my system (can see this in the video) Edit: also noticed in the video that even though the motherboard seems to flick off, my keyboard is still lit up *in the reflection on the glass* while its doing its thing..

    Unno if that helps. Im hoping this isnt a big issue and just an odd thing the motherboard does, maybe its a self check of some sort.
    Last edited by MoonFrost; 01-05-2018 at 05:22 AM.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array pndiode PC Specs
    pndiode PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS G752VL-DH71
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Extreme
    ProcessorI7-7700K
    Memory (part number)G-Skill F4-3600C19Q-32GTZRB
    Graphics Card #1ROG GTX 980 MATRIX-GTX980-P-4GD5 Bykski Water N-AS98ROG-X Full Cover
    Graphics Card #2ROG GTX 980 MATRIX-GTX980-P-4GD5 Bykski Water N-AS98ROG-X Full Cover
    MonitorSAMSUNG S22D300HY (2 ea)
    Storage #1WD Black SN750 1TB
    Storage #2WD Blue 4TB (4 ea)
    CPU CoolerEK PE 360 (Top), PE 240 (Front), and Xres 100 Elite
    CaseROG Strix Helios
    Power SupplyThermalTake Toughpower 1200W
    Keyboard Cerberus
    Mouse Logitech MX Master S2
    Headset ROG Strix Fusion 300
    Mouse Pad Generic
    Headset/Speakers Bose Companion 3 Series II
    OS Win 10 Pro 2004
    Network RouterGeneric
    Accessory #1 ROG Aura Terminal
    Accessory #2 ROG 10GB Express
    Accessory #3 Corsair ML140 (4 ea), Corsair ML120 (3 ea)

    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    212

    Does your asus motherboard startup like this?

    Yes, Only when CPU SVID Support is Disabled and CPU Core/Cache Voltage is in Manual Mode. Does not happen when CPU SVID Support is set to Auto and CPU Core/Cache Voltage is in Adaptive Mode. Q-Code 35 when CPU SVID Support is Disabled and CPU Core/Cache Voltage is in Adaptive Mode.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array sdmf74 PC Specs
    sdmf74 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)N/A
    MotherboardMAXIMUS IX FORMULA
    ProcessorI7 7700K
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C16Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1GTX 980TI K|NGP|N
    Graphics Card #2N/A
    Graphics Card #3N/A
    Graphics Card #4N/A
    Sound CardON BOARD
    MonitorASUS PG279Q, BENQ XL2420TE, HISENSE 55H9F
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 960 PRO M.2 512GB
    Storage #2SAMSUNG 970 EVO PLUS 1TB, SAMSUNG 850 PRO 512GB, SAMSUNG 850 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK VELOCITY RGB
    CaseCASELABS MERLIN SM8 (2 TONE)
    Power SupplyEVGA 1300G2 SUPERNOVA
    Keyboard WOOTING ONE, DUCKY ONE TKL RGB
    Mouse LOGITECH G PRO HERO
    Headset SENNHESIER G4ME ZERO
    Mouse Pad REFLEX LAB XXXL
    Headset/Speakers KLIPSCH PRO MEDIA 2.1
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC86U, ASUS RT-AC68U
    sdmf74's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    305

    This should only happen on the following bootup after making certain overclocking adjustments in bios however having ERP enabled in bios "might" make it happen on every bootup
    ASUS Maximus 9 Formula, Intel I7 7700k, EVGA GeForce GTX 980Ti K|ngP|n, G Skill Trident Z RGB 3600 32GB
    EVGA supernova 1300G2, EK Velocity RGB, Samsung 970 evo plus 1tb, 960 pro 512gb(OS), 850 EVO 1tb, 850 Pro 512gb,
    Asus PG279Q 165HZ, BenQ 144hz, Hisense 55h9f, Windows 10 pro

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    Quote Originally Posted by sdmf74 View Post
    This should only happen on the following bootup after making certain overclocking adjustments in bios however having ERP enabled in bios "might" make it happen on every bootup
    Im not sure if you were the person who posted on youtube, but if you are thanks for the followup. Ill post my same reply here:

    I actually just figured it out yesterday. It was the ErP setting (enabled S5) to have my USB slots powered off while my system is off. So im a little bummed out, either I have to have my microphone (Audio Technica AT2020+) running all the time with a blue glowing LED lighting my room up at night, but a fast startup. Or this, a slow startup but everything turned off when the system is off.

    Unless theres another setting that would disable USB devices when system is off that Im not aware of. Or if you know if all the USB jacks are powered when ErP is Disabled. It would be nice if i could just select the 1 USB port to be powered off after a shut down. Im not sure what ErP fully does or why it causes this issue to begin with so maybe it isnt possible.

    Just realized how loud I breathe, good lord.
    Last edited by MoonFrost; 01-15-2018 at 04:06 AM.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array sdmf74 PC Specs
    sdmf74 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)N/A
    MotherboardMAXIMUS IX FORMULA
    ProcessorI7 7700K
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C16Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1GTX 980TI K|NGP|N
    Graphics Card #2N/A
    Graphics Card #3N/A
    Graphics Card #4N/A
    Sound CardON BOARD
    MonitorASUS PG279Q, BENQ XL2420TE, HISENSE 55H9F
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 960 PRO M.2 512GB
    Storage #2SAMSUNG 970 EVO PLUS 1TB, SAMSUNG 850 PRO 512GB, SAMSUNG 850 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK VELOCITY RGB
    CaseCASELABS MERLIN SM8 (2 TONE)
    Power SupplyEVGA 1300G2 SUPERNOVA
    Keyboard WOOTING ONE, DUCKY ONE TKL RGB
    Mouse LOGITECH G PRO HERO
    Headset SENNHESIER G4ME ZERO
    Mouse Pad REFLEX LAB XXXL
    Headset/Speakers KLIPSCH PRO MEDIA 2.1
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC86U, ASUS RT-AC68U
    sdmf74's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    305

    Yep thats me, I just made a few more suggestions on YT, im hoping one will fix your issue. Try the last suggestion.
    UNCHECK every device that has the "allow this device to wake the computer". It may be that your mic is plugged into the same root hub as your keyboard or mouse and is still recieving power on S5 state. You will temp. have to use the power button on the front of your pc but at least you will know whats causing the problem.
    ASUS Maximus 9 Formula, Intel I7 7700k, EVGA GeForce GTX 980Ti K|ngP|n, G Skill Trident Z RGB 3600 32GB
    EVGA supernova 1300G2, EK Velocity RGB, Samsung 970 evo plus 1tb, 960 pro 512gb(OS), 850 EVO 1tb, 850 Pro 512gb,
    Asus PG279Q 165HZ, BenQ 144hz, Hisense 55h9f, Windows 10 pro

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array sdmf74 PC Specs
    sdmf74 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)N/A
    MotherboardMAXIMUS IX FORMULA
    ProcessorI7 7700K
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C16Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1GTX 980TI K|NGP|N
    Graphics Card #2N/A
    Graphics Card #3N/A
    Graphics Card #4N/A
    Sound CardON BOARD
    MonitorASUS PG279Q, BENQ XL2420TE, HISENSE 55H9F
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 960 PRO M.2 512GB
    Storage #2SAMSUNG 970 EVO PLUS 1TB, SAMSUNG 850 PRO 512GB, SAMSUNG 850 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK VELOCITY RGB
    CaseCASELABS MERLIN SM8 (2 TONE)
    Power SupplyEVGA 1300G2 SUPERNOVA
    Keyboard WOOTING ONE, DUCKY ONE TKL RGB
    Mouse LOGITECH G PRO HERO
    Headset SENNHESIER G4ME ZERO
    Mouse Pad REFLEX LAB XXXL
    Headset/Speakers KLIPSCH PRO MEDIA 2.1
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC86U, ASUS RT-AC68U
    sdmf74's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    305

    If none of that works I may have found a fix for your double boot issue. Go into windows power options and click choose what the power buttons do in the top left
    then at the top next to the badge click on change settings that are currently unavailable. Then you will be able to change the grayed out options below.
    Uncheck "turn on fast startup (recommended) then click save changes & reboot.

    I would actually try this for both issues:
    -ERP enabled with double boot issue
    -ERP disabled with unwanted power to mic at S5
    ASUS Maximus 9 Formula, Intel I7 7700k, EVGA GeForce GTX 980Ti K|ngP|n, G Skill Trident Z RGB 3600 32GB
    EVGA supernova 1300G2, EK Velocity RGB, Samsung 970 evo plus 1tb, 960 pro 512gb(OS), 850 EVO 1tb, 850 Pro 512gb,
    Asus PG279Q 165HZ, BenQ 144hz, Hisense 55h9f, Windows 10 pro

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    Quote Originally Posted by sdmf74 View Post
    If none of that works I may have found a fix for your double boot issue. Go into windows power options and click choose what the power buttons do in the top left
    then at the top next to the badge click on change settings that are currently unavailable. Then you will be able to change the grayed out options below.
    Uncheck "turn on fast startup (recommended) then click save changes & reboot.

    I would actually try this for both issues:
    -ERP enabled with double boot issue
    -ERP disabled with unwanted power to mic at S5
    its already unchecked @~@

    thanks for all the help anyways, Im going to sleep now, feel free to post any more ideas, maybe it just needs a bios update, as it is a new motherboard.
    Last edited by MoonFrost; 01-15-2018 at 06:18 AM.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •