Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 24
  1. #11
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,548

    DooRules, that's very similar to what I have experienced, 4000 mhz performs about the best, 3000 cache, 3200 if your CPU can do it without adding to much voltage

    Bash4Sure, excellent XTU score, tighter timings can give more performance than clocks, the proof is in the pudding

    gridironcpj, yes the Apex with only 4 memory slots is designed with memory performance in mind, the Extreme has it all, performance, looks, extras that the Apex doesn't, the RGB memory kits don't overclock quit as well as the standard Z kits, they have a different pcb with the added LED's, but are still very good

  2. #12
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,822

    Low write speeds will mostly be in the sub-timings. I've had great results with Raja's 4K profile on the Apex, too with 3200Mhz B-die kits. You can sometimes even work down from there if the memory is good for it.

  3. #13
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array tistou77 PC Specs
    tistou77 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    Processor7980XE @4.6Ghz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    Sound CardXonar Phoebus
    MonitorDell U2417H
    Storage #1Intel M2 Optane 905P
    Storage #2Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    CPU CoolerWatercooling
    CaseLian Li A77F
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    Keyboard Logitech LIK
    Mouse Logitech MX revolution
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    tistou77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    91
    Posts
    1,427

    Quote Originally Posted by Menthol View Post
    DooRules, that's very similar to what I have experienced, 4000 mhz performs about the best, 3000 cache, 3200 if your CPU can do it without adding to much voltage
    What max voltage is recommended for the cache ?
    Sorry for my english


    Case: Lian Li A77F
    MB: Rampage VI Extreme
    CPU: i9 7980XE
    RAM: G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    GPU: EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    PSU: Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    OS: Intel M2 Optane 905P
    DATA: Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    SOUND: Asus Xonar Phoebus

  4. #14
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,822

    Quote Originally Posted by tistou77 View Post
    What max voltage is recommended for the cache ?


    I would recommend no more than 1.15v

  5. #15
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,548

    I don't know what the max is but with cache at 3200 I am using Manual Mode, CPU Cache Voltage Override 1.15, Uncore Voltage Offset 0.350 copied from another user and works well for me

  6. #16
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array CSN7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    133

    Same here 1.15v for 3200. It passes all benchmarks at 1.12 but system hangs after some time in games like the division. The bigger chips tend to need a bump in SA / IO voltage. so 0.875v SA and 1.125 IO is mandatory for me for Mesh to run at those frequencies.

    Max voltage is actually 1.35v. It doesn't introduce much additional heat, but I wouldn't run @ those 24/7. For 3300 Mesh 1.34v is necessary alongside 1.32v IO for benchmark stability on my chip. For 24/7 I wouldn't go above 1.25v

  7. #17
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array tistou77 PC Specs
    tistou77 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    Processor7980XE @4.6Ghz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    Sound CardXonar Phoebus
    MonitorDell U2417H
    Storage #1Intel M2 Optane 905P
    Storage #2Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    CPU CoolerWatercooling
    CaseLian Li A77F
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    Keyboard Logitech LIK
    Mouse Logitech MX revolution
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    tistou77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    91
    Posts
    1,427

    Ok thanks

    At the moment, I've 1.05v and 3100 for the cache (manual too, in Offset it does not work)
    I will test the cache at 3200 and see how much it requires voltage

    I tested the Uncore Voltage Offset at 0.350 too (0.485 in AUTO) but I have freeze
    I could test at 0.385 to see
    Sorry for my english


    Case: Lian Li A77F
    MB: Rampage VI Extreme
    CPU: i9 7980XE
    RAM: G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    GPU: EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    PSU: Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    OS: Intel M2 Optane 905P
    DATA: Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    SOUND: Asus Xonar Phoebus

  8. #18
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array CSN7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    133

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone View Post
    Low write speeds will mostly be in the sub-timings. I've had great results with Raja's 4K profile on the Apex, too with 3200Mhz B-die kits. You can sometimes even work down from there if the memory is good for it.
    Usually I would agree, but as written before, the 4000Mhz profile although good, is still slower and not as tight as my own manual settings and thus doesn't help in regards to slower write speeds. I posted my timings on the first page, if you see any room for improvements let me know! But as I said I highly doubt this is a timings issue. Either the 12-core chip or Aida64 itself. Because other SkylakeX chips like the 7900X or 7960X have the usual Read Write Copy throughput pattern.
    And it's not a board issue aswell, I experienced this on an EVGA board that actually had the microcode update Asus is still missing and now on the Apex, too.
    Last edited by CSN7; 01-09-2018 at 11:02 AM.

  9. #19
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array CSN7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    133

    Quote Originally Posted by tistou77 View Post
    Ok thanks

    At the moment, I've 1.05v and 3100 for the cache (manual too, in Offset it does not work)
    I will test the cache at 3200 and see how much it requires voltage

    I tested the Uncore Voltage Offset at 0.350 too (0.485 in AUTO) but I have freeze
    I could test at 0.385 to see
    Yes adaptive doesn't work with the Mesh manual is the way to go.
    From my experience Uncore Voltage had no influence on Mesh stability at all.
    When you approach high frequency on your DRAM it becomes very important. 4000Mhz needs approximatly +400 +/- . On 3200Mhz DRAM it's on +0 even on tight timings.

  10. #20
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array tistou77 PC Specs
    tistou77 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    Processor7980XE @4.6Ghz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    Sound CardXonar Phoebus
    MonitorDell U2417H
    Storage #1Intel M2 Optane 905P
    Storage #2Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    CPU CoolerWatercooling
    CaseLian Li A77F
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    Keyboard Logitech LIK
    Mouse Logitech MX revolution
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    tistou77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    91
    Posts
    1,427

    Yes, Adaptive Mode does not work for Cache
    Me it is with the Offset Mode that it does not seem to work too

    I tested the Uncore Voltage Offset at 0.35v and ram @3800
    With the ram @4000, I will look at which Offset is applied
    Sorry for my english


    Case: Lian Li A77F
    MB: Rampage VI Extreme
    CPU: i9 7980XE
    RAM: G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    GPU: EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    PSU: Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    OS: Intel M2 Optane 905P
    DATA: Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    SOUND: Asus Xonar Phoebus

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •