Page 4 of 10 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 6 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 94
  1. #31
    ROG Enthusiast Array Yoda PC Specs
    Yoda PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Alienware A17
    MotherboardAsus ROG Apex IX
    Processor7700k (Overclocked) @ 5.2 GHZ
    Memory (part number)Gkill Trident Z 3200 DDR4
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080 Ti Hybrid FTW3
    Sound CardAsus Essense STX II
    MonitorAsus ROG PG279Q (1440p @ 165hz) , Benq (1080p)
    Storage #1Samsung SSD EVO 250GB, Samsung 960 EVO M2 250 GB
    Storage #2Samsung EVO SSD 500GB, WD Blue 1TB
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62
    CaseCorsair Air 740
    Power SupplyEVGA 850W G2
    Keyboard Corsair K70
    Mouse Zowie FK2
    Headset Razor Hammerhead Pro V2
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300 Extended
    Headset/Speakers AKG K702 and Astro A40
    OS Classified
    Network RouterClassified
    Accessory #1 Second Gaming Rig: Alienware Area51 R2 X99 5820K (Gigabyte Xtreme Rev:2.0. 1080GTX),
    Accessory #2 Eizo FG2421 (240Hz - Turbo)

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    57

    Working ok so far on my Apex. Not tried my 5ghz or 5.2Ghz settings yet.

    Just tried the basic the 4.5Ghz and 4.7Ghz overclock (@1.265v but reporting as 1.24v in HwMonitor) both are working great.

    Did notice that the system locked up/ no boot - when the setting under “Extreme tweaker/DRAM
    Timing Control" > "Maximum Tweak" was set to mode 2. Mode 1 worked*fine. Can’t remember if this was an issue on the old 1010.

    Yo Nikk111 long time no speak =) did you manually enter the values into the bios/UEFI or digest the file into it?

    Hi Nate152
    Last edited by Yoda; 01-13-2018 at 08:55 PM.
    Your ass is grass, smoke it I will!

  2. #32
    ROG Enthusiast Array NIK111 PC Specs
    NIK111 PC Specs
    MotherboardZ270 MAXIMUS IX APEX
    ProcessorI7/7700K
    Memory (part number)TridentZ RGB F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Asus GeForce Rtx 2070 OC Edition
    MonitorAOC U3277PWQU--31.5 inch 4K screen
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 960 PRO 512GB
    Storage #2Force MP500 (PCI-E 3.0 x4
    CPU CoolerSwiftech H220
    CaseCooler Master Case 5 Pro
    Power SupplyCorsair 860 volt
    Keyboard Mad Catz Strike 5
    Mouse Mad Catz Rat ProX
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    NIK111's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    74

    I printed out the first few pages of the txt file I saved to usb from the 1010 bios and I put the settings in manually.My 5.0 oc settings went in first,this was ok,then my 3866 memory oc that was fine on the 1010 bios is what was causing the 1203 bios oc to go bananas I think.

  3. #33
    ROG Enthusiast Array Yoda PC Specs
    Yoda PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Alienware A17
    MotherboardAsus ROG Apex IX
    Processor7700k (Overclocked) @ 5.2 GHZ
    Memory (part number)Gkill Trident Z 3200 DDR4
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080 Ti Hybrid FTW3
    Sound CardAsus Essense STX II
    MonitorAsus ROG PG279Q (1440p @ 165hz) , Benq (1080p)
    Storage #1Samsung SSD EVO 250GB, Samsung 960 EVO M2 250 GB
    Storage #2Samsung EVO SSD 500GB, WD Blue 1TB
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62
    CaseCorsair Air 740
    Power SupplyEVGA 850W G2
    Keyboard Corsair K70
    Mouse Zowie FK2
    Headset Razor Hammerhead Pro V2
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300 Extended
    Headset/Speakers AKG K702 and Astro A40
    OS Classified
    Network RouterClassified
    Accessory #1 Second Gaming Rig: Alienware Area51 R2 X99 5820K (Gigabyte Xtreme Rev:2.0. 1080GTX),
    Accessory #2 Eizo FG2421 (240Hz - Turbo)

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    57

    Are your RAM sticks actual 3866Mhz or have you overclocked them slightly? Thought anything above 3600Mhz is fiddly to get working on the Z270 =)

    I adjusted my Dram timings tighter and set the VCCIO AND SA voltages manually - didn't adjust the Mhz tho. Still at the original 3200Mhz.

    Did you use the XMP profile? What voltages is it trying to shove through the sticks? what are the sticks rated at? I know the previous bios 1010 was trying to stick some nuts amount of voltage through my ram sticks when I enabled XMP profile and I had to manually set it. Perhaps take a look at that dude? This bios did set it correctly though.
    Your ass is grass, smoke it I will!

  4. #34
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Has anyone done any gaming or storage (NVMe or SATA SSD) benchmark with this new BIOS + Windows 10 patch? According to several sources, storage speed (particularly 4k write) are reduced drastically.

    Here is one source:
    https://www.techspot.com/article/155...mance-windows/

  5. #35
    ROG Enthusiast Array NIK111 PC Specs
    NIK111 PC Specs
    MotherboardZ270 MAXIMUS IX APEX
    ProcessorI7/7700K
    Memory (part number)TridentZ RGB F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Asus GeForce Rtx 2070 OC Edition
    MonitorAOC U3277PWQU--31.5 inch 4K screen
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 960 PRO 512GB
    Storage #2Force MP500 (PCI-E 3.0 x4
    CPU CoolerSwiftech H220
    CaseCooler Master Case 5 Pro
    Power SupplyCorsair 860 volt
    Keyboard Mad Catz Strike 5
    Mouse Mad Catz Rat ProX
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    NIK111's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    74

    Quote Originally Posted by Yoda View Post
    Are your RAM sticks actual 3866Mhz or have you overclocked them slightly? Thought anything above 3600Mhz is fiddly to get working on the Z270 =)

    I adjusted my Dram timings tighter and set the VCCIO AND SA voltages manually - didn't adjust the Mhz tho. Still at the original 3200Mhz.

    Did you use the XMP profile? What voltages is it trying to shove through the sticks? what are the sticks rated at? I know the previous bios 1010 was trying to stick some nuts amount of voltage through my ram sticks when I enabled XMP profile and I had to manually set it. Perhaps take a look at that dude? This bios did set it correctly though.
    I re-flashed the new bios again and put in my oc settings.The memory is GSkill 3600 oc to 3866 16 16 16 1N 1.465 V with 1.20 IO and 1.25 SA.All the settings were put in manually.I must of typed some memory timing in wrong the first time cause shes seems all stable for now.The first time I tried this bios she would lock up on a cold boot after the pc was off for the night.I will see how it does tomorrow morning when I turn it on after being off for the night and report back..My 7700k must have a crappy memory controller cause the best I can oc to is 3866 even with this Apex where i see others at Overclock.net with the Apex and Formula and mb's oc 3200 GSkill to 4000/4200 and even a bit higher.3866 is quick enough for me for what I do.But I always try to squeeze a little more though..By the way,what kind of volts were you using to run 5.2 on your cpu.

  6. #36
    ROG Enthusiast Array Yoda PC Specs
    Yoda PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Alienware A17
    MotherboardAsus ROG Apex IX
    Processor7700k (Overclocked) @ 5.2 GHZ
    Memory (part number)Gkill Trident Z 3200 DDR4
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080 Ti Hybrid FTW3
    Sound CardAsus Essense STX II
    MonitorAsus ROG PG279Q (1440p @ 165hz) , Benq (1080p)
    Storage #1Samsung SSD EVO 250GB, Samsung 960 EVO M2 250 GB
    Storage #2Samsung EVO SSD 500GB, WD Blue 1TB
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62
    CaseCorsair Air 740
    Power SupplyEVGA 850W G2
    Keyboard Corsair K70
    Mouse Zowie FK2
    Headset Razor Hammerhead Pro V2
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300 Extended
    Headset/Speakers AKG K702 and Astro A40
    OS Classified
    Network RouterClassified
    Accessory #1 Second Gaming Rig: Alienware Area51 R2 X99 5820K (Gigabyte Xtreme Rev:2.0. 1080GTX),
    Accessory #2 Eizo FG2421 (240Hz - Turbo)

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    57

    @Nik - this was back on bios 1010 when Nate152, *Braxwolf and I were benchmarking our rigs. Looking at the old thread I popped in 1.37 Vcore which auto volted a little too 1.39v. Using a kraken X62.*

    Great to hear that it seems to be working now. I might try OC’ing my Gskill.*

    I’m not at home until tomorrow but will keep an eye out for the boot problem.*
    *
    Gaming wise (NFS payback and Battlefront 2 @1440p 165Mhz on Asus PG279Q) man it’s smooth so tempted to leave the system as is.

    Nate152- when you spot this thread I had to return my Asus 1080ti OC. There was some umm burning smell
    coming from the PC, thought it was the cooler then reliased that third fan over the Power VRM *on the graphics card was completely dead. The other two working fans tried to compensate and got stuck at 100% even when you come out of games. Rocking a *EVGA Hybrid 1080ti FTW3 now and it’s pretty good 2075MHz GPU clock and 12100Mhz mem clock without adjusting power or temp targets. No voltage alterations. *Pretty happy. Fan on the rad is not PWM so always runs at 100% so even on idle there is air noise hissing around. Shroud fan is controllable so have that set to 60% in games.*

    Sorry for the * symbols posting using my iPhone * And getting odd symbols. **
    Last edited by Yoda; 01-14-2018 at 12:31 AM.
    Your ass is grass, smoke it I will!

  7. #37
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Where are the benches?

    Is anybody going to post their before and after BIOS update benches? I can't believe nobody has. Curious how much of a hit with the less aggressive branch prediction.
    Last edited by Despotes; 01-14-2018 at 01:37 PM.

  8. #38
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    It's been a while since I have updated my bios and wanted to know if it is required to clear your cmos first?

    I've seen some differing opinions on it but since we all have asus IX boards I wanted to know what people have found to be the best operation. Thanks.

  9. #39
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MrAgapiGC PC Specs
    MrAgapiGC PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XI Code
    Processor9900K
    Memory (part number)CMK32GX4M4B3600C18
    Graphics Card #1STRIX-GTX1080ti-O8G-GAMING
    MonitorAOC AGON AG2701QX (2)
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 256GB
    Storage #2Kingston Savage 500GB
    CPU CoolerNzxt X74 360mm AIO
    CaseNzxt H700
    Power SupplyEVGA 850 G2
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Asus Spartha
    Headset Hyper X Cloud Revolver S
    Mouse Pad Hyper X Fury S 900mx420mm
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z337
    OS Windows 10 64btis
    Network RouterTpLink Archer C9
    Accessory #1 EKWB FANs all of them
    MrAgapiGC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    1,499

    Quote Originally Posted by hwnutz View Post
    It's been a while since I have updated my bios and wanted to know if it is required to clear your cmos first?

    I've seen some differing opinions on it but since we all have asus IX boards I wanted to know what people have found to be the best operation. Thanks.
    i recommend clear your bios before installing the late on.

  10. #40
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    45

    Can someone tell what the stated NVME improvements are?
    I had a severe problem with Samsung's NVME drivers and had to reinstall my system and use the default Microsoft ones.
    The problem was that I had gigantic lags. System worked some minutes, then it did nothing, just mouse moving. After some time it unfroze and froze again after some minutes. It was extreme while surfing e.g.

    Is that fixed?

Page 4 of 10 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 6 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •