Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array andy_lamp PC Specs
    andy_lamp PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Zenith Extreme
    ProcessorAMD Threadripper 1950x
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C16Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte G1 GTX 980 Ti
    Graphics Card #2Gigabyte 750 Ti
    MonitorDell U3017
    Storage #1Intel Optane 900p 480GB (PCI-e)
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Evo
    CPU CoolerEnermax TR4 360
    CaseCorsair 600q
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    OS Windows 10 x64 (1709)

    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Thumbs up Freezing computer if left overnight.

    Hello,

    My computer freezes if left overnight; it's actually really weird. Before moving the mouse to light up the screens the computer is working but once mouse moves and screens turn on again -- bam freezes. The system passes all of the usual benchmarks running for a long time (10h+). I am not overclocking or anything -- just having my memory set to their DCOP settings (and memory was picked based on QVL list). The only culprit is that I get very often "ACPI 15" related errors/warnings in the event viewer prompting for a BIOS upgrade just before freezing happens -- currently am running on 902 but this issue was present on all BIOSes that this board had so far. Of course I checked my windows installation for corruption using "sfc /scannow" but it's okay.

    Sample error message:
    The description for Event ID 56 from source Application Popup cannot be found. Either the component that raises this event is not installed on your local computer or the installation is corrupted. You can install or repair the component on the local computer.

    If the event originated on another computer, the display information had to be saved with the event.

    The following information was included with the event:

    ACPI
    15

    the message resource is present but the message is not found in the string/message table
    Sample warning:

    : The embedded controller (EC) returned data when none was requested. The BIOS might be trying to access the EC without synchronizing with the operating system. This data will be ignored. No further action is necessary; however, you should check with your computer manufacturer for an upgraded BIOS.

    Finally, I am not willing to put the time or effort or electricity costs in addressing these issues; this board has been a nightmare and I cannot leave my virtual machines open as I risk corrupting them with this CPU behavior; ASUS needs to get its **** together and fix the myriad of issues this board has as they are charging 500+ euros for this.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array gupsterg PC Specs
    gupsterg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Ranger
    Processori5 4690K
    Memory (part number)HyperX Savage 2400MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 Fury X (1145/545 Custom ROM)
    MonitorAsus MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2HGST 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalRight Archon SB-E X2
    CaseSilverstone Temjin 06
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850
    Headset/Speakers HyperX Cloud
    OS Win 7 Pro x64 / Win 10 Pro x64
    gupsterg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    102
    Posts
    982

    Usually if my PC is left on overnight it's under load, but recently one night forgot to switch it off after a test. RealBench (screenie link) had been ran prior to idling period of ~8hrs.

    The ACPI 15 event with the message you have posted is harmless, link. I have experienced it on M7R, C6H and ZE.
    Last edited by gupsterg; 01-06-2018 at 01:35 PM.
    Intel Defector AMD Rebel

    TR 1950X - Custom WC - Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha - G.Skill Trident Z 3400MHz C14 QC - RX VEGA 64
    R5 3600 - Custom WC - Asus Crosshair VII Hero Wifi - G.Skill Ripjaws V 3800MHz C16 - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic

    24/7 OC: i5 4690K @ 4.9GHz CPU@1.255v 4.4GHz Cache@1.10v - Archon SB-E X2 - Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    Sapphire Fury X (1145/545 ~17.7K GS 3DM FS)

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array andy_lamp PC Specs
    andy_lamp PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Zenith Extreme
    ProcessorAMD Threadripper 1950x
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C16Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte G1 GTX 980 Ti
    Graphics Card #2Gigabyte 750 Ti
    MonitorDell U3017
    Storage #1Intel Optane 900p 480GB (PCI-e)
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Evo
    CPU CoolerEnermax TR4 360
    CaseCorsair 600q
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    OS Windows 10 x64 (1709)

    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    thanks for the reply -- but I am not willing to debug my stuff for them; it costs both time and money. I bought an expensive product and all of my components were supposed to be working well together...my RAM was even picked from QVL; additionally, am not using any fancy NVMe raid or anything like that... if I leave my computer overnight or a day idling it freezes for no apparent reason (temps etc everything looks fine). This is kind of unacceptable when buying hardware this expensive...

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Cory29 PC Specs
    Cory29 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Zenith extreme x399
    Processor1950x
    Memory (part number)G Skill F4-3200C16-8GTZ - 64gb
    Graphics Card #1GIGABYTE GeForce GTX 980 Ti WF
    Monitorcintiq 22hd touch
    Storage #1Sam SSD 850 EVO 1TB
    CPU Coolerxspc block - D5 - 3x120 slim rad
    CaseView 71 (doesn't fit board)
    Power SupplyEVGA supernova 1000G3
    Keyboard K95

    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    131

    Thumbs up

    If it doesn't freeze it will run all the fans at 100%

    this board is full of fun bugs .. I would open a support ticket with asus and just copy and paste this form

    its been 4 months and the only real thing they attempted to fix was memory everything else hasn't really had an effect

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array jpmboy PC Specs
    jpmboy PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Apex
    Processor7980XE
    Memory (part number)G.SKill 3600c15 (2x)2x8GB
    Graphics Card #1Titan V
    Graphics Card #2Titan V
    MonitorROG PG278Q
    Storage #1Intel 900P
    Storage #24TB Raid 10
    CPU CoolerCustom Water
    Power SupplyAX1500i
    Keyboard Ducky
    Mouse ROG Spatha
    Headset Ultimate Ears Custom IEMs
    OS Win 10/Win7 Pro
    jpmboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    118

    Board freezing after an extended idle period (and all sleep states disabled) may be related to Windows 10 1709 PCIE and USB power management. On windows desktop make a folder, name it "GodMode.{ED7BA470-8E54-465E-825C-99712043E01C}" without the quotations, you have access to pretty much every setting you can change in Windows on your PC. scroll down to power, the n change the advanced power settings : disable USB selective suspend, pcie link power state to "off".
    If the problem continues, in device manager, you need to open each USB hub controller and and every where there is a power management tab, uncheck the box to disable USB sleep.
    Worth a try, the "freeze" issue is not unique to this platform.

    lastly, if the PC is just idling all night, either switch it off or sleep/hibernate the thing.
    Last edited by jpmboy; 01-09-2018 at 02:12 AM.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Cory29 PC Specs
    Cory29 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Zenith extreme x399
    Processor1950x
    Memory (part number)G Skill F4-3200C16-8GTZ - 64gb
    Graphics Card #1GIGABYTE GeForce GTX 980 Ti WF
    Monitorcintiq 22hd touch
    Storage #1Sam SSD 850 EVO 1TB
    CPU Coolerxspc block - D5 - 3x120 slim rad
    CaseView 71 (doesn't fit board)
    Power SupplyEVGA supernova 1000G3
    Keyboard K95

    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    131

    Quote Originally Posted by jpmboy View Post
    Board freezing after an extended idle period (and all sleep states disabled) may be related to Windows 10 1709 PCIE and USB power management. On windows desktop make a folder, name it "GodMode.{ED7BA470-8E54-465E-825C-99712043E01C}" without the quotations, you have access to pretty much every setting you can change in Windows on your PC. scroll down to power, the n change the advanced power settings : disable USB selective suspend, pcie link power state to "off".
    If the problem continues, in device manager, you need to open each USB hub controller and and every where there is a power management tab, uncheck the box to disable USB sleep.
    Worth a try, the "freeze" issue is not unique to this platform.

    lastly, if the PC is just idling all night, either switch it off or sleep/hibernate the thing.
    I tried that the first week (4 months ago). Didn't change anything

    I do renders and process stuff then go to work in the morning then when I come back my computer is possessed - it only takes 4 to 5 hours for weirdness to start

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array jpmboy PC Specs
    jpmboy PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Apex
    Processor7980XE
    Memory (part number)G.SKill 3600c15 (2x)2x8GB
    Graphics Card #1Titan V
    Graphics Card #2Titan V
    MonitorROG PG278Q
    Storage #1Intel 900P
    Storage #24TB Raid 10
    CPU CoolerCustom Water
    Power SupplyAX1500i
    Keyboard Ducky
    Mouse ROG Spatha
    Headset Ultimate Ears Custom IEMs
    OS Win 10/Win7 Pro
    jpmboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    118

    lol - sounds like an exorcism is in order. :0

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array andy_lamp PC Specs
    andy_lamp PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Zenith Extreme
    ProcessorAMD Threadripper 1950x
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C16Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte G1 GTX 980 Ti
    Graphics Card #2Gigabyte 750 Ti
    MonitorDell U3017
    Storage #1Intel Optane 900p 480GB (PCI-e)
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Evo
    CPU CoolerEnermax TR4 360
    CaseCorsair 600q
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    OS Windows 10 x64 (1709)

    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    uhm -- sorry, this is not correct; I used to have an Intel Core i7 3930k with a Rampage IV Extreme and it was rock solid. And all of my other PC's are fine, including an AMD Ryzen 1800x (but that has an MSI board). When I pay that much for a product I expect it to work as advertised and not being constantly on forums whining about how bad the BIOS is (the hardware itself it quite nice though).

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array GeekhomeGamer PC Specs
    GeekhomeGamer PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Macbook pro i7 2.3 17"- Macbook pro retina 15 2015 i7 2.3
    MotherboardZenith Extreme
    ProcessorAMD Threadripper 1950x
    Memory (part number)G.Skill TZR 8x16 cl14 3200
    Graphics Card #1Gigabite GTX 1060 &GB Rev2 Aorus Extreme
    Graphics Card #2Titan XP
    Graphics Card #3Titan XP
    Sound CardIntegrated
    MonitorSony Bravia 46
    Storage #1Corsair mp500 512
    Storage #2ForceGT 512 SSD + Samsung 850Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerEnermax TR4 360 AIO
    CaseCougar Conquer
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Apple keyboard
    Mouse Cheap Microsoft mouse
    Headset Powerbeats3 Wireless
    Mouse Pad My table
    OS Windows 10 Pro FCU 1709
    Accessory #1 2x Corsair Lightning Node Pro + TR360 Liquid AIO
    Accessory #2 4 RGB Led Stripes + 3 Corsair LL120
    Accessory #3 Integrated 7" side case Display monitor for temps
    GeekhomeGamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    One of possible cause is the LLC settings on bios.

    if you have set it to level 3 .. try level 4...

    windows event system is not the best way to throubleshooting this problems.

    Quote Originally Posted by andy_lamp View Post
    Hello,

    My computer freezes if left overnight; it's actually really weird. Before moving the mouse to light up the screens the computer is working but once mouse moves and screens turn on again -- bam freezes. The system passes all of the usual benchmarks running for a long time (10h+). I am not overclocking or anything -- just having my memory set to their DCOP settings (and memory was picked based on QVL list). The only culprit is that I get very often "ACPI 15" related errors/warnings in the event viewer prompting for a BIOS upgrade just before freezing happens -- currently am running on 902 but this issue was present on all BIOSes that this board had so far. Of course I checked my windows installation for corruption using "sfc /scannow" but it's okay.

    Sample error message:


    Sample warning:




    Finally, I am not willing to put the time or effort or electricity costs in addressing these issues; this board has been a nightmare and I cannot leave my virtual machines open as I risk corrupting them with this CPU behavior; ASUS needs to get its **** together and fix the myriad of issues this board has as they are charging 500+ euros for this.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •