Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21
  1. #11
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array sdmf74 PC Specs
    sdmf74 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)N/A
    MotherboardMAXIMUS IX FORMULA
    ProcessorI7 7700K
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C16Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1GTX 980TI K|NGP|N
    Graphics Card #2N/A
    Graphics Card #3N/A
    Graphics Card #4N/A
    Sound CardON BOARD
    MonitorASUS PG279Q, BENQ XL2420TE, HISENSE 55H9F
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 960 PRO M.2 512GB
    Storage #2SAMSUNG 970 EVO PLUS 1TB, SAMSUNG 850 PRO 512GB, SAMSUNG 850 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK VELOCITY RGB
    CaseCASELABS MERLIN SM8 (2 TONE)
    Power SupplyEVGA 1300G2 SUPERNOVA
    Keyboard WOOTING ONE, DUCKY ONE TKL RGB
    Mouse LOGITECH G PRO HERO
    Headset SENNHESIER G4ME ZERO
    Mouse Pad REFLEX LAB XXXL
    Headset/Speakers KLIPSCH PRO MEDIA 2.1
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC86U, ASUS RT-AC68U
    sdmf74's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    301

    No problem, I was under the impresion (and suggested) you had already flashed bios v1203.cap
    Please tell me your not still running stock bios?
    ASUS Maximus 9 Formula, Intel I7 7700k, EVGA GeForce GTX 980Ti K|ngP|n, G Skill Trident Z RGB 3600 32GB
    EVGA supernova 1300G2, EK Velocity RGB, Samsung 970 evo plus 1tb, 960 pro 512gb(OS), 850 EVO 1tb, 850 Pro 512gb,
    Asus PG279Q 165HZ, BenQ 144hz, Hisense 55h9f, Windows 10 pro

  2. #12
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    127
    Posts
    1,869

    Quote Originally Posted by MoonFrost View Post
    I've recently upgraded from a p67 motherboard to the asus Z370 formula x. Slightly concerned that my issue isn't normal, but doesn't seem to hurt anything. Just curious why it's doing this.

    Issue: I turn computer on. Fan lights and motherboard turn on for a second and then flick off. A second later it continues to boot normally. This happens every time I turn on computer.

    Specs:
    Asus formula x
    I7 8700k
    Asus gtx 1080ti OC
    Corsair ax760 PSU
    16gb ddr4 gskill memory 3000Mhz

    Fans are 6 corsair hd120 hooked up to the commander pro rgb controller.

    Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ndf6A9g2phU

    This is memory training routines, perfectly normal.

  3. #13
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    Quote Originally Posted by sdmf74 View Post
    No problem, I was under the impresion (and suggested) you had already flashed bios v1203.cap
    Please tell me your not still running stock bios?
    I'm on I believe 1003, I just flashed it 2 days ago.

  4. #14
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone View Post
    This is memory training routines, perfectly normal.
    Could you elaborate on memory training and why it's normal upon every startup? This is the first system I've had that's done this.

    Also, if it is ram training, why would it go away if ErP is disabled?

    Sorry, I'm still learning the ropes when it comes to bios settings.
    Last edited by MoonFrost; 01-15-2018 at 01:20 PM.

  5. #15
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array sdmf74 PC Specs
    sdmf74 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)N/A
    MotherboardMAXIMUS IX FORMULA
    ProcessorI7 7700K
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C16Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1GTX 980TI K|NGP|N
    Graphics Card #2N/A
    Graphics Card #3N/A
    Graphics Card #4N/A
    Sound CardON BOARD
    MonitorASUS PG279Q, BENQ XL2420TE, HISENSE 55H9F
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 960 PRO M.2 512GB
    Storage #2SAMSUNG 970 EVO PLUS 1TB, SAMSUNG 850 PRO 512GB, SAMSUNG 850 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK VELOCITY RGB
    CaseCASELABS MERLIN SM8 (2 TONE)
    Power SupplyEVGA 1300G2 SUPERNOVA
    Keyboard WOOTING ONE, DUCKY ONE TKL RGB
    Mouse LOGITECH G PRO HERO
    Headset SENNHESIER G4ME ZERO
    Mouse Pad REFLEX LAB XXXL
    Headset/Speakers KLIPSCH PRO MEDIA 2.1
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC86U, ASUS RT-AC68U
    sdmf74's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    301

    I dont think its memory training. MT may slightly delay bootup but shouldnt cause a double boot.
    I see you have the 10 formula, when I watched your video it looked like the 9 formula so I posted incorrect bios but I do highly recommend you update your bios every time a new one is released especially on a brand new mobo. Once you find your stable overclocks write down all your settings cause you will be flashing a new one fairly often.
    ASUS Maximus 9 Formula, Intel I7 7700k, EVGA GeForce GTX 980Ti K|ngP|n, G Skill Trident Z RGB 3600 32GB
    EVGA supernova 1300G2, EK Velocity RGB, Samsung 970 evo plus 1tb, 960 pro 512gb(OS), 850 EVO 1tb, 850 Pro 512gb,
    Asus PG279Q 165HZ, BenQ 144hz, Hisense 55h9f, Windows 10 pro

  6. #16
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    Quote Originally Posted by sdmf74 View Post
    I dont think its memory training. MT may slightly delay bootup but shouldnt cause a double boot.
    I see you have the 10 formula, when I watched your video it looked like the 9 formula so I posted incorrect bios but I do highly recommend you update your bios every time a new one is released especially on a brand new mobo. Once you find your stable overclocks write down all your settings cause you will be flashing a new one fairly often.
    Thanks for the advice. I haven't even started overclocking. Trying to finalize my first waterloop, waiting for parts because I miscalculated some clearance issues. Probably won't overclock until March or April.

  7. #17
    ROG Enthusiast Array Eric_F PC Specs
    Eric_F PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorCore I7 6700K - 4.9GHz OC
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3000C15D-16GVR 16GB (8x2) DDR4-3000
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2 1721/1860MHz
    Sound CardOnboard Realtek/ROG SupremeFX
    MonitorDell UltraSharp 1908WFP 19" Widescreen 1440x900 60/75Hz
    Storage #11TB Western Digital Black WD1003FZEX 7500RPM 64MB Cache 6 Gb/s SATA
    Storage #22TB Western Digital Black WD2003FZEX 7500RPM 64MB Cache 6 Gb/s
    CPU CoolerCorsair H80i v2
    CaseAntec Nine Hundred (w/ USB 3)
    Power SupplyAntec Edge 650 80+ Gold
    Keyboard Steelseries Apex
    Mouse Steelseries Rival
    Mouse Pad Tandy gray mousepad from the '90s!
    Headset/Speakers AKG K240M studio headphones & Adcom GTP-450 preamp on line-outs
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC3200
    Eric_F's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    34
    Posts
    56

    When you turn the computer on, is it from a complete no-power state (Power supply switched off, or power strip turned off) ?

    If so, this will happen on many modern PC's -- even plain-vanilla Dell office computers. The first "blink" bootstraps the lowest-level functions and power regulation of the motherboard itself. Then it positively enters an ACPI shutdown, from which it can restart in an expected condition and initiate POST from the firmware. It's pretty typical with UEFI-based systems.

    Power-on from ACPI shutdown -- powered-off by operating system "Shut Down" command or pressing the power button (but not cutting power to the computer's power supply) generally will not cause the on-off-on+startup behavior. Some power is actually retained on the motherboard, and it's prepared to just go straight to an ACPI power-on request which triggers the POST directly.

    If the double-startup happens when the PSU still has AC power, and it's feeding power to the motherboard, then there's something else happening. But it's typically just confusion over true "cold" shutdown and ACPI-based "warm" shutdown.
    Motherboard: Maximus VIII Hero
    Processor: I7 6700K - 4.9GHz OC
    CPU Cooler: Corsair H80i v2
    Memory: G.Skill DDR4-3000 16GB
    Graphics: EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2 1721/1860MHz
    Storage #1: 1TB Western Digital Black
    Storage #2: 2TB Western Digital Black
    Case: Antec Nine Hundred
    Power Supply: Antec Edge 650 80+ Gold
    OS: Windows 10 Pro

  8. #18
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    Quote Originally Posted by Eric_F View Post
    When you turn the computer on, is it from a complete no-power state (Power supply switched off, or power strip turned off) ?

    If so, this will happen on many modern PC's -- even plain-vanilla Dell office computers. The first "blink" bootstraps the lowest-level functions and power regulation of the motherboard itself. Then it positively enters an ACPI shutdown, from which it can restart in an expected condition and initiate POST from the firmware. It's pretty typical with UEFI-based systems.

    Power-on from ACPI shutdown -- powered-off by operating system "Shut Down" command or pressing the power button (but not cutting power to the computer's power supply) generally will not cause the on-off-on+startup behavior. Some power is actually retained on the motherboard, and it's prepared to just go straight to an ACPI power-on request which triggers the POST directly.

    If the double-startup happens when the PSU still has AC power, and it's feeding power to the motherboard, then there's something else happening. But it's typically just confusion over true "cold" shutdown and ACPI-based "warm" shutdown.
    No, I don't turn off psu or power strip, I simply shut down.

    To try and summarize what has all taken place: I enabled ErP support for S5 state, so that my USB slots would power off when system is off, because I don't want my microphones inner blue LED on all the time, as well as whatever power it's needlessly drawing.

    That's what started this issue, if I disable ErP support, the double boot issue goes away, but I have the 2 leds glowing in my 1080ti pci connectors, and my microphone(audio technica at2020+) glowing when the system is off.

    If anyone else knows a way to turn off rear USB ports when the system is off, that's my only issue at this point.
    Last edited by MoonFrost; 01-16-2018 at 12:03 AM.

  9. #19
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    26

    Quote Originally Posted by MoonFrost View Post
    No, I don't turn off psu or power strip, I simply shut down.

    To try and summarize what has all taken place: I enabled ErP support for S5 state, so that my USB slots would power off when system is off, because I don't want my microphones inner blue LED on all the time, as well as whatever power it's needlessly drawing.

    That's what started this issue, if I disable ErP support, the double boot issue goes away, but I have the 2 leds glowing in my 1080ti pci connectors, and my microphone(audio technica at2020+) glowing when the system is off.

    If anyone else knows a way to turn off rear USB ports when the system is off, that's my only issue at this point.
    You can enable cpu svid support even on manual mode.
    That way ErP (S5) works properly and no more "on => off => 2 sec => on"
    I guess mobo way of disabling cpu svid support is by that weird on off on sequence.

  10. #20
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    499
    Posts
    13,611

    The double boot on cold boot is very normal for certain settings. As has been said it's probably RAM training.

    The ERP settings are basically putting the board in a cold boot state akin to turning off the PSU.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •