Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    ASUS ROG Strix x370-F Gaming ISSUE with SLI

    Greetings,

    I have an issue.

    Set the new system up it was running two 550ti in sli. I was waiting for my other asus dual 1070 to arrive. Thay 1070 was in my other machine bought about 6 months ago. New one arrives. I power down remove the 550ti's and install the 1070 with HB bridge. Hit power button. Fails to boot with MB white led which is vga issue.

    Now both cards work they will work on at a time in all the slots on the new system. They both work in my older gamong rig. System is up and running now with a single card. The only thing that changed was removing 550ti x2 in sli for 1070 x2 in sli.

    I cannot figure out why it will not work.

    I have read that thw uefi might not allow it to boot becauss it doesnt know that configuration and that it might be best to start from scratch reloading the OS and such while both cards are installed.

    Again everything works fine, and works until you try to put the 1070 in sli. Then you get a no boot with the MB white led which indicates vga issue.

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Can this be sent over to the nvidia card section by an admin, since no one has respond with any help here?

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array MikeAdu PC Specs
    MikeAdu PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme/U3.1/3701 BIOS
    ProcessorIntel i7 5960X @strap 100/4,0/3.5 1,15V both/1.92V input
    Memory (part number)CMD32GX4M4B3333C16 (two sets,64Gb,8 slots)
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX 1080 Ti Turbo
    Graphics Card #3Asus GTX 1080 Ti Turbo
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster ZxR
    MonitorSamsung T260HD
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy EVO waterblock,1x360mm + 2x240mm + 2x120mm radiators
    CaseCorsair T760 White
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Logitech G19S
    Mouse Logitech G700S
    Headset Logitech G35
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System
    OS Windows 10 64bit/Windows 8.1 64bit/Windows 7 64bit

    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    245

    Hi.
    Could you please clear CMOS or update to latest bios and try again?

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Greetings,

    I had installed the most recent Bios before attempting the SLI.

    I may gave to try clearing the cmos. Can you explain why clearing the cmos may help this issue?

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array MikeAdu PC Specs
    MikeAdu PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme/U3.1/3701 BIOS
    ProcessorIntel i7 5960X @strap 100/4,0/3.5 1,15V both/1.92V input
    Memory (part number)CMD32GX4M4B3333C16 (two sets,64Gb,8 slots)
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX 1080 Ti Turbo
    Graphics Card #3Asus GTX 1080 Ti Turbo
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster ZxR
    MonitorSamsung T260HD
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy EVO waterblock,1x360mm + 2x240mm + 2x120mm radiators
    CaseCorsair T760 White
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Logitech G19S
    Mouse Logitech G700S
    Headset Logitech G35
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System
    OS Windows 10 64bit/Windows 8.1 64bit/Windows 7 64bit

    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    245

    Hi.Maybe default settings in bios will help,we must give a try.Also for getting to BIOS you could try different SLI bridge,try flexible one by connecting one sli connector only,not both.We must try all possible ways [emoji848][emoji16]

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array Lemerex PC Specs
    Lemerex PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Lenovy Ideapad Y700
    MotherboardROG Strix X370-F
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1700
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Ripjaws V 16GB DDR4-2400
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA GTX 1080 Founders Edition
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA GTX 1080 Founders Edition
    Sound CardOn-Board
    MonitorLenovo 23" IPS x2
    Storage #1Samsung 850 M.2 250GB
    Storage #2SanDisk Ultra II 960GB x 2 in RAID 0
    CPU CoolerWraith
    CaseThermaltake Suppressor F31
    Power SupplyThermaltake Toughpower RGB 850W
    Keyboard Logitech G413 Carbon
    Mouse Logitech G602
    Headset Plantronics RIG 600
    Mouse Pad Perixx XXL
    Headset/Speakers Bose Companion 5
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthawk AC-1900

    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    I am having the exact same issue. Board recognizes one of my GTX 1080 FE cards in either slot, but when I put both of them in, it halts and doesn't want to go any further. I tried 2 different SLI bridges with the same results. Even without the SLI bridge, the system just hangs. Might be a BIOS issue. System did an update on the BIOS and ever since then, it doesn't want to recognize SLI.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    33

    Quote Originally Posted by Lemerex View Post
    I am having the exact same issue. Board recognizes one of my GTX 1080 FE cards in either slot, but when I put both of them in, it halts and doesn't want to go any further. I tried 2 different SLI bridges with the same results. Even without the SLI bridge, the system just hangs. Might be a BIOS issue. System did an update on the BIOS and ever since then, it doesn't want to recognize SLI.
    Hi,

    I also had a similar issue on a Z170-WS and two 1080 Ftw2 cards. After updating bios nothing posted on the screen. Reverting back to old bios fixed issue as did removing one video card. After experimenation I discovered the motherboard was using the second video card to post a picture. So you may be experiencing the same flaw. Try connecting monitor to second gpu.*

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array Lemerex PC Specs
    Lemerex PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Lenovy Ideapad Y700
    MotherboardROG Strix X370-F
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1700
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Ripjaws V 16GB DDR4-2400
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA GTX 1080 Founders Edition
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA GTX 1080 Founders Edition
    Sound CardOn-Board
    MonitorLenovo 23" IPS x2
    Storage #1Samsung 850 M.2 250GB
    Storage #2SanDisk Ultra II 960GB x 2 in RAID 0
    CPU CoolerWraith
    CaseThermaltake Suppressor F31
    Power SupplyThermaltake Toughpower RGB 850W
    Keyboard Logitech G413 Carbon
    Mouse Logitech G602
    Headset Plantronics RIG 600
    Mouse Pad Perixx XXL
    Headset/Speakers Bose Companion 5
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthawk AC-1900

    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by moheban79 View Post
    Hi,

    I also had a similar issue on a Z170-WS and two 1080 Ftw2 cards. After updating bios nothing posted on the screen. Reverting back to old bios fixed issue as did removing one video card. After experimenation I discovered the motherboard was using the second video card to post a picture. So you may be experiencing the same flaw. Try connecting monitor to second gpu.*
    I tried that, the Mobo has status lights that shows what it is doing. It stops the light at the VGA part. And sits there until you reboot the machine and remove the video card. I might try to revert the bios back to original, see if that fixes it.

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    33

    Maybe the video cards needtheir firmwares updated..

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array Lemerex PC Specs
    Lemerex PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Lenovy Ideapad Y700
    MotherboardROG Strix X370-F
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1700
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Ripjaws V 16GB DDR4-2400
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA GTX 1080 Founders Edition
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA GTX 1080 Founders Edition
    Sound CardOn-Board
    MonitorLenovo 23" IPS x2
    Storage #1Samsung 850 M.2 250GB
    Storage #2SanDisk Ultra II 960GB x 2 in RAID 0
    CPU CoolerWraith
    CaseThermaltake Suppressor F31
    Power SupplyThermaltake Toughpower RGB 850W
    Keyboard Logitech G413 Carbon
    Mouse Logitech G602
    Headset Plantronics RIG 600
    Mouse Pad Perixx XXL
    Headset/Speakers Bose Companion 5
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthawk AC-1900

    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by moheban79 View Post
    Maybe the video cards needtheir firmwares updated..
    Even though, the graphics cards individually work fine when they are by themselves in the machine. My previous rig was a Z97 and they both worked fine inside that system. Just this one is having issues. Don't know If I should go back to Intel for the compatibility or just wait for a new BIOS update to fix the issue.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •