Page 1 of 70 1 2 3 11 51 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 693
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    SPECTRE and MELTDOWN: Bug rocks Intel / ARM CPUs

    Kinda glad I bought AMD this round. For those who don't know there is a new bug affecting just about every SKU from Intel made in the last .. ohh.. _DECADE_ or so. It's actually worse then F00F or FDIV. Only mitigation appears to castrate the CPU upward of 30%! (depending on processes).

    Can Asus confirm AMD and more importantly for me, this or any AMD motherboard are not affected? If so, will there be RMAs?

    Fun fact, Intel's CEO dumped stock back in November before they started issuing gags on people from even talking about it.

    *****ASUS advisory page(may get updated): https://www.asus.com/News/V5urzYAT6myCC1o2 ******
    Last edited by xeromist; 01-12-2018 at 11:31 PM. Reason: added link

  2. #2
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,799

    Quote Originally Posted by segfaulted View Post
    Kinda glad I bought AMD this round. For those who don't know there is a new bug affecting just about every SKU from Intel made in the last .. ohh.. _DECADE_ or so. It's actually worse then F00F or FDIV. Only mitigation appears to castrate the CPU upward of 30%! (depending on processes).

    Can Asus confirm AMD and more importantly for me, this or any AMD motherboard are not affected? If so, will there be RMAs?

    Fun fact, Intel's CEO dumped stock back in November before they started issuing gags on people from even talking about it.


    Do you run or host a number of virtual machines? If not, then you should feel about the same as you did before you read about this. You're still using the same hardware you were when you purchased it.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone View Post
    Do you run or host a number of virtual machines? If not, then you should feel about the same as you did before you read about this. You're still using the same hardware you were when you purchased it.

    I do but it has nothing to do with the number of VMs.

    It will hit enterprise users hard regardless.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array panzlock PC Specs
    panzlock PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS X553M, ASUS Zenpad 10 Z300M, ASUS X542BA-DH99
    MotherboardASUS P8Z68-V LX, ASUS Z170-A, ASUS ROG Strix B350-F Gaming
    ProcessorIntel i5-2500K, Intel i7-6700K, AMD Ryzen R7 1700
    Memory (part number)8GB Kingston 1333MhzDDR3 C9, 16GB G.Skill Aegis 3000Mhz DDR4 C16, 16GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200Mhz C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 560Ti, ASUS ROG Strix GeForce GTX 1070 O8G OC, Sapphire Nitro+ RX Vega 56
    Monitor32" INSIGNIA 720p, 32" Samsung 1080p C32F391FWN, 32" ASUS 1440p VA32AQ
    Storage #1Seagate 150GB 7200RPM, Samsung 850 EVO 250GB 2.5" 6Gb/s Solid State Drive (X2)
    Storage #2Seagate 500GB 7200RPM, WD Blue 3TB - 5400 RPM SATA 6 Gb/s 64MB Cache 3.5 Inch
    CPU CoolerDeepcool GAMMAXX 300, Deepcool Lucifer V2, Wraith Spire
    CaseAntec Sonata, Deepcool Dukase V1, Deepcool Dukase V3
    Power SupplyATX 650, EVGA SuperNOVA 850 P2 (X2)
    Keyboard Logitech K220, MSI Interceptor DS4200 (X2)
    Mouse Microsoft 1850, Microsoft 4500, Gamdias Erebos LE, MSI DS 100, Redragon M601 Centrophorus
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z313, Logitech Z506 (X2)
    OS Windows 10 Home X64, Windows 10 Pro X64 (X2)
    panzlock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    54
    Posts
    701

    I'd like to deploy my troops in her country.

  5. #5
    untouched Array Praz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    137
    Posts
    4,038

    Quote Originally Posted by segfaulted View Post
    Kinda glad I bought AMD this round. For those who don't know there is a new bug affecting just about every SKU from Intel made in the last .. ohh.. _DECADE_ or so. It's actually worse then F00F or FDIV. Only mitigation appears to castrate the CPU upward of 30%! (depending on processes).

    Can Asus confirm AMD and more importantly for me, this or any AMD motherboard are not affected? If so, will there be RMAs?

    Fun fact, Intel's CEO dumped stock back in November before they started issuing gags on people from even talking about it.
    Hello

    This is an issue concerning the processor not the motherboard. As such, regardless of the platform, there is absolutely no valid reason for motherboard RMAs. While you are relishing in the fact of purchasing AMD keep in mind the fixes being pushed out will cripple AMD performance as well.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    37
    Posts
    122

    Quote Originally Posted by Praz View Post
    Hello

    While you are relishing in the fact of purchasing AMD keep in mind the fixes being pushed out will cripple AMD performance as well.

    Perhaps in the first fixes, but it is nonsense that a patch that hits performance would be permanently applied to processors do not need it:

    Linux Will End Up Disabling x86 PTI For AMD Processors

    https://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux...utm_source=anz

    Hope Windows do the same.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    25

    As Linus Torvalds (founder of the Linux kernel), lets rip on Chipzilla:
    Quotes:
    "“Meltdown” is the name given to a side-channel attack on memory isolation that affects most Intel chips since 2010, as well as a few Arm cores.
    […]
    Meltdown – on Intel CPUs and the Arm Cortex-A75 – allows normal applications to read protected kernel memory, allowing them to steal passwords and other secrets.
    […]
    There’s also another security flaw named Spectre that affects, to varying degrees, Intel, AMD, and Arm. Depending on your CPU, Spectre allows normal apps to potentially steal information from other apps, the kernel, or the underlying hypervisor. Spectre is difficult to exploit, but also difficult to fully patch – and is going to be the real stinger from all of this.
    […]
    On vulnerable systems, Meltdown allows user programs to read from private and sensitive kernel address spaces, including kernel-sharing sandboxes like Docker or Xen in paravirtualization mode. And when you’ve stolen the keys to the kingdom, such as cryptographic secrets, you’ll probably find you can indeed corrupt, modify or delete data, pal.
    […]
    Chipzilla doesn’t want you to know that every Intel processor since 1995 that implements out-of-order execution is potentially affected by Meltdown – except Itanium, and the Atom before 2013.


    Meltdown and Spectre CPU Flaws Affect Intel, ARM, AMD Processors
    https://amp.thehackernews.com/thn/20...erability.html

    "Everyone Is Affected": Why The Implications Of The Intel "Bug" Are Staggering
    Security vulnerability aside, the fix may be just as bad: it would result in a significant slowdown of the CPU, and the resultant machine. Because the exploit takes advantage of a technology intended to accelerate the performance of the processors, the fix slows them, said the person.
    https://www.zerohedge.com/news/2018-...are-staggering

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array panzlock PC Specs
    panzlock PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS X553M, ASUS Zenpad 10 Z300M, ASUS X542BA-DH99
    MotherboardASUS P8Z68-V LX, ASUS Z170-A, ASUS ROG Strix B350-F Gaming
    ProcessorIntel i5-2500K, Intel i7-6700K, AMD Ryzen R7 1700
    Memory (part number)8GB Kingston 1333MhzDDR3 C9, 16GB G.Skill Aegis 3000Mhz DDR4 C16, 16GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200Mhz C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 560Ti, ASUS ROG Strix GeForce GTX 1070 O8G OC, Sapphire Nitro+ RX Vega 56
    Monitor32" INSIGNIA 720p, 32" Samsung 1080p C32F391FWN, 32" ASUS 1440p VA32AQ
    Storage #1Seagate 150GB 7200RPM, Samsung 850 EVO 250GB 2.5" 6Gb/s Solid State Drive (X2)
    Storage #2Seagate 500GB 7200RPM, WD Blue 3TB - 5400 RPM SATA 6 Gb/s 64MB Cache 3.5 Inch
    CPU CoolerDeepcool GAMMAXX 300, Deepcool Lucifer V2, Wraith Spire
    CaseAntec Sonata, Deepcool Dukase V1, Deepcool Dukase V3
    Power SupplyATX 650, EVGA SuperNOVA 850 P2 (X2)
    Keyboard Logitech K220, MSI Interceptor DS4200 (X2)
    Mouse Microsoft 1850, Microsoft 4500, Gamdias Erebos LE, MSI DS 100, Redragon M601 Centrophorus
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z313, Logitech Z506 (X2)
    OS Windows 10 Home X64, Windows 10 Pro X64 (X2)
    panzlock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    54
    Posts
    701

    People making lots of threads about this issue. Can we please centralize them so we know what;s going on, exactly? If a mod could merge threads or something, that would be nice.
    I'd like to deploy my troops in her country.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array ManMountain PC Specs
    ManMountain PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Zenith Extreme X399
    ProcessorThreadripper 1950x
    Memory (part number)Kingston HyperX Predator 32GB (HX433C16PB3K4/32)
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1070
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorLG 34" Ultrawide
    Storage #14 x Seagate BarraCuda 4TB 5900RPM SATA 6Gb/s
    Storage #22 x SSD (120 GB OCZ, 250 GB Samsung)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H80i V2
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 650
    Power SupplySuper Flower Leadex II 850W 80 Plus Gold Modular
    Keyboard Microsoft keyboard
    Mouse Microsoft mouse
    OS Windows 10 x64 Enterprise

    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    There are two flaws, SPECTRE and MELTDOWN. The SPECTRE issue applies to Intel, AMD and ARM and the MELTDOWN problem affects Intel, not AMD.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array panzlock PC Specs
    panzlock PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS X553M, ASUS Zenpad 10 Z300M, ASUS X542BA-DH99
    MotherboardASUS P8Z68-V LX, ASUS Z170-A, ASUS ROG Strix B350-F Gaming
    ProcessorIntel i5-2500K, Intel i7-6700K, AMD Ryzen R7 1700
    Memory (part number)8GB Kingston 1333MhzDDR3 C9, 16GB G.Skill Aegis 3000Mhz DDR4 C16, 16GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200Mhz C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 560Ti, ASUS ROG Strix GeForce GTX 1070 O8G OC, Sapphire Nitro+ RX Vega 56
    Monitor32" INSIGNIA 720p, 32" Samsung 1080p C32F391FWN, 32" ASUS 1440p VA32AQ
    Storage #1Seagate 150GB 7200RPM, Samsung 850 EVO 250GB 2.5" 6Gb/s Solid State Drive (X2)
    Storage #2Seagate 500GB 7200RPM, WD Blue 3TB - 5400 RPM SATA 6 Gb/s 64MB Cache 3.5 Inch
    CPU CoolerDeepcool GAMMAXX 300, Deepcool Lucifer V2, Wraith Spire
    CaseAntec Sonata, Deepcool Dukase V1, Deepcool Dukase V3
    Power SupplyATX 650, EVGA SuperNOVA 850 P2 (X2)
    Keyboard Logitech K220, MSI Interceptor DS4200 (X2)
    Mouse Microsoft 1850, Microsoft 4500, Gamdias Erebos LE, MSI DS 100, Redragon M601 Centrophorus
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z313, Logitech Z506 (X2)
    OS Windows 10 Home X64, Windows 10 Pro X64 (X2)
    panzlock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    54
    Posts
    701

    Guru3d claims no performance hit after updates that they could find so far:

    https://forums.guru3d.com/threads/ke....418750/page-8
    I'd like to deploy my troops in her country.

Page 1 of 70 1 2 3 11 51 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •