Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 41
  1. #21
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Issue with core clocks

    Quote Originally Posted by bass junkie xl View Post
    BIOS
    Version 1003
    2018/01/028.23 MBytes
    ROG MAXIMUS X HERO (WI-FI AC) BIOS 1003
    Improve system performance.
    Improved DRAM compatibility

    has any one used this yet ? currently im on bios 802 with
    8700k @ 5 ghz 1.33v adaptive -delided
    g.skill rgb 16gb 3000 mhz @ manual over clock @ 4000 cl 18-19-19-38 auto vccio / vcssa
    and its stable 24hr in tests

    should i even flash it ?

    does this bios fix the audio crackling / un balanced sound in the drivers ?

    any input would be nice
    I don't overclock my I7 8700K so running only my XMP Profile for the GSKILL 3200 Kit and everything
    else on Intel defaults. no "sync-all-cores" or "MCE".

    however, worked pretty good with the 0802 Bios but with the 1003 (same settings) I can't see a core clock over 4500 on any of the 6 cores.
    tested with AIDA64Extreme . rolled back to 0802 and it works again (core clocks between 800-4700).

    the new version might be fine if you OC but not for me. it makes things worse.

  2. #22
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    I get an error saying "selected file is not a proper bios"


    I have been waiting in hopes that they would release a bios where the xmp could id my memory and run it stable. I paid for qvl corsair memory and it is running at 1866 instead of the 3600. I would even settle for 3200 at this point.

  3. #23
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array bass junkie xl PC Specs
    bass junkie xl PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rog X Hero Z-370 ( Wifi ) bios -2103
    Processori9-9900-Ks @ 5.0 @ 1.23v
    Memory (part number)32 GB Team Group X @ 4200 mhz cl-17-17-17-32 @1.45v / vccio = 1.18v/ vcssa = 1.20 v
    Graphics Card #1Msi Gtx 1080 TI FE @ 1911 mhz @ 1.0v Curve
    Sound CardMotherboard Realtec , Driver 87.46
    MonitorAsus PG279Q , 27 inch 165 HZ , 1440p G-Sync
    Storage #1Samsung 970 evo 1 TB m.2 nvme ssd
    Storage #2Samsung 970 evo 1 TB m.2 nvme ssd
    CPU CoolerGamermaxx L360 v2
    CaseThermaltake View 71 full Glass
    Power SupplyThermaltake Grand 750w RGB Platnuim
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platnuim RGB
    Mouse Corsair Night Sword RGB
    Headset Razer Kraken 7.1 chroma
    Mouse Pad Asus Sheeth Large
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-5500 THX 5.1
    OS Windows 10-1809 x64 Pro
    bass junkie xl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    283

    plaz street

    Quote Originally Posted by Nokrahs View Post
    I don't overclock my I7 8700K so running only my XMP Profile for the GSKILL 3200 Kit and everything
    else on Intel defaults. no "sync-all-cores" or "MCE".

    however, worked pretty good with the 0802 Bios but with the 1003 (same settings) I can't see a core clock over 4500 on any of the 6 cores.
    tested with AIDA64Extreme . rolled back to 0802 and it works again (core clocks between 800-4700).

    the new version might be fine if you OC but not for me. it makes things worse.
    couldnt u fix that by doing this

    turn multy core enhancment off

    manual type in 47 core ratio
    sync all cores
    that would be the same thing and i bet it wont down clock i dont use multy core enhancment as manualy typig in is the same .

  4. #24
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array bass junkie xl PC Specs
    bass junkie xl PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rog X Hero Z-370 ( Wifi ) bios -2103
    Processori9-9900-Ks @ 5.0 @ 1.23v
    Memory (part number)32 GB Team Group X @ 4200 mhz cl-17-17-17-32 @1.45v / vccio = 1.18v/ vcssa = 1.20 v
    Graphics Card #1Msi Gtx 1080 TI FE @ 1911 mhz @ 1.0v Curve
    Sound CardMotherboard Realtec , Driver 87.46
    MonitorAsus PG279Q , 27 inch 165 HZ , 1440p G-Sync
    Storage #1Samsung 970 evo 1 TB m.2 nvme ssd
    Storage #2Samsung 970 evo 1 TB m.2 nvme ssd
    CPU CoolerGamermaxx L360 v2
    CaseThermaltake View 71 full Glass
    Power SupplyThermaltake Grand 750w RGB Platnuim
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platnuim RGB
    Mouse Corsair Night Sword RGB
    Headset Razer Kraken 7.1 chroma
    Mouse Pad Asus Sheeth Large
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-5500 THX 5.1
    OS Windows 10-1809 x64 Pro
    bass junkie xl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    283

    Quote Originally Posted by Nickelsig229 View Post
    I get an error saying "selected file is not a proper bios"


    I have been waiting in hopes that they would release a bios where the xmp could id my memory and run it stable. I paid for qvl corsair memory and it is running at 1866 instead of the 3600. I would even settle for 3200 at this point.
    have you tried playing with vccio / vcssa volts ?

    some xmps apply to much or to little of those 2 try 1.275 vcssa / 1.25v vccio @ 3600 if nto try 3466 then try 3200

    then pump the vccio / vcssa up again and test try 1.3v vcssa 1.28v vccio

    i have my g.skill rgb 16gb 3000 mhz xmp cl 14-14-14-34 manual over clocked to
    4000 mhz cl 18-19-19-39 vccio=auto vcssa=auto no issue at all
    my vccio auto = 1.32v and my vcssa auto = 1.320 those are on auto i could lower them to but thats another day main thing is there stable 1000 mhz over xmp and decent ish timmings .

    you shouldnt have a issue on this board play around with those 2 options

  5. #25
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    thanks and not exactly

    Quote Originally Posted by bass junkie xl View Post
    couldnt u fix that by doing this

    turn multy core enhancment off

    manual type in 47 core ratio
    sync all cores
    that would be the same thing and i bet it wont down clock i dont use multy core enhancment as manualy typig in is the same .
    Greetings!

    first of all, thanks for the suggestions. however, as I said "I do not overclock" which means my CPU runs within Intel Specifications.
    single core up to 4700MHz, four cores up to 4500MHz and 2 cores up to 4600MHz and six cores up to 4300MHz.
    that's the "AUTO" setting in the Bios for clock speed.

    "per core" and everythin on "Auto" is the same. "sync-all-cores" is overclocking all cores to a frequency e.g. 5000MHz while Intel default settings
    balance the frequency across all cores depending on the given task the "sync-all-cores" just goes all out max frequency for all cores which
    is overclocking, generates more heat and uses more power usually.

    "MCE" is off anyways.on a fresh bios with "optimized settings loaded" I simply pick "XMP" and select "No" for optimized power settings. only my
    GSKILL runs at 3200 with the correct settings and higher voltage. setting my PWM Fans to Standard, disabling sensors I dont need and switch CPU Power Management from AUTO to ON. that's pretty much all I change in the UEFI.

    with the 0802 Bios I get correct clocks in "Intel default mode (Auto)" everything runs just fine. CPU is juggling load across all cores between 800 and 4700 for every core individually.

    with 1003 I'm sitting at 4500MHz max clock even for single core tasks. CPU never goes beyond that for single (4700) or dual (4600) core tasks.
    CPU and DRAM are detected correctly in the Bios with max 4700MHz and 3200MHz. I just don't get the settings to run in Windows10 later on.

    Benchmarks are the same as before but that's not surprising me because all cores are usually in use @4300MHz as they should.
    so Cinebench is sitting at around 1450 with stock settings and around 1530 with "all cores synced to 4700MHz and about 1610 @5000MHz .
    but I want to run the CPU defaults for now, not the overclocked settings. My temps with stock are never higher than 60°C on any core and CPU is
    pulling about 50% less power from the wall. I don't need the additional 8-10% Performance at the moment.

    I don't know if there is a Issue with the new Bios or the Tools reading clock speeds . I used CPU-Z, Aida64Extreme and NZXT CAM so far for that.

  6. #26
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array SherardG PC Specs
    SherardG PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS ROG G752 & ASUS ROG G55VW
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus X Hero
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i7-8700K
    Memory (part number)32 GB [G.Skill TZRGB] F4-3200C32Q-8GTZR x 4
    Graphics Card #1ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    MonitorASUS ROG PG248Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 PRO MZ-V6P512 (512 GB)
    Storage #2WD2003FZEX
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62
    CaseNZXT Noctis 450 ROG
    Power SupplySeasonic PRIME 80+ Ti 750 SSR-750TD
    Keyboard Logitech G413 Carbon
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
    Headset Razer Kraken Pro V2 Black
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    OS Windows 10 10.0.16299
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC88U
    SherardG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    101

    Crackling sound due to NVIDIA Drivers. Don't allow your computer to go to sleep and disable if you can any non-realtek audio solutions. I am still on BIOS v 0505 since the next update after that will severely screw with my manual configuration as LLC values are far different. Though the newer patches are more stable and provide far less stock voltage on defaults.

  7. #27
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array bass junkie xl PC Specs
    bass junkie xl PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rog X Hero Z-370 ( Wifi ) bios -2103
    Processori9-9900-Ks @ 5.0 @ 1.23v
    Memory (part number)32 GB Team Group X @ 4200 mhz cl-17-17-17-32 @1.45v / vccio = 1.18v/ vcssa = 1.20 v
    Graphics Card #1Msi Gtx 1080 TI FE @ 1911 mhz @ 1.0v Curve
    Sound CardMotherboard Realtec , Driver 87.46
    MonitorAsus PG279Q , 27 inch 165 HZ , 1440p G-Sync
    Storage #1Samsung 970 evo 1 TB m.2 nvme ssd
    Storage #2Samsung 970 evo 1 TB m.2 nvme ssd
    CPU CoolerGamermaxx L360 v2
    CaseThermaltake View 71 full Glass
    Power SupplyThermaltake Grand 750w RGB Platnuim
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platnuim RGB
    Mouse Corsair Night Sword RGB
    Headset Razer Kraken 7.1 chroma
    Mouse Pad Asus Sheeth Large
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-5500 THX 5.1
    OS Windows 10-1809 x64 Pro
    bass junkie xl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    283

    Quote Originally Posted by SherardG View Post
    Crackling sound due to NVIDIA Drivers. Don't allow your computer to go to sleep and disable if you can any non-realtek audio solutions. I am still on BIOS v 0505 since the next update after that will severely screw with my manual configuration as LLC values are far different. Though the newer patches are more stable and provide far less stock voltage on defaults.
    i never got to try 505 on my hero i tried 802 and 1003 so far .

    i have a usb razer kraken head set with the razer snapcs sound panel app

    if i disable fast start up and my razer osound panel app and all start up apps the crackling is still there and 20 % un blanced sound

  8. #28
    ROG Enthusiast Array Taint3dBulge PC Specs
    Taint3dBulge PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X Apex
    Processor8700k
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-4000C17D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080 Ti FE
    Sound CardSoundBlaster ZxR
    MonitorAcer Predator X34
    Storage #1Samsung 960 evo 1tb
    Storage #2Samsung 950 evo 1tb
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Cooled
    CaseBlackhawk Ultra
    Power SupplyEVGA 1300 G2
    Keyboard Bloody B820R
    Mouse Rat Pro X
    Headset ATH-WS1100
    Mouse Pad Corepad
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Taint3dBulge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    55

    Ahhh, it seems like there are some problems with this new bios.

    Everything is seeming to run "ok" but i just flashed it. The only thing is, my ram OC using the 901 wont work with the 1003 in the APEX. Try to run 4000mhz 17-17-17-34 T1, but can only get it to boot with 18-18-18 35 T2. so maybe im going to go back to 901. Anyone else have this problem

  9. #29
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,548

    1003 works fine on my Apex, haven't noticed having to change anything by any measurable margin to tune ram at same speed and timings but it is not unusual to have to do so, it is a different bios

  10. #30
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array SherardG PC Specs
    SherardG PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS ROG G752 & ASUS ROG G55VW
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus X Hero
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i7-8700K
    Memory (part number)32 GB [G.Skill TZRGB] F4-3200C32Q-8GTZR x 4
    Graphics Card #1ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    MonitorASUS ROG PG248Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 PRO MZ-V6P512 (512 GB)
    Storage #2WD2003FZEX
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62
    CaseNZXT Noctis 450 ROG
    Power SupplySeasonic PRIME 80+ Ti 750 SSR-750TD
    Keyboard Logitech G413 Carbon
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
    Headset Razer Kraken Pro V2 Black
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    OS Windows 10 10.0.16299
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC88U
    SherardG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    101

    Quote Originally Posted by bass junkie xl View Post
    i never got to try 505 on my hero i tried 802 and 1003 so far .

    i have a usb razer kraken head set with the razer snapcs sound panel app

    if i disable fast start up and my razer osound panel app and all start up apps the crackling is still there and 20 % un blanced sound
    I also use Razer Synapse with Razer Surround Pro (I have a Kraken Pro v2 but the analog one). I think you are still using hybrid sleep. It has something to do with NVIDIA Drivers. Try to force a restart and see if the issue still persists.

    Watching your thread to see if I should update to the new BIOS And the ext_fan headers are for fans only and have a 1 amp throughput. Try the water pump header which is same as high amperage fan header @ 3 amps.

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •