Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array gridironcpj PC Specs
    gridironcpj PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme Omega
    Processori9 7980XE @ 4.8GHz
    Memory (part number)Trident Z RGB 4000 CL16 32GB
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080 Ti
    MonitorROG PG27UQ
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo Plus 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 960 Evo 1TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600 T2
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse Logitech G502 RGB
    Headset Sennheiser HD 650
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Accessory #1 Schiit Valhalla 2 Tube Amp
    Accessory #2 Schiit Modi 2 Uber DAC
    Accessory #3 Blue Yeti Blackout Edition
    gridironcpj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    26

    RVIE: Memory Write Much Worse Than Read and Copy

    I recently noticed that my memory write speed is much lower than my read or copy speeds when tested in AIDA64's cache and memory benchmark. For reference, I am using a Rampage VI Extreme and a 7920X. The memory used in the results below is a Trident Z RGB 32GB C16 3600 kit manually overclocked to 3800MHz with tighter secondary and tertiary timings.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	postsecpatch.png 
Views:	83 
Size:	91.4 KB 
ID:	70270

    As you can see, the write speed is significantly lower than the read and copy speeds. Every result I've seen with Skylake-X CPUs show much better results. Based on similar memory overclocks, I should at least be over 95K in write speed.

    So far, to diagnose the issue, I tried running a different BIOS (1003 instead of 1004) and that did not make a difference. I then put my old Corsair 32GB C16 3200 kit that I used for my X99 build. I manually set the timings to be more or less the same as the my manual settings for the Trident Z kit, but kept the speed at 3200MHz. Here were those results:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	cachememcorsair.png 
Views:	69 
Size:	91.7 KB 
ID:	70271

    So despite the lower memory speed, the Corsair kit is able to hit a slightly higher memory write speed. Just to be on the safe side, I returned my Trident Z RGB kit. I will probably replace it with the same kit, although I'm open to suggestions. Even the Corsair kit is showing a big gap between read and write speeds. My worry is that my motherboard or CPU are defective...? I'll note that I have not had any odd benchmark scores anywhere else except in this write speed portion of AIDA64's cache and memory benchmark. My system performs just fine with no issues.

    I'm no expert on the matter, but could it be something off with my CPU's IMC? Or maybe my motherboard has a fault dimm slot or two? I'd love some suggestions on the matter since this small issue is sort of driving me crazy.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array CSN7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    133

    Hah! Glad that someone brings this up! I noticed the same behavior. I was freaking out about it, too. I even changed from an EVGA X299 board to an APEX because I thought the EVGA board was the cause. Nope same situation the write speeds seem to be stuck. You will notice it can mainly be affect by Mesh frequency.

    One thing we have in common is the 7920X.

    Either the smallest of the HCC die chips has been somewhat cut down on the memory controller by intel hence there is not a single review unit send out by intel so there are literally no reviews on the 7920X out there so no one notices it's shortcomings OR Aida64 just doesn't monitor the write speed correctly on this chip. Because what leads me to this conclusion is that I tried other benchmarks and they actually report a write speed that is somewhat higher than read and copy, more like it's supposed to be.

    For reference this is a Corsair Dominator Torque SE 3200Mhz (I have tightened the second & third timings a lot and Mesh runs @3200, but same overall scenario):
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	cachemem apex.png 
Views:	63 
Size:	91.1 KB 
ID:	70281
    Last edited by CSN7; 01-07-2018 at 09:12 PM.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array restsugavan PC Specs
    restsugavan PC Specs
    MotherboardRAMPAGE VI EXTREME
    ProcessorCore i9 7980XE
    Memory (part number)64GB GSKILL TRIDENT-Z RGB 3200
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG POSEIDON 1080Ti
    MonitorSAMSUNG UD590D
    Storage #1INTEL600P 1TB
    Storage #2WD 4TB External HDD
    CPU CoolerNZXT KRAKEN 62
    CaseCorsair Carbine 540
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Microsoft
    Mouse Microsoft
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Sony
    OS Windows 10 2019 Insider Preview 19002.1
    Network RouterD-LINK
    restsugavan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    36
    Posts
    388

    Quote Originally Posted by Bash4Sure View Post
    Hah! Glad that someone brings this up! I noticed the same behavior. I was freaking out about it, too. I even changed from an EVGA X299 board to an APEX because I thought the EVGA board was the cause. Nope same situation the write speeds seem to be stuck. You will notice it can mainly be affect by Mesh frequency.

    One thing we have in common is the 7920X.

    Either the smallest of the HCC die chips has been somewhat cut down on the memory controller by intel hence there is not a single review unit send out by intel so there are literally no reviews on the 7920X out there so no one notices it's shortcomings OR Aida64 just doesn't monitor the write speed correctly on this chip. Because what leads me to this conclusion is that I tried other benchmarks and they actually report a write speed that is somewhat higher than read and copy, more like it's supposed to be.

    For reference this is a Corsair Dominator Torque SE 3200Mhz (I have tightened the second & third timings a lot and Mesh runs @3200, but same overall scenario):
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	cachemem apex.png 
Views:	63 
Size:	91.1 KB 
ID:	70281
    Due Skylake SP Core microarchitect L1 cache data cache are 512-bit wide with allow 2 x 64Byte load and 1 x 64Byte store.
    Thus almost case Read Speed much faster than write.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array CSN7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    133

    Okay makes sense, but still I've seen screens of 7960X / 7980XE that show normal write speeds. So something is slightly off.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,547

    Have either of you tried one of the memory presets in the memory timing section of the bios? I don't know what presets are available for the R6E but the R6A has a 1.4v 4000mhz profile that works really well. I see some guys reporting it works for them using Gskill 3200mhz 14-14-14 kits and 3600mhz 16-16-16 kits, I am using it with 2 kits of 3600 15-15-15 at the moment, these type of bios presets is one of the reasons I like to purchase the top boards, it can help the experienced like myself. Even if you can't run at 4000mhz you can still select the profile and then set a lower speed and be in the ballpark so to speak.
    What cache speed are you running?

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array gridironcpj PC Specs
    gridironcpj PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme Omega
    Processori9 7980XE @ 4.8GHz
    Memory (part number)Trident Z RGB 4000 CL16 32GB
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080 Ti
    MonitorROG PG27UQ
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo Plus 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 960 Evo 1TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600 T2
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse Logitech G502 RGB
    Headset Sennheiser HD 650
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Accessory #1 Schiit Valhalla 2 Tube Amp
    Accessory #2 Schiit Modi 2 Uber DAC
    Accessory #3 Blue Yeti Blackout Edition
    gridironcpj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    26

    Quote Originally Posted by Bash4Sure View Post
    Hah! Glad that someone brings this up! I noticed the same behavior. I was freaking out about it, too. I even changed from an EVGA X299 board to an APEX because I thought the EVGA board was the cause. Nope same situation the write speeds seem to be stuck. You will notice it can mainly be affect by Mesh frequency.

    One thing we have in common is the 7920X.

    Either the smallest of the HCC die chips has been somewhat cut down on the memory controller by intel hence there is not a single review unit send out by intel so there are literally no reviews on the 7920X out there so no one notices it's shortcomings OR Aida64 just doesn't monitor the write speed correctly on this chip. Because what leads me to this conclusion is that I tried other benchmarks and they actually report a write speed that is somewhat higher than read and copy, more like it's supposed to be.

    For reference this is a Corsair Dominator Torque SE 3200Mhz (I have tightened the second & third timings a lot and Mesh runs @3200, but same overall scenario):
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	cachemem apex.png 
Views:	63 
Size:	91.1 KB 
ID:	70281
    Well this is both a relief and a slight worry. It's a relief in that my hardware probably isn't defective then. It's a slight worry because I've seen the 7820X and 7900X with better memory write results, so it would be unfortunate if the 7920X turned out to have the worst memory controller. I'm hoping it's just AIDA64 like you are thinking. What other benchmarks have you used for your memory?

    I was debating between the 7920X and 7960X and I chose the 7920X due to its decent pricing per core versus the 7960X and I reasoned that the only difference in performance would be attributed to the core count difference.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array gridironcpj PC Specs
    gridironcpj PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme Omega
    Processori9 7980XE @ 4.8GHz
    Memory (part number)Trident Z RGB 4000 CL16 32GB
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080 Ti
    MonitorROG PG27UQ
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo Plus 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 960 Evo 1TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600 T2
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse Logitech G502 RGB
    Headset Sennheiser HD 650
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Accessory #1 Schiit Valhalla 2 Tube Amp
    Accessory #2 Schiit Modi 2 Uber DAC
    Accessory #3 Blue Yeti Blackout Edition
    gridironcpj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    26

    Quote Originally Posted by Menthol View Post
    Have either of you tried one of the memory presets in the memory timing section of the bios? I don't know what presets are available for the R6E but the R6A has a 1.4v 4000mhz profile that works really well. I see some guys reporting it works for them using Gskill 3200mhz 14-14-14 kits and 3600mhz 16-16-16 kits, I am using it with 2 kits of 3600 15-15-15 at the moment, these type of bios presets is one of the reasons I like to purchase the top boards, it can help the experienced like myself. Even if you can't run at 4000mhz you can still select the profile and then set a lower speed and be in the ballpark so to speak.
    What cache speed are you running?
    I have the Extreme, which turns out to be a worse board for memory overclocking (go figure). I had so many issues trying to stabilize 4000MHz with the C16 3600MHz Trident Z RGB kit I had. I was able to pass 1000% of HCI only for it to fail before 50% the next day. Again, it could be the 7920X's memory controller somehow being worse than every other Skylake-X CPU or it could be the Extreme simply not being so Extreme anymore like it was in previous generations. I had to settle for a 3800MHz memory OC with good secondary and tertiaries.

    My cache is at 3100MHz. I tried 3200, but I kept getting BSODs at the Windows login screen. This was the case even at 1.2V on the cache. I only attempted it with the 3800MHz memory OC though, so maybe a lower memory OC would not produce the BSODs. The voltage increase from 3100MHz to 3200MHz must be absurd for me. I can do 3000MHz at 1.05V and 3100MHz at 1.1V.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array CSN7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    133

    Quote Originally Posted by Menthol View Post
    Have either of you tried one of the memory presets in the memory timing section of the bios? I don't know what presets are available for the R6E but the R6A has a 1.4v 4000mhz profile that works really well. I see some guys reporting it works for them using Gskill 3200mhz 14-14-14 kits and 3600mhz 16-16-16 kits, I am using it with 2 kits of 3600 15-15-15 at the moment, these type of bios presets is one of the reasons I like to purchase the top boards, it can help the experienced like myself. Even if you can't run at 4000mhz you can still select the profile and then set a lower speed and be in the ballpark so to speak.
    What cache speed are you running?
    @Menthol yes I tried the preset to get an idea first but they are quiet a bit slower than my current timings, while still maintaining 1.35 vDimm. I could tighten the primary timings by just adding volts, but it doesn't offer much performance honestly.

    For comparison:
    @1.35 vDimm
    0.875v SA
    1.125v IO
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	timings.png 
Views:	46 
Size:	47.0 KB 
ID:	70292

    And Mesh is @3200 anything above gets really difficult on the bigger chips unfortunately. Could pass XTU with 3300Mhz Mesh but that needs 1.32 IO and 1.34 vMesh so not suitable for 24/7 http://hwbot.org/submission/3754653_
    Last edited by CSN7; 01-08-2018 at 09:01 AM.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array CSN7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    133

    Quote Originally Posted by gridironcpj View Post
    I have the Extreme, which turns out to be a worse board for memory overclocking (go figure). I had so many issues trying to stabilize 4000MHz with the C16 3600MHz Trident Z RGB kit I had. I was able to pass 1000% of HCI only for it to fail before 50% the next day. Again, it could be the 7920X's memory controller somehow being worse than every other Skylake-X CPU or it could be the Extreme simply not being so Extreme anymore like it was in previous generations. I had to settle for a 3800MHz memory OC with good secondary and tertiaries.

    My cache is at 3100MHz. I tried 3200, but I kept getting BSODs at the Windows login screen. This was the case even at 1.2V on the cache. I only attempted it with the 3800MHz memory OC though, so maybe a lower memory OC would not produce the BSODs. The voltage increase from 3100MHz to 3200MHz must be absurd for me. I can do 3000MHz at 1.05V and 3100MHz at 1.1V.
    Your SA and IO voltages need a bump for higher Mesh/Cache, try the values I provided and go from there. 3800Mhz Ram will most certainly need a bump in Uncore voltage aswell in range of +300

    OH and for memory benchmark, I don't quite remember all, just tried pretty much anything google provided me with. Many benchmark incorporate memory tests along side their other tests but you'll get an idea. Never did I encounter low write performance like in Aida64 though, more like the opposite, very confusing.
    Last edited by CSN7; 01-08-2018 at 09:08 AM.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array DooRules's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    414

    Quote Originally Posted by Menthol View Post
    Have either of you tried one of the memory presets in the memory timing section of the bios? I don't know what presets are available for the R6E but the R6A has a 1.4v 4000mhz profile that works really well. I see some guys reporting it works for them using Gskill 3200mhz 14-14-14 kits and 3600mhz 16-16-16 kits, I am using it with 2 kits of 3600 15-15-15 at the moment, these type of bios presets is one of the reasons I like to purchase the top boards, it can help the experienced like myself. Even if you can't run at 4000mhz you can still select the profile and then set a lower speed and be in the ballpark so to speak.
    What cache speed are you running?
    Hey Menthol. I am using a GSkill 3200 C14 kit from last build on x299, with the same bios preset just tweaked a little. Have not tried to go above 4000 yet. Volatge at 1.4.

    7980XE on Asus ApexVI
    Zotac 2080Ti
    Intel 900P
    2 x Samsung 950 Pro
    EVGA 1600W
    Alienware 34"
    Samsung 28" 4K

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •