Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 19 of 19
  1. #11
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by BillBittel@Me.com View Post
    What I really wish is that Asus would get serious about the Aura SDK. Their developer forum threads are devoid of recent comments from Asus. The author of SIV wants to interface with and control Aura devices like he did with Corsair Link products. He has been asking for a 64-bit SDK. So far, silence. I thought Asus encouraged 3rd party adoption of Aura, so why do they ignore the Aura SDK forum?
    Or just get serious about the Sync software in general. It's honestly a joke that software for controlling a major selling point/feature on $300-$500 motherboards is this awful and devoid of features at this point. No ability to set different effects on different 'zones' (despite documentation on older versions seemingly implying that is possible, verbiage that disappeared without comment later...), hosts of complaints about it flat-out not working or worse, corrupting firmware/controllers, and the major point of support is someone on the forums directing people to a Google Drive link with a "Cleaner" .exe that has to be run with admin rights and no way of verifying it's not malicious...I'm wondering if there's been silence on the SDK because exposing that to other devs would allow them to see what an unstable state Aura is currently in.

  2. #12
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    62
    Posts
    48

    Update - PWNSENSEI, who has been fighting the exact same problem posted this solution. I have not tried this but if you are stuck and BEFORE you try re-flashing the Aura chip, try this.

    Found a solution:
    >Uninstall
    >Reboot
    >Run Aura Cleaner
    >Navigate explorer to extracted Aura folder installer (Lighting_Control_1.07.22\LightingService\aac) and run each executable inside of the folder, uninstall all of them when prompted.
    >Cleanup Registry with Ccleaner
    >Reboot
    >Install Aura
    >Reboot
    Now it should work.
    If it doesn't it means the installer fails to install all the modules within the "aac" directory we have navigated to before. In that case, run each of those executables once again and restart Aura.

    I urge Asus to fix the uninstall process of their Aura software as well as their Ai Suite software. Updating or solving problems is a real pain in the ass for experienced users, imagine how awful it must be for most users who don't even know how to get around

    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...e28#post742107

  3. #13
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by BillBittel@Me.com View Post
    I am sorry you are going through this, especially with a Max XI board. I do not see that you tried re-flashing the BIOS. I would try that, or as last resort - re-flash the Aura chip. I guess you could RMA the board but I imagine you do not want to do that, and there is no guarantee that the problem is the board.

    Another idea - I looked through your posts and see that you are using Themaltake Riing Plus Fans with the Thermaltake TT Sync controller. I don't know anything about those products but maybe that is what is screwing things up. I assume the TT fans or controller have to plug into an Aura header for Aura to control them. You could try disconnecting the TT fan LED connections and see if you can get the board, RAM and GPU to show up in v1.07.22.
    Yes I am using Thermaltake Riing Plus fans however disconnecting them does not help sadly. I eventually reverted to version 1.06.17 BUT it only shows my motherboard and ram, it does not show the addressable header (Thermaltake fans) or my GPU. Now when I try a later version of the software, I have tried several, only my GPU shows up, I guess it is better than nothing showing up but this software really seems to have serious issues especially with my new board.

    As an aside I have just updated to the latest bios (0602) and nothing has changed.

  4. #14
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by BillBittel@Me.com View Post
    Update - PWNSENSEI, who has been fighting the exact same problem posted this solution. I have not tried this but if you are stuck and BEFORE you try re-flashing the Aura chip, try this.

    Found a solution:
    >Uninstall
    >Reboot
    >Run Aura Cleaner
    >Navigate explorer to extracted Aura folder installer (Lighting_Control_1.07.22\LightingService\aac) and run each executable inside of the folder, uninstall all of them when prompted.
    >Cleanup Registry with Ccleaner
    >Reboot
    >Install Aura
    >Reboot
    Now it should work.
    If it doesn't it means the installer fails to install all the modules within the "aac" directory we have navigated to before. In that case, run each of those executables once again and restart Aura.

    I urge Asus to fix the uninstall process of their Aura software as well as their Ai Suite software. Updating or solving problems is a real pain in the ass for experienced users, imagine how awful it must be for most users who don't even know how to get around

    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...e28#post742107
    At long last !!!!! a solution that worked for me. By individually running each needed executable in the "aac" directory I finally after 3 reboots got my Motherboard, RAM, addressable leds and GPU to show up and can control them all. THANK YOU !!!!!!

  5. #15
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    Quote Originally Posted by loquacious View Post
    At long last !!!!! a solution that worked for me. By individually running each needed executable in the "aac" directory I finally after 3 reboots got my Motherboard, RAM, addressable leds and GPU to show up and can control them all. THANK YOU !!!!!!
    asus doesn't remove this after uninstalls...
    and also it didn't add the corsair there so i manually added it rebooted and it worked.

  6. #16
    ROG Member Array PwnSensei's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    You're welcome, my boy.

  7. #17
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    After following all these steps, I'm still getting the same issue.

    Anything else I can try? I also had to run through these steps to even get Aura to launch because Windows 10 was blocking it: https://mynuuo.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/...ecific-program

    I did update the BIOS on my Vega 64 a while back, but I'm not sure if this would cause an issue?

  8. #18
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Is this works to you ?

    Quote Originally Posted by PimpChicken View Post
    After following all these steps, I'm still getting the same issue.

    Anything else I can try? I also had to run through these steps to even get Aura to launch because Windows 10 was blocking it: https://mynuuo.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/...ecific-program

    I did update the BIOS on my Vega 64 a while back, but I'm not sure if this would cause an issue?

    Is this works to you ?

  9. #19
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    22
    Posts
    98

    @ OP, your solution seems to be limited to you and AV software you run.
    Aura has time and again posed problems, even after its installed.

    Best way to get it installed is on first go right click and run as administrator. If its a second go uninstall the old, delete the install folder that gets left behind then run Ccleaner to remove orphaned registry entries, reboot, install, reboot then set up. Only thing more problematic is AI Suite. ASUS makes some good hardware but their software team needs some fresh talent as the same problems have been plaguing them since the inception. If they were a stand alone entity they would have went under long ago.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •