Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array Yarjard PC Specs
    Yarjard PC Specs
    MotherboardRog Rampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorCore i9 7940X
    Memory (part number)Gskill Trident Z RGB F4-3200C16D-16GTZR*2
    Graphics Card #1MSI GeForce GTX 970 GAMING 4G
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Cooling
    CaseSilver-Stone RV02-E
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime 850W platinum
    Mouse Rog Spatha
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit Build 16299.192

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Question Rampage VI Extreme Boot Issue

    Hello guys,

    CPU: 7940X
    MB: Rampage VI Extreme - BIOS 1004
    RAM: G.Skill Trident Z F4-3200C16-8GTZR - 8G*4

    I got some boot issue with my RVIE
    First is cold boot. If the computer was switched off for a while or maybe just a few minutes , when i turned on, it suddenly shut down without post and reboot again.
    Sometimes it will take even three or four times to login the system normally.
    I have tried all of the released BIOS but in vain.
    Load default setting didn't work either.
    Another weird things is after update the bios ,then boot on my computer, it will automatically reboot "even pass the post" just like the cold boot issue
    I remember my X79 System(RIVE+3930K) won't automatically reboot if it pass the post after update the bios Unless the updated BIOS contains irog chip updates

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array G75rog PC Specs
    G75rog PC Specs
    MotherboardR VI Apex
    ProcessorI9-7900X
    Memory (part number)64GB Gskill Trident Z
    Graphics Card #1AMD Radeon VII EKWB water block
    Graphics Card #2Waste of PCI lanes in NVME environment
    Sound CardStock
    MonitorLG 34" Ultra Wide3440x1440
    Storage #14ea 960 Pro 2TB, 2ea 970 Evo 2TB
    Storage #21ea 960 Pro 1 TB, 1ea 970 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerEKWB CPU, Swiftech Res/pump, 400mm Rad
    CaseThermaltake View 91
    Power SupplyNZXT Hale 90 1200W
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Razer Ouroboros
    OS W10 64 1809, 1903, Ubuntu Linux
    Network RouterNetgear R9000 + 4ea R9000 AP's, 10 Gb Switch
    Accessory #1 Hyper M.2 X16 V2
    Accessory #2 10GB network via Intel 550 Nic
    Accessory #3 2 10GB Asustor NAS 7000 series

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    297

    Sounds normal. Turning off power the power supply will cause the MB to institute the !st Post routine and individually test each bank of RAM before entering normal post.
    Updating a bios will cause the same action.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array Yarjard PC Specs
    Yarjard PC Specs
    MotherboardRog Rampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorCore i9 7940X
    Memory (part number)Gskill Trident Z RGB F4-3200C16D-16GTZR*2
    Graphics Card #1MSI GeForce GTX 970 GAMING 4G
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Cooling
    CaseSilver-Stone RV02-E
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime 850W platinum
    Mouse Rog Spatha
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit Build 16299.192

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Quote Originally Posted by G75rog View Post
    Sounds normal. Turning off power the power supply will cause the MB to institute the !st Post routine and individually test each bank of RAM before entering normal post.
    Updating a bios will cause the same action.
    Thanks for reply!so if I turn off the PSU then turn it back, it will casue this issue?
    But how about automatically reboot after pass post? Say it clearly is shutdown suddenly then boot again.
    And sometimes it will start up like "boot->shutdown suddenly->reboot->post" or "boot->shutdown suddenly->reboot->shutdown suddenly->reboot->post" .

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array meankeys PC Specs
    meankeys PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Apex / Maximus IX APEX / Rampage V EX V10
    Processor7920X / 5960X / 6950X / 7700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z - 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Zotac 1080 Ti
    Graphics Card #2Zotac 1080 Ti
    Graphics Card #3ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 OC
    Monitor3 X ASUS V248Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCool Express SS
    Power SupplyThermaltake Tough Power Grand 1200W
    Keyboard Cyberus
    Headset Tittan
    OS Win 7 64bit
    Network RouterASUS
    meankeys's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    104
    Posts
    1,553

    This is normal - No worry's

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array Yarjard PC Specs
    Yarjard PC Specs
    MotherboardRog Rampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorCore i9 7940X
    Memory (part number)Gskill Trident Z RGB F4-3200C16D-16GTZR*2
    Graphics Card #1MSI GeForce GTX 970 GAMING 4G
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Cooling
    CaseSilver-Stone RV02-E
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime 850W platinum
    Mouse Rog Spatha
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit Build 16299.192

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Quote Originally Posted by meankeys View Post
    This is normal - No worry's
    Okay...so"boot-> pass post -> shutdown suddenly(like power loss)-> reboot -> pass post->login windows" is normal for x299 system?
    I though pass post means "everything is ok" so it shouldn't suddenly shutdown then reboot...
    I've never experienced this on my X79 system,if pass post it will log in to windows without shutdown and reboot

  6. #6
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,855

    This is typical of most desktops. When you remove power. speciically the 5V standby everything is reinitialized. I dont know about yours but mine never posts until the initialization is done. It will light up with the first one being VERY brief then off and back on with the lights coming up and watching the Qcodes you can see whats going on. This is typically 3 cycles until it actually posts and you ge the logo screen. I cant speak for all of them but my last 4 builds did this when power is removed.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array tistou77 PC Specs
    tistou77 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme Encore
    Processor10980XE @4.6Ghz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    Sound CardXonar Phoebus
    MonitorDell U2417H
    Storage #1Intel Optane 905P PCIe
    Storage #2Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    CPU CoolerWatercooling
    CaseLian Li A77F
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    Keyboard Logitech LIK
    Mouse Logitech MX revolution
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    tistou77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    109
    Posts
    1,637

    I also have a double boot when the PSU was off before (boot => shutdown => boot)
    If the PSU is not off between the boot, no double boot
    But this issue only happens with the ram above 3200mhz, normally
    Sorry for my english


    Case: Lian Li A77F
    MB: Rampage VI Extreme Encore
    CPU: i9 10980XE
    RAM: G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    GPU: EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    PSU: Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    OS: Intel Optane 905P PCIe
    DATA: Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    SOUND: Asus Xonar Phoebus

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array G75rog PC Specs
    G75rog PC Specs
    MotherboardR VI Apex
    ProcessorI9-7900X
    Memory (part number)64GB Gskill Trident Z
    Graphics Card #1AMD Radeon VII EKWB water block
    Graphics Card #2Waste of PCI lanes in NVME environment
    Sound CardStock
    MonitorLG 34" Ultra Wide3440x1440
    Storage #14ea 960 Pro 2TB, 2ea 970 Evo 2TB
    Storage #21ea 960 Pro 1 TB, 1ea 970 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerEKWB CPU, Swiftech Res/pump, 400mm Rad
    CaseThermaltake View 91
    Power SupplyNZXT Hale 90 1200W
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Razer Ouroboros
    OS W10 64 1809, 1903, Ubuntu Linux
    Network RouterNetgear R9000 + 4ea R9000 AP's, 10 Gb Switch
    Accessory #1 Hyper M.2 X16 V2
    Accessory #2 10GB network via Intel 550 Nic
    Accessory #3 2 10GB Asustor NAS 7000 series

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    297

    Oh for the days of the IBM XT and a simple bios... I think I still have some of the eproms around here somewhere.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array glnhrrs PC Specs
    glnhrrs PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    Processor7980XE
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Tident RGB 128GB 3200MHz
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080 Ti SC2
    Graphics Card #2EVGA 1080 Ti SC2
    CPU CoolerThermaltake 360 RGB Riing
    Power SupplyCorsair 1000W Platinum
    OS Win10

    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    I am having the same issue. Seems to be doing it after most recent bios update.
    Every time I switch my pc on in morning after it being shut down overnight it will not start first go.
    It jsut stays as a blank screen with now ROG bootup menu.
    I have to power down by holding the power switch for about 5 seconds then try and start again.
    It usually starts a second time after I have done this.
    Boot up still takes about 40 seconds, which is ridiculous.
    quite frustrating.

    I have the 7980XE and R6E with 128 G.Skill trident Z and dual 1080Ti not being run in SLI

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Marko911 PC Specs
    Marko911 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage extreme VI
    Processori9 7900x @4,7Ghz cores at from 7x1,20v-3x1,21v
    Memory (part number)G.skill 32GB 3200MHZ CL14 DDR4 quad kit
    Graphics Card #1Aorus 1080ti extreme edition @2032Mhz/12000Mhz
    MonitorAsus something IPS,144Hz ,Freesync
    Storage #1m.2 Samsung EVO 960 1TB
    Storage #2m.2 Samsung EVO 960 500GB
    CPU CoolerEKWB monoblock
    CaseThermaltake view 71 TG
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000i
    Keyboard rappo wireless keyboard and mouse
    Headset Logitech G933
    OS win 10 pro/64bit
    Accessory #1 HL GTS 360mm/push only
    Accessory #2 HL SR2 360mm push/pull
    Accessory #3 HL SR2 420mm push/pull
    Marko911's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    141

    How in hell thats normal?

    I have penetrated my mobo with two -16gb and four ram-32/64gb kits(seperatly) sticks ,boots just fine,40-50sec,if I shut power off on psu,even then it starts normally about 1 min to get into desktop.(when gpu check on OLED pass,than came ROG sign)...Even when I remove my CPU from mobo,there is no restarts when I power on.It just say new CPU detected,run BIOS.-open bios,set optimized settings than exit,and voila boot just fine.*same behavior on all bios versions*
    Standby works flawlessly too,it need 2sec to wake up.
    Maybe you should contact Asus support to check with them what's up with your systems...

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •